We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great bed & great pool = great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #188 of 451 hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great bed & great pool = great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Two features dominated my experience at the Gansevoort (Meatpacking) in New York:

- The bed. The bed and bedding are exceptionally comfortable. I’ve spent nights in 10 different hotels across the world so far this year and this was without question the most comfortable. I slept better than I do at home and indeed so well I even commented on it to one of the reception staff who informed me that quite a few guests ask where they can source the same beds and bedding.

- The pool. I was in New York in mid-May and it was a little cool when the wind blew, but the pool was nicely heated and perfect for an afternoon dip. It’s a real treat to be in a pool on a rooftop with great views in any city and this was no exception.

Other good points are the location with so many interesting places to eat, drink and shop a short walk away around Meatpacking. It’s relatively close to the red and blue lines at 14th street on the subway too if you need to go uptown / further downtown.

The atmosphere on Saturday night was a little rowdy / lively downstairs but that’s to be expected for the area. I found it fun rather than intimidating (the door staff were polite and in full control) and unlike other guests who have commented on here I found there to be no noise issue in my room on the 12th floor.

Aspects of the hotel which I didn’t like so much included:

- the size of the Superior room (also a bit odd calling it “superior” when it’s the smallest of the rooms so not really superior to anything) though I understand that’s common in NY,
- the limited range of equipment in the gym which only sufficed for a couple of days working out, and
- the unwelcoming reception we received upon arrival. That is down to one member of staff only though as the others were helpful, accomodating and knowledgeable. We found some good restaurants on their recommendation.

Overall I really enjoyed my stay and would gladly return.

Room Tip: 12th floor superior room had no noise issues as described by other TripAdvisors
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Christopher K,

Thank you for the in-depth review! We are so glad you loved our plush bed and the heated rooftop pool. Did you get a chance to take one of Exhale Spa's signature Core Fusion classes? It's quite the workout and a great complement to a productive fitness routine. Thank you for your feedback and we are looking into your concerns. We strive for seamless guest services that go beyond a client's expectations and we hope to see you again soon to do just that. For any questions or concerns, please contact digital@theGHG.com.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    473
    255
    110
    91
    65
See reviews for
106
320
55
183
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
MexicoCity
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

We loved to stay at this hotel, is so trendy! The room was really nice with a little balcony with view to the Hudson and the Standard Hotel, great sunset! The hotel is in the heart of Meatpacking District and close to really good restaurants, shops, clubs and the high line park. The pool is great for a sunny day and the view from there at day and night is really good, you can see the Empire State all light up. Close to the A-C-E subway line station 14th street. The staff is truly friendly, we arrived a little bit early from the check in and the room was ready and got an upgrade =) The only objection is that the food wasn't of my devotion. I don't have any complain about the noise but I agree with other reviewers, is a 'young' hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MarianasMap,

Thank you for the detailed review. We are pleased you had a great time, and you were able to experience the diverse offerings of the Meatpacking District. We are delighted that you enjoyed your upgraded room. Our hotel is certainly young at heart! Feel free to contact Digital@TheGHG.com for any questions.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed for one night in May this time round. The reception staff are really professional and knowledgable. Loved the pool on a scorching hot memorial day.

Didn't eat in the restaurants but I'm told they are very good.

Only criticism is the quality of the toiletries

Definitely will stay again

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear DBOnline,

Thank you for sharing your experience. It was a pleasure having you for Memorial Day weekend. The rooftop pool is always great on a steamy day. Please let us know about your concerns regarding the toiletries by emailing digital@theGHG.com. We appreciate your feedback and hope to see you again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013 via mobile

This is definitely the best place to stay in NY
There is so much to see and do just in walking distance
Staff is amazing there
I will recommend this hotel to anyone going to Ny the view at the top bar is beautiful

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Frankv7,

Thank you for the fantastic review, we are so happy you enjoyed your stay. It’s great that you were able to enjoy the rooftop bar at the hotel and the perks of the location. We hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melb Aust
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

What a hotel!!!! This is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. As a solo female traveller I was we'll looked after by all in the hotel including bar staff and wait staff in the restaurant Toy
Rooms were spacious, bathrooms big with great water pressure and beds were sumptuous. I would return in a flash. Only downside was the shower over bath. It's in a great area walking distance to great eateries and bars and of course shopping in soho. If you are here on a weekend be aware that its nightclub city and you will hear the music till about 3am but it didn't stop me drifting off to sleep

Room Tip: I would recommend a room up high facing the city not river as the noise might not be as bad
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear JulieGMelbAust,

Thank you for the wonderful review. If you prefer your shower to be separate from your bath tub, our reservations team will be happy to provide you a suite with just that and more. For your next visit, it would be our pleasure to reserve a suite that is sectored off from the Meatpacking District's busy nightlife. Feel free to reach out to Digital@TheGHG.com for any questions. We hope you stay with us again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

5th visit, so I guess you know I'm very positive about the Gansevoort. The hotel has been refreshed since our last visit, which was good to see. All the staff were extremely helpful during our short stay. For location this hotel is really hard to beat as it commands centre stage in one of Manhatten's most buzzing areas - the Meatpacking District.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear MJMSurrey,

We were delighted to see you again! It's always a pleasure when you visit. We are glad you were pleased with your stay here and enjoyed the amazing qualities the Meatpacking District has to offer. We look forward to seeing you again.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights with friends in April and we booked the grand deluxe room with a king bed. The location of this hotel is awesome, in the Meat Packing District which is a great area. The architecture has real character and the whole part of this city has a vibe you can feel when walking around the cobbled streets. The hotel is surrounded by boutiques, restaurants, cafes and a short walk to the 14th street subway, high line and much more.

From the minute you walk into the lobby all the staff seem friendly and ready to help you. The lobby is very cool and at night is busy with patrons ready to party at the roof top lounge/nightclub. The nightclub is a lot of fun especially on the weekend, although music is a little cheesy and crowd hit and miss but the vibe was great.

The room was an okay size, but comparing with other New York hotels, its possible on the smaller side. The aesthetic of the room is very chic and quirky with a great colour scheme that is used throughout the hotel. Housekeeping did a great job as well. Check-in and check-out was a breeze and the staff were very accommodating with any requests.

As previous reviewers have mentioned about the noise, it is true if you are after a quite hotel this one is not for you, it's a little more of a party hotel. The noise was not an issue for us though as we knew about it when we booked the hotel.

Book through Magellan Vacation got a great rate for this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gansevoort_HG, Digital Assistant at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear jrosslin,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are pleased that you had a positive experience from check-in to check-out. The Meatpacking District has endless attractions and activities and we are delighted that you were able to take advantage of our hotel's prime location. Our staff will be happy to know that they helped make your stay more enjoyable. We hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#109 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#135 Business Hotel in New York City
#215 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#240 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Splendia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.