We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“When not in Miami STAY HERE 5***** stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #181 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
“When not in Miami STAY HERE 5***** stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This Hotel is perfect for New York. The Lobby bar is a great place to hang out for a drink. Hotel staff was so nice. It starts with Security at the door (Kerry) for one could have not been any more nice to deal with. Front desk made sure our room was ready. I felt as if I was back in Miami being treated like a VIP. Housekeeping did over and above. Who folds clothes for a guest....when left on a chair in a pile...

The area around the Hotel is awesome. Rooms are real clean. The views from the room are just breath taking. Roof Top made it more than perfect. Worth every penny to stay here.

The roof top night club made this the 5 ***** star place that it is. (see my review for the roof top Night Club) I know that I am an FOB on the client List ...but still, this hotel has so much to offer except one thing that was a 0 and it had nothing to do with the Hotel.

TOY restaurant and nightclub which rents space from the hotel on the backside of the hotel. I had one of the worst experiences i have ever witnessed at a restaurant/ nightclub anywhere in the world that I have ever been and promise to never go back to TOY again... EVER and who knows it will be out of business soon enough. If they can treat others the way they did...word will get around. The Hotel should not be associated with Toy... or take anything away from going to this hotel. The food was not good the first night and then on saturday night what I saw and heard made it worst.

This hotel is on the top of my list for New York City.

Jerry Ehrlich from the Great City of Philadelphia.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Jerry,

Thank you for sharing your detailed review. We will be sure to let Kerry and our deserving staff know that they helped make your stay more enjoyable. We're delighted you were able to visit our rooftop and experience the "high life" and take in the NYC skyline. Hopefully you were able to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool as well. Although we do not manage TOY Bar and Grill, we will look into the issues you experienced to ensure the best possible service for future guests. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,061 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    269
    118
    92
    68
See reviews for
116
341
59
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

When we booked our travel through AX business Platinum via phone, we were told about the benefits that we would receive. AX BP actually used Orbitz (who knew). When we arrived at the hotel, we asked about an upgrade and the breakfast vouchers plus credits. Bottom-line, they told us that it was booked through Orbitz not AX. However, they understood our confusion and disappointment. We did receive an upgrade and the staff was terrific. Raul did a great job handling our situation. When we spoke with AX, they said oh they are not part of our fine hotels, well they should be. You have a great staff and room service was delicious. The hotel is very chic and has a lot of energy. The location was great for us and did I mention the staff was amazing! Omar helped us with our bags when we left and once again he said thank you for staying.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear SASnowflake,

Thank you for sharing your story. Your initial predicament was unfortunate, but we are thrilled that we could help resolve any issues upon check-in. We will be sure to let Raul and all the deserving staff know how they helped make your stay more enjoyable. It was truly a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Best,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Booked hotel for a single night stay when I had a meeting in NY. Full disclosure - intended to stay at the Park Avenue South location but my travel department booked the wrong location. At check-in I had to initial a document 4 times basically promising I would not smoke or destroy property etc. I get to my room which had a strong cigarette smell and ashtrays in the room. Since I was concerned about being charged for smoke remediation, I asked the desk about the smell and ashtrays. Apparently they put me In a "smoking optional" room. Not sure why I needed to sign a waiver then. They explained that they had no other king room. They did manage to find a room with 2 doubles. I was very surprised that they did not tell me. I did check out the penthouse lounge but it seemed populated with 20 something's hiding in corners. At over $500 per night for the room, I was completely underwhelmed.

Room Tip: Be clear if you do not a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear naomi18,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that your stay was underwhelming as our number one priority is to exceed all expectations. It seems as though there was a misunderstanding and we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences incurred. Should you choose to stay with us again, we would love the opportunity to surpass your needs and change your mind. For any questions, feel free to contact digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great location fun neighborhood friendly staff. Loved John at the door.

I will stay here again

We had a Room with a terrace was awesome. Beautiful weather to sit outside.

Close to everything. Shops restaurant. Easy access.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear LCHOLLAme

We are delighted that you will be coming back. John will be pleased to know that he made your experience positively memorable. We’re glad you took advantage of our private terraces overlooking the NYC skyline. Thank you for your review.

See you again soon,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We met a friend from England in NYC and stayed in a suite ! the service was wonderful. The room was amazing. The hotel is very chic. Front desk staff was extremely helpful in all aspects of our stay. The pool seemed like a fun hang out spot in the summer. IT was a bit cold while we were there. Location is ideal with plenty to walk to including the high line and Chelsea market. Swanky music playing throughout the hotel which added to the experience. Who said New Yorkers aren't friendly? They are here!

The noise from the club was a bit of a problem if you wanted to go to bed before 3am, but other than that it was a great stay.

Room Tip: Select a room far away from the dance club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear las0311,

Thank you for sharing your experience. We’re glad you enjoyed our rooftop. Did you know our heated pool is open year-round? Our staff will be pleased to know they helped make your stay more enjoyable. If noise from the Meatpacking District’s busy nightlife is not ideal during your trip, our Park Ave location may also be a good fit for you (it's much quieter). If you have any questions, feel free to reach out to digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ialwaysbluff
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We had the rooms on the corner with the walk out balconies and everything was spectacular! The rooms are clean and beautiful with outstanding views. The club upstairs was absolutely perfect and the staff was top notch from start to finish! Can't wait to do it again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear ialwaysbluff,

We’re thrilled that you had an amazing bachelor party. Hopefully you were able to take in the beautiful NYC skyline on your wrap-around balcony. If you liked Plunge, our sister property's Gansevoort Park Avenue Rooftop will also blow you away. Whether it is another celebration or just a getaway, we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel! Far exceeded my expectations, which are very high. Excellent staff, decor, and amenities. Hands down best hotel experience ive had in NYC. Luxurious rooms with incredible views and a close proximity to night life, restaurants and shopping make this hotel a no brainer when choosing a place to stay

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Ahelou02,

Thank you for this wonderful review. We are flattered that we take the cake for your best hotel experience – next time you'll have to let us know what types of activities you're interested in around NYC so that we can also strut our stuff off-property. It was a pleasure having you and we hope to see you again soon.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevooort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#107 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#118 Business Hotel in New York City
#200 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#234 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Amex, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.