We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chic and Modern” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Gift That Gives More
Ranked #179 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Norwood, New York, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Chic and Modern”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We absolutely LOVED our stay!
I made reservations for my Fiance's birthday, booked a room, ordered a cake (through their website) and had a couples massage.
The staff was great! Extremely customer service driven, from the moment I booked my reservation I received an email from MELISSA DeBRUIN ASSISTANT RESERVATIONS MANAGER...asking me for details about our stay to make sure everything went smoothly, she then referred me to the concierge so that we can make dinner reservations, CASSAUNDRA REED (concierge) was extremely knowledgeable and very responsive to my needs.
We loved our room, the view, the lounge (not the drinks).
Some of the things that were not up to our expectations were the following:
The Spa experience was not as great as I hoped for...the spa was noisy, too many people conversant and laughing...which did not allow my complete relaxation.
The cake that I ordered through the website was too dry:(we barely ate any).
Overall, we had an amazing time and my Fiance loved his surprise.We will be going back in the Summer!!!

Room Tip: High floors mean that you will be closer to the Lounge (no sleep) unless you're a party animal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Andrea,

First off, congratulations on your engagement! We’re happy to hear that you loved our room and our lounge. We will be sure to let Cassaundra and Melissa know about your positive experience with their services. What’s the fun of cake if you don’t like that taste? Let us know your cake preferences so we can make the necessary adjustments to fit your taste buds next time (we're big fans of Insomnia Cookies). Spa time is all about relaxation, and having too much noise can disrupt the calming ambiance. We can’t wait to see you this summer and provide you with an experience that goes beyond your expectations – including a low-key, quiet spa time and some delicious desert. For future reservations, you can contact our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    285
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
122
360
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

After a much needed weekend away, we were looking forward to a fun weekend in NYC. Having stayed at the Gansevoort in the past, we were excited about our stay. After the first night there, that quickly changed. There was a constant boom from the bass from the club inside the hotel. This went on much past 1:00. Then the single pane windows allowed in every sound of passing vehicles, sirens and horns. It was hardly a restful sleep. The next night, we got off our elevator after midnight, only to find people who were at the hotel club, to be mingling on our floor. Hardly tight security. Again, the noise from the club and the streets made for another sleepless night. It was only at 3am when I got up to get the ear plugs did things start to get a little better. When confronting the desk manager the following morning during checkout, we complained about our less than impressive weekend.. Unfortunately his response was that he was not able to provide us with a discount on the room. That was hardly the purpose of the complaint. He then went on to say that if we gave the hotel another chance and stayed with them again, if there was availability,they would upgrade us to suite. Well, hardly good customer service after a sleepless weekend! If we wanted that, we would have stayed home with the kids!!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Livinlife6954,

Thank you for sharing your experience. The meatpacking district can definitely get loud at night because it is in the heart of NYC nightlife and restaurants. We are disappointed that your trip did not meet your expectations, however if you give us a second chance we can make sure all of your accommodations are met. If you’d like to stay somewhere with less street noise, may we suggest our Park Ave location, which is quieter and has a separate elevator for patrons and club goers. We think it'd be a perfect for for you. Feel free to reach out to our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I am in town last minute a lot and of course never book w/ proper notice.. I've stayed at both Gansevoort properties and my stays have always been extreemly pleasant , From the moment you approach The Front desk you are greeted as if they have been awaiting for your arrival .. such a nice feeling after a red eye flight . They always find a way to squeeze me in Rooms are stylish and very clean and there is always soothing music on when u enter . I never hear chaos or loud noise from the other rooms which is important as i work in nightlife and need my sleep beds are cozy the worst part about the stay is having to check out . Both are convenient to everything however im a downtown ppsn so i love the Meatpacking location :)

Room Tip: they are all great! ask for a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Beth,

We always look forward to your unexpected visits. After all, spontaneity is the spice of life, right? Thanks for providing such a great review and should you plan on making reservations ahead of time, you can always contact our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deer Park, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

From the check in with Jenny, our weekend trip was amazing. The downstairs bar is great to play pool. Our room had a balcony and it was wonderful to step out and enjoy the manhattan air. The room has everything you need, especially comfortable beds. We love enjoying the rooftop bar. The dj Saturday night was great and the place was packed. Beautiful views of the city. Can't wait to go back again!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lisa,

We definitely agree that the Manhattan skyline from our balconies is an amazing sight. Did you know that you can bring your cocktails out of the restaurant while you’re playing pool? In fact, you can even order them straight from our lobby bar. Thanks for providing such a great review and we look forward to welcoming you back once again. You can reach out to our community manager when planning your next visit at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Best,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

The Gansevoort was an amazing experience from check in to check out. I was warmly greeted by the front desk representative (named Jenny) and several other staff members throughout the hotel during my stay which added to my feeling comfortable and well attended to; it was absolutly wonderful! The romantic package delightfully fufilled my plans for valentines day 100%, I recieved 5star service at a great rate! Everything included in thee package met and exceeded my expectations in service and set up by far! The staff did an amazing job at ensuring the room was set up efficiently to serve the needs/ comfort (in my opinion) for any guest to appreciate and enjoy. I surely intend to revisit! Thanks again Jenny and team for the awesome stay/service!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Zandaa,

We are thrilled that your experience was above and beyond expectations. We will definitely let our team know how pleased you were and can’t wait for your return. When you decide on your next visit, feel free to contact our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Best,
@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sayville, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

What a fantastic b-day wknd at the Gansevoort - perfect place to celebrate - sunset on the rooftop on a clear night - can't be beat!!!!! - fantastic location - wonderful and extremely attentive staff - thanks for a great wknd we'll be back to see you again!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Dear Lisa,

Happy Birthday!

We’re thrilled you had an amazing time. The sunset from our rooftop is quite the spectacle. Did you take a dip in our heated pool? Let us know when you plan on coming back and we can help you book your reservations through our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Sincerely,
@HotelGansveoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

My recent stay with the Gansevoort Meatpacking while on business in New York was all good!
Especially Charles and John (at the door). They went out of their way to help while I was in NY........going so far as to have gas brought to my car when I ran out. Ultimately it was more than just helping when we really needed it, it was also the day to day greetings and small things that John and Charles were consistent with, that made our stay really enjoyable.
Sincerely,
Todd

Room Tip: ask where the club is in the hotel and try to stay several floors away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Todd,

We are thrilled that you chose to stay with us during your business trip and even more enthused to hear how helpful John and Charles were when you needed them most. We do believe that it’s the little things that can make the biggest impact and will definitely let them know they are appreciated. If you plan on staying with us again, please feel free to contact our community manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com. Thank you for taking the time to review us.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#187 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.