We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"THE BEST LOUNGE IN NYC PLUNGE ROOFTOP"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Gift That Gives More
Ranked #180 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“"THE BEST LOUNGE IN NYC PLUNGE ROOFTOP"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

So I actually never stayed at this hotel but I always go to the Rooftop Lounge. This place is just amazing the music is always good, drinks are good and strong never weak. This place always has the best crowd, I even came one time on Gay night didn't know it was Gay night and I had the best time. I can't even say how many times I've been here because I go that much. It's just beautiful in the summer time especially in the day time you can see all of Meatpacking which is pretty sweet. There is nothing more that I can say amazing amazing drinks, food, fun music and an awesome crowd. I usually go with my boyfriend but it's for all types of people.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear 8185,

Thank you for reviewing our hotel as a rooftop regular. It’s wonderful that you and your boyfriend enjoy a night out and a day in the sun on our roof. We look forward to having you back, and hope you will stay with us some time. We would love for you to have the opportunity to review our rooms. If you need help making a reservation, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com.

Thanks again,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    540
    284
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
122
359
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What happened New York? When did you get so nice? Or is it just the Hotel Gansevoort and their incredible staff? Our tremendous experience all started several months ago when fourteen of us decided to invade New York City to properly observe the official passing of what youth I had left for my 50th BIrthday. Megan in reservations was quick to please by kindly offering a very attractive room rate for the seven rooms we booked. She was very expedient with e-mail confirmations and a follow up call. Shortly before our trip, my partner of eleven years decided that it would be a fitting birthday gift if we tied the knot while in the city with our closest friends. Nothing fancy just exchanging of vows. I called the Gansevoort to inquire about venues in the hotel for a very informal ceremony. Once again, they amazed us. Jenny at the front desk was extremely nice and suggested we think about the roof top loft. She helped us by suggesting the right time of day to avoid the crowds at the adjacent Plunge Roof Top Bar and by coordinating with the hotel and Plunge staff.

When we arrived at The Gansevoort, Jenny was there to greet us. Not only did she upgrade my partner and me to a wonderful room, but all of our friends as well. The hotel staff was attentive throughout our four day stay. Joel and his staff at Plunge and the Roof Top Loft went above and beyond the call of duty to make our vow exchange very memorable.

If the incredible staff were not enough, The Gansevoort has some of the largest rooms in NYC. They are funky and fun, and full of little extras, like the house made CD that is playing in your room when you arrive. Also, the hotel location cannot be beat. The Meatpacking district is one crazy area. You can walk to many of the hottest restaurants (Spice Market, Abe & Arthur's, Buddakan, Crispo, Pastis) and the Chelsea Market is one black away.

Watch out Hotel Gansevoort, you might just give New York City a nice reputation!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Scott W,

First of all - congratulations to you and your partner! We are honored that the two of you decided to tie the knot on our roof. It sounds like your experience was nothing short of a good time. Our rooftop overlooking the Hudson River, and New York City’s Meatpacking District must have created some exceptional images for that special moment. We'd love for you to share any photos you have with us. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, as well as name those individuals employees that made your stay extra special. We hope that you will return to celebrate many more birthdays and anniversaries. If you should need a reservation please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you both back.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel Gansevoort is a modern hotel in the meatpacking district - a convenient walk, metro, or taxi to just about anywere in NYC. The staff are amazingly courteous, helpful and attentive. The room was beautiful, with an excellent bed and great bathroom. It seems that every time I left the room, when I returned, someone had been there to change towels, set the lighting, or clean up. My only complaint is the older CD player system on which only one speaker worked. Oh, and the bedside clock has a older plug-in for an iPod that doesn't work with an iPhone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear DCRickH,

We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems like you relished the Meatpacking District with all of its charming elements. We do apologize that the CD player in your room was malfunctioning. If by chance you could email us, we would love to know which room you stayed in - this would help us to fix the issue you encountered. Please contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We appreciate any feedback our guests have to offer, as it assists us in continual excellence in service. Thank you for choosing us as your New York City host.


Looking forward to your return.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
119 hotel reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After one year me and my wife returned for our wedding anniversary to NY and stayed again in the meatpacking district.
We changed hotel and choose the Gansevoort. The hotel is in the heart of meatpacking, it is quite expensive and especially during Friday and Saturday it seems to be in a night club with a lot of noise and people dancing everywhere.
Being an hotel guest allows you to avoid the bouncers and enter the clubs that are in the hotel, that as I said before during the WE are packed.

Breakfast is good although a bit pricey. Rooms are not too big but they a have a nice view On top beside the club there is also a pool with a stunning view.
Bathroom is quite small but you have all the amenities you might need.

One suggestion try to avoid to take goods from the minibar as they are really overpriced

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear dottorsocrates,

Thank you for staying with us while celebrating your one year anniversary with your wife. We are ecstatic that you decided to give our hotel a try and hope the noise did not disturb you and your wife too much during your stay. The Meatpacking District in general is quite the nightlife hub - in turn creating a tad bit of noise on the weekends. If the noise was too much, we encourage you and your wife to test out our Park Avenue location. It has the same unique amenities, and gorgeous rooftop views, but the neighborhood is just a little laid back. Of course, if Meatpacking is your scene, then we hope to host you again in the future. If you would like to make a reservation you can feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoot.com. We hope to see you soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I travel to NY every other week on business, and will only stay at the Gansevoort from now on. The rooms are comfortable, the location is impossible to top (abdndant nightlife, restaurants, etc), but the best thing about the Gansevoort is the staff. They are all so knowledgeable, friendly and professional. I've had two seperate instances where they've moved mountains to help me track down lost property, and rearrange travel plans. To an individual, this is the most courteous and wonderful staff i've seen in a hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jed D,

Thank you for all of the wonderful compliments. Traveling so often can be rough on any individual. Our goal is to make those trips as easy as possible. It is wonderful that you enjoy our hotel and exceptional staff, and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. If you need help with any reservations please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@Hotelgansevoort.com. We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

@Hotelgansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here from Boxing Day to New Years day, and found this hotel through booking.com it was coming in as the 2nd cheapest on that day. We found the location good & located fairly close to the tube with easy access to all tourist destinations. Also had some good shops in & around the hotel. I would definately stay here again if it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Griffin3105,

Thank you for stumbling upon our hotel, and choosing to stay with us. It seems like you were really able to enjoy the convenience of our location, as well as the shopping that the Meatpacking District has to offer. Did you have a chance to walk the Highline? If not, this is definitely another excuse to come back to our enamoring neighborhood and take a stroll through its park located above ground. When you decide to visit us again, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com for help with reservations and accommodations. We look forward to your return.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Hotel Gansevoort was chosen as our hotel while recently in New York City strictly because of location. We were helping someone settle into nearby housing and wanted to be close by so we did not do our usual Tripadvisor search for the best place, we simply went with location. That said, we were satisfied with this hotel.

PROS: Reservations were quick and easy online through the hotel site. The room was very spacious and comfortable, especially the beds. The evening turn down service was appreciated as they filled the ice bucket nightly. Staff was very responsive to requests and got our pre-arrival requests correct. The bathroom was spacious with plentiful hot water and great water pressure in the shower. Loved the location!

CONS: We had to call for extra blankets as we had no control over the room temperature and it got a little cool during the night (blankets solved the issue). The hotel is modern and "trendy," for lack of a better word and their "artwork" in the room was not to my taste. It is in a busy area so you do hear street noise at night. The lobby is dark and feels a little cold and unwelcoming.

OVERALL: The location is awesome - near the subway, shops and restaurants all around, the High Line park and Chelsea Market are right there - it's a great location! For our needs - a place to get a good night's sleep after a day of moving or wandering around the city, the Hotel Gansevoort provided a comfortable and convenient stay in a spacious room with really comfy beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear MidwestMumbi,

It is wonderful that you not only enjoyed your stay, but also lavished in the beds provided. We do apologize for the chilly room during your trip, in addition to the artwork in our rooms. Our artwork is somewhat of a play on the exciting nightlife aspect that the Meatpacking District has to offer. We hope it did not scare you from staying with us again in the future. If you aren’t set on staying in the Meatpacking District, then perhaps our Park Avenue location would be a nice change of pace. The hotel has all of the same amazing amenities as our Meatpacking hotel, but the room decor and artwork are slightly more “mature.” We look forward to having you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com for any future reservations. Thank you for staying with us during your trip to New York City.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#96 Business Hotel in New York City
#111 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#185 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.