We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is New York City??” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #192 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is New York City??”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

What happened New York? When did you get so nice? Or is it just the Hotel Gansevoort and their incredible staff? Our tremendous experience all started several months ago when fourteen of us decided to invade New York City to properly observe the official passing of what youth I had left for my 50th BIrthday. Megan in reservations was quick to please by kindly offering a very attractive room rate for the seven rooms we booked. She was very expedient with e-mail confirmations and a follow up call. Shortly before our trip, my partner of eleven years decided that it would be a fitting birthday gift if we tied the knot while in the city with our closest friends. Nothing fancy just exchanging of vows. I called the Gansevoort to inquire about venues in the hotel for a very informal ceremony. Once again, they amazed us. Jenny at the front desk was extremely nice and suggested we think about the roof top loft. She helped us by suggesting the right time of day to avoid the crowds at the adjacent Plunge Roof Top Bar and by coordinating with the hotel and Plunge staff.

When we arrived at The Gansevoort, Jenny was there to greet us. Not only did she upgrade my partner and me to a wonderful room, but all of our friends as well. The hotel staff was attentive throughout our four day stay. Joel and his staff at Plunge and the Roof Top Loft went above and beyond the call of duty to make our vow exchange very memorable.

If the incredible staff were not enough, The Gansevoort has some of the largest rooms in NYC. They are funky and fun, and full of little extras, like the house made CD that is playing in your room when you arrive. Also, the hotel location cannot be beat. The Meatpacking district is one crazy area. You can walk to many of the hottest restaurants (Spice Market, Abe & Arthur's, Buddakan, Crispo, Pastis) and the Chelsea Market is one black away.

Watch out Hotel Gansevoort, you might just give New York City a nice reputation!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Scott W,

First of all - congratulations to you and your partner! We are honored that the two of you decided to tie the knot on our roof. It sounds like your experience was nothing short of a good time. Our rooftop overlooking the Hudson River, and New York City’s Meatpacking District must have created some exceptional images for that special moment. We'd love for you to share any photos you have with us. Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel, as well as name those individuals employees that made your stay extra special. We hope that you will return to celebrate many more birthdays and anniversaries. If you should need a reservation please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you both back.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    604
    329
    135
    102
    72
See reviews for
139
408
67
228
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (183)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Hotel Gansevoort is a modern hotel in the meatpacking district - a convenient walk, metro, or taxi to just about anywere in NYC. The staff are amazingly courteous, helpful and attentive. The room was beautiful, with an excellent bed and great bathroom. It seems that every time I left the room, when I returned, someone had been there to change towels, set the lighting, or clean up. My only complaint is the older CD player system on which only one speaker worked. Oh, and the bedside clock has a older plug-in for an iPod that doesn't work with an iPhone.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear DCRickH,

We are elated that you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems like you relished the Meatpacking District with all of its charming elements. We do apologize that the CD player in your room was malfunctioning. If by chance you could email us, we would love to know which room you stayed in - this would help us to fix the issue you encountered. Please contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We appreciate any feedback our guests have to offer, as it assists us in continual excellence in service. Thank you for choosing us as your New York City host.


Looking forward to your return.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Italy
Level Contributor
137 reviews
131 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

After one year me and my wife returned for our wedding anniversary to NY and stayed again in the meatpacking district.
We changed hotel and choose the Gansevoort. The hotel is in the heart of meatpacking, it is quite expensive and especially during Friday and Saturday it seems to be in a night club with a lot of noise and people dancing everywhere.
Being an hotel guest allows you to avoid the bouncers and enter the clubs that are in the hotel, that as I said before during the WE are packed.

Breakfast is good although a bit pricey. Rooms are not too big but they a have a nice view On top beside the club there is also a pool with a stunning view.
Bathroom is quite small but you have all the amenities you might need.

One suggestion try to avoid to take goods from the minibar as they are really overpriced

Room Tip: Ask for high floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear dottorsocrates,

Thank you for staying with us while celebrating your one year anniversary with your wife. We are ecstatic that you decided to give our hotel a try and hope the noise did not disturb you and your wife too much during your stay. The Meatpacking District in general is quite the nightlife hub - in turn creating a tad bit of noise on the weekends. If the noise was too much, we encourage you and your wife to test out our Park Avenue location. It has the same unique amenities, and gorgeous rooftop views, but the neighborhood is just a little laid back. Of course, if Meatpacking is your scene, then we hope to host you again in the future. If you would like to make a reservation you can feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoot.com. We hope to see you soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I travel to NY every other week on business, and will only stay at the Gansevoort from now on. The rooms are comfortable, the location is impossible to top (abdndant nightlife, restaurants, etc), but the best thing about the Gansevoort is the staff. They are all so knowledgeable, friendly and professional. I've had two seperate instances where they've moved mountains to help me track down lost property, and rearrange travel plans. To an individual, this is the most courteous and wonderful staff i've seen in a hotel anywhere.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Jed D,

Thank you for all of the wonderful compliments. Traveling so often can be rough on any individual. Our goal is to make those trips as easy as possible. It is wonderful that you enjoy our hotel and exceptional staff, and look forward to welcoming you back again and again. If you need help with any reservations please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@Hotelgansevoort.com. We hope to see you soon.

Regards,

@Hotelgansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here from Boxing Day to New Years day, and found this hotel through booking.com it was coming in as the 2nd cheapest on that day. We found the location good & located fairly close to the tube with easy access to all tourist destinations. Also had some good shops in & around the hotel. I would definately stay here again if it was reasonably priced.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Griffin3105,

Thank you for stumbling upon our hotel, and choosing to stay with us. It seems like you were really able to enjoy the convenience of our location, as well as the shopping that the Meatpacking District has to offer. Did you have a chance to walk the Highline? If not, this is definitely another excuse to come back to our enamoring neighborhood and take a stroll through its park located above ground. When you decide to visit us again, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com for help with reservations and accommodations. We look forward to your return.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
89 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

The Hotel Gansevoort was chosen as our hotel while recently in New York City strictly because of location. We were helping someone settle into nearby housing and wanted to be close by so we did not do our usual Tripadvisor search for the best place, we simply went with location. That said, we were satisfied with this hotel.

PROS: Reservations were quick and easy online through the hotel site. The room was very spacious and comfortable, especially the beds. The evening turn down service was appreciated as they filled the ice bucket nightly. Staff was very responsive to requests and got our pre-arrival requests correct. The bathroom was spacious with plentiful hot water and great water pressure in the shower. Loved the location!

CONS: We had to call for extra blankets as we had no control over the room temperature and it got a little cool during the night (blankets solved the issue). The hotel is modern and "trendy," for lack of a better word and their "artwork" in the room was not to my taste. It is in a busy area so you do hear street noise at night. The lobby is dark and feels a little cold and unwelcoming.

OVERALL: The location is awesome - near the subway, shops and restaurants all around, the High Line park and Chelsea Market are right there - it's a great location! For our needs - a place to get a good night's sleep after a day of moving or wandering around the city, the Hotel Gansevoort provided a comfortable and convenient stay in a spacious room with really comfy beds.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear MidwestMumbi,

It is wonderful that you not only enjoyed your stay, but also lavished in the beds provided. We do apologize for the chilly room during your trip, in addition to the artwork in our rooms. Our artwork is somewhat of a play on the exciting nightlife aspect that the Meatpacking District has to offer. We hope it did not scare you from staying with us again in the future. If you aren’t set on staying in the Meatpacking District, then perhaps our Park Avenue location would be a nice change of pace. The hotel has all of the same amazing amenities as our Meatpacking hotel, but the room decor and artwork are slightly more “mature.” We look forward to having you back in the near future. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com for any future reservations. Thank you for staying with us during your trip to New York City.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Just returned from an excellent four-day stay at the Hotel Gansevoort.
The location of the hotel is superb with great shopping and restaurants nearby, particularly the Spice Market and Del Posto. On weekends the area is action packed. One of the largest lineups for entry on the weekends seemed to be at the Hotel Gansevoort. It was particularly nice that the night doorman Jimmy, early on in our stay, recognized our party as hotel guests and greeted us warmly every evening on our return from dinner, as we easily bypassed the line up waiting to get in. Jimmy was warm, personable and quick to help in other ways. He is part of what is overall a friendly and attentive staff.
I was also delighted to find, upon my arrival at 8 am, that the 11th floor river view room I requested was ready. Even better, the staff member who helped me to my room suggested that I also take a look at the room that adjoined the suite of my travelling companions. This turned out to be an excellent recommendation. This is a great room configuration for a family or group of friends travelling together. We were on the 11th floor with one corner suite, plus a private common entry way and an adjoining deluxe one bedroom with river view.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Community Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear Dee M,

It is always nice to find your room is ready for check-in, especially when you are traveling so early in the morning. We try to accommodate our guests as best as possible, and often try to grant early check-ins when we have room to do so. We are elated you enjoyed your trip while staying with us, and hope you will return sooner than later. If you need a reservation do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#84 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,501 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#50 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,261 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#267 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trump SoHo New York
#87 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,258 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#107 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#144 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Business Hotel in New York City
#130 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#188 Family Hotel in New York City
#206 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Booking.com, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.