We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #188 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Agoura Hills, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

I stayed at many hotels in NY but the GANSEVOORT was the best , i traveled from Denmark and it was a long flight and was so happy when i got to the hotel at around 8am to hare my room was available , upon arriving the doorman got my bag from the taxi and welcome me with a smile the the front desk person was really nice , i was then assisted by Omar who was very nice and told me about the rooftop bar and pool , spa gym and hair salon, into the room he point the safe showed me the menu for room service and said there are available 24 hour incase i need to place an order he also showed me the (do not disturb sign GET OUT) after i had told him that i had a long flight and needed sleep , he suggested that i put it on my door so i wont be disturb by housekeeping , i really enjoyed my stay and looking forward to stay again and this hotel and would definitely recommended it ,, Thank you Omar

Room Tip: above 7 floor facing the river its just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Damm A A,

Thank you for taking the time to specifically commend one of our extraordinary staff members. We are glad that you enjoyed yourself, and that you were able to rest easily after your long trip from overseas. We are looking forward to hosting you again - hopefully in the near future. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager for any future reservations at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We would be happy to assist you.

Thank you,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,048 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    506
    266
    116
    92
    68
See reviews for
115
338
59
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

My wife and I were invited for a Saturday night dinner at Catch with two other couples. We were told Catch is across the street from the Hotel Gansevoort, so I figured why not make a reservation here. After a little research, we booked a Grand Deluxe room on the 10th floor overlooking the river. Fantastic.

We're twice the age of the other guests and a different demographic, but no worries. Loved the way the room was furnished and the view and the vibe. The staff were really nice to us.

After a truly fabulous dinner (with lots of wine) at Catch the six of us crossed the street back to the hotel to continue the evening. Guests of the hotel have immediate access to the club on the top floor, rather than waiting in the line outside in the cold. We went up to the club but it was way too noisy for us to talk. Our room had a sitting area by the window so we went back down to the room.

I called to room service for a bottle of vodka and some ice. Oh and some cranberry juice. The room service bill was $499. Really? That was more than the hotel room. Life in the big city.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff at the Gansevoort were very good. Our room wasn't ready on arrived so we headed up to the roof bar for cocktails to kill some time. Our check in assistant came to tell us that our room was ready, to hand over the key and let us know our bags were already in the room. He even took photos of our group and emailed them to us later that day. The Gansevoort is ideally placed for some great nightlife and restaurants; Catch, Spice Market and Buddakan are all just over the road. The concierge did a great job of not only getting us into some great restaurants, we also got really good tables in each. The room was a decent size by New York standards and the bed was comfortable. The only drawback with this hotel is the noise. There's a bar on the ground floor, one on the roof and a club next door. Having read others' reviews on this site we asked for a quiet room and we didn't have the noise from the street bothering us in the same way that it did our friends on a lower floor. However, you can hear the bass from the music well into the early hours of the morning even in a 'quiet room'. If you're going to be out all night and aren't really interested in sleep then this hotel is definitely worth a visit. If you need at least a few hours of sleep each night and don't sleep like the dead then choose somewhere a little quieter.

Room Tip: The 7th floor is apparently the quietest. You need to be as far away for the club next door if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Carolyn G,

It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay in the Meatpacking District, although it seems you encountered some lack of sleep along with it. We do apologize for the noise and hope it will not keep you from visiting us in the future. However, if you are not too attached to the Meatpacking District, and enjoyed all of our hotel’s amenities, then we recommend Gansevoort Park Avenue as another fabulous hotel in the city. Our Park Avenue location is a little less lively. Perhaps this would be a better fit for you upon your return to New York City. We would love the chance to host you again. If you would like to make a reservation with us please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to having you back.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brooklyn NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday, weekend of January 12. This is the coolest hotel in the trendiest neighborhood in Manhattan to stay in. The rooms are very hip and upscale (not always a given- we've been in hotels that were trendy but they forgot to be great hotels!). The room is designed well, the view is great and the beds were very comfortable. The atmosphere is perfect if you want to be part of the "scene". The nightclub on the rooftop is great, the spa was amazing (my wife said it was one of her favorites ever) and the service was terrific as well (thank you Jenny and Paul:)) Also, the neighborhodd is so different than the typical Manhattan locales, it has a very cool artsy vibe. Be sure to walk the Highline nearby. We will be back! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear hoosierocks,

Thank you for choosing us as your New York City home away from home. It gives us great joy to know your wife enjoyed her 30th birthday with us. Where did you take her for dinner and her big night out? We hope the two of you will continue to celebrate all of your big occasions with us in the future. If you need any future reservations please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We would be happy to help you with your accommodations.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've visited this hotel several times now. Arriving from London, England, it's like coming home again to New York. The staff are highly professional. We get a warm welcome on arrival; this sets the scene for the rest of our stay. Big comfortable beds, super bathrooms, close to subway, always taxis available, excellent shops nearby, the surrounding streets at times remind us of London, with the Georgian architecture . . . Leaving after our last visit, we arrived at JFK and realised we had left a suitcase in the room. A call to the hotel, and a member of staff had the case with us in time for our flight. We're looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear WoodyLondon,

We are happy to be able to continuously live up to you expectations of service standards, and thank you for staying with us once again. We hope you will continue to think of us as your home in the States. If there are any restaurants in the neighborhood you have yet to try we would be more than happy to help you with any reservations in the future. Please contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com for assistance with accommodations or reservations. We look forward to your return.

Stay warm,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed on the 11th floor of this chic and very comfortable hotel. Staff were incredibly attentive, professional and friendly--which is a real game changer for hotels in NYC! In fact, front desk staff provided me a list of gluten-free restaurants w/o my asking for it. {web research anyone?}

The rooms are cozy with great showers / sink design, rooftop pool, and 2 onsite restaurants--although there are plenty of places to eat in this area. Subway stations are walking distance from the hotel.

Nice surprise since my last business trip to NYC where I stayed at the Affinia Shelburne and received tons of attitude and a "go away we are too busy to talk to you" experience. When I requested a bath mat, staff told me I should have reserved a disability friendly room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Hypatia18,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Gansevoort, as well as your time with our staff. Our team often surpasses our standards of excellence, and it is wonderful to hear your experience was nothing short of a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you need any reservations at a gluten-free restaurant, or want help with future accommodations, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

First stayed at this hotel a couple years ago in a standard room. While the room wasn't large, I've stayed in much smaller ones uptown. This hotel has the most central location in the meatpacking area. This time I opted for the Manhattan Suite which has 1 1/2 baths and a step out balcony. I have to say the staff was perfect both times. This time we received a complimentary bottle of wine and small box of Godiva. The Cutler bath amenities were lovely and plentiful. Very comfortable. It was freezing outside with the wind off the water and all we had to do was cross the street for a great meal. Five minutes to shopping, restaurants and Chelsea market. I do plan on going back there again. Yes, it is pricey, but around fall you can find discounts through winter.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear momsbroke,

Thank you for staying with us once again. We are pleased to find out that your return was just as fulfilling as your last experience at our hotel. Were you able to take a walk on the Highline despite the cold weather? It has become such a quaint addition to the neighborhood. The Whitney Museum is also set to open in the Meatpacking District - just another reason to stay with us again. If you need help with any reservations or accommodations in the future please contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#133 Business Hotel in New York City
#211 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Splendia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.