We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very cool hotel but a bit noisy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Gift That Gives More
Ranked #178 of 459 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very cool hotel but a bit noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

The staff at the Gansevoort were very good. Our room wasn't ready on arrived so we headed up to the roof bar for cocktails to kill some time. Our check in assistant came to tell us that our room was ready, to hand over the key and let us know our bags were already in the room. He even took photos of our group and emailed them to us later that day. The Gansevoort is ideally placed for some great nightlife and restaurants; Catch, Spice Market and Buddakan are all just over the road. The concierge did a great job of not only getting us into some great restaurants, we also got really good tables in each. The room was a decent size by New York standards and the bed was comfortable. The only drawback with this hotel is the noise. There's a bar on the ground floor, one on the roof and a club next door. Having read others' reviews on this site we asked for a quiet room and we didn't have the noise from the street bothering us in the same way that it did our friends on a lower floor. However, you can hear the bass from the music well into the early hours of the morning even in a 'quiet room'. If you're going to be out all night and aren't really interested in sleep then this hotel is definitely worth a visit. If you need at least a few hours of sleep each night and don't sleep like the dead then choose somewhere a little quieter.

Room Tip: The 7th floor is apparently the quietest. You need to be as far away for the club next door if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Carolyn G,

It is wonderful that you enjoyed your stay in the Meatpacking District, although it seems you encountered some lack of sleep along with it. We do apologize for the noise and hope it will not keep you from visiting us in the future. However, if you are not too attached to the Meatpacking District, and enjoyed all of our hotel’s amenities, then we recommend Gansevoort Park Avenue as another fabulous hotel in the city. Our Park Avenue location is a little less lively. Perhaps this would be a better fit for you upon your return to New York City. We would love the chance to host you again. If you would like to make a reservation with us please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to having you back.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    285
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
122
360
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
brooklyn NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Took my wife here for her 30th birthday, weekend of January 12. This is the coolest hotel in the trendiest neighborhood in Manhattan to stay in. The rooms are very hip and upscale (not always a given- we've been in hotels that were trendy but they forgot to be great hotels!). The room is designed well, the view is great and the beds were very comfortable. The atmosphere is perfect if you want to be part of the "scene". The nightclub on the rooftop is great, the spa was amazing (my wife said it was one of her favorites ever) and the service was terrific as well (thank you Jenny and Paul:)) Also, the neighborhodd is so different than the typical Manhattan locales, it has a very cool artsy vibe. Be sure to walk the Highline nearby. We will be back! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear hoosierocks,

Thank you for choosing us as your New York City home away from home. It gives us great joy to know your wife enjoyed her 30th birthday with us. Where did you take her for dinner and her big night out? We hope the two of you will continue to celebrate all of your big occasions with us in the future. If you need any future reservations please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We would be happy to help you with your accommodations.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We've visited this hotel several times now. Arriving from London, England, it's like coming home again to New York. The staff are highly professional. We get a warm welcome on arrival; this sets the scene for the rest of our stay. Big comfortable beds, super bathrooms, close to subway, always taxis available, excellent shops nearby, the surrounding streets at times remind us of London, with the Georgian architecture . . . Leaving after our last visit, we arrived at JFK and realised we had left a suitcase in the room. A call to the hotel, and a member of staff had the case with us in time for our flight. We're looking forward to our next visit already.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear WoodyLondon,

We are happy to be able to continuously live up to you expectations of service standards, and thank you for staying with us once again. We hope you will continue to think of us as your home in the States. If there are any restaurants in the neighborhood you have yet to try we would be more than happy to help you with any reservations in the future. Please contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com for assistance with accommodations or reservations. We look forward to your return.

Stay warm,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Stayed on the 11th floor of this chic and very comfortable hotel. Staff were incredibly attentive, professional and friendly--which is a real game changer for hotels in NYC! In fact, front desk staff provided me a list of gluten-free restaurants w/o my asking for it. {web research anyone?}

The rooms are cozy with great showers / sink design, rooftop pool, and 2 onsite restaurants--although there are plenty of places to eat in this area. Subway stations are walking distance from the hotel.

Nice surprise since my last business trip to NYC where I stayed at the Affinia Shelburne and received tons of attitude and a "go away we are too busy to talk to you" experience. When I requested a bath mat, staff told me I should have reserved a disability friendly room!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear Hypatia18,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Gansevoort, as well as your time with our staff. Our team often surpasses our standards of excellence, and it is wonderful to hear your experience was nothing short of a good time. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. If you need any reservations at a gluten-free restaurant, or want help with future accommodations, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

First stayed at this hotel a couple years ago in a standard room. While the room wasn't large, I've stayed in much smaller ones uptown. This hotel has the most central location in the meatpacking area. This time I opted for the Manhattan Suite which has 1 1/2 baths and a step out balcony. I have to say the staff was perfect both times. This time we received a complimentary bottle of wine and small box of Godiva. The Cutler bath amenities were lovely and plentiful. Very comfortable. It was freezing outside with the wind off the water and all we had to do was cross the street for a great meal. Five minutes to shopping, restaurants and Chelsea market. I do plan on going back there again. Yes, it is pricey, but around fall you can find discounts through winter.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite, go for it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 21, 2013
Dear momsbroke,

Thank you for staying with us once again. We are pleased to find out that your return was just as fulfilling as your last experience at our hotel. Were you able to take a walk on the Highline despite the cold weather? It has become such a quaint addition to the neighborhood. The Whitney Museum is also set to open in the Meatpacking District - just another reason to stay with us again. If you need help with any reservations or accommodations in the future please contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to your return.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Stayed from the end of December 2012 until January 2013 for 9 nights.
Hotel location is in the fantastic meatpacking district with lots of sights nearby (such as: high line park, Chelsea market and SoHo) and only one block away from a main subway route.

Unfortunately you pay a high price for the name and image whilst you only get a small room with no tea/ coffee making facilities.

In-room prices are extortionate at $9 for a bottle of water. Given that there's "one of the top clubs in the meatpacking district" located in the penthouse, every evening you'd come home to a queue of people in front of the hotel and you'd have to clearly distinguish yourself as a guest rather than a clubber.
On a side note, the music played was two years behind European club music (at least) and was frequented by a wide range of ages from spotty teens to women with their mothers.

Overall, the hotel is fancy and you pay for the name. However, the location couldn't be better!

Make sure you ask for a room above the 7th floor for better views.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear modernhobo,


We apologize if you were disappointed with your stay at our hotel. If there is anything we can do to make your trip more enjoyable the next time you visit New York City, please let us know. We would love the chance to make it up to you
-
perhaps at our slightly more refined, less noisy Park Avenue location (which also boasts larger rooms).

If you decide to stay with us againg please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for premier treatment.


Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

All in all it was a good trip. Centrally located to all the nightlife in manhattan. Friendly staff. Rooms are a bit small. They made us wait until 3pm to check in even though we had just came in from a red eye. Very expensive to stay here. Everyone expects a tip immediately. I would only stay here again because my girl likes it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Adam W,

Thank you for staying with us during your trip to New York City. We hope that you and your girlfriend were able to enjoy the Meatpacking District and all of its charms. We usually grant early
check-ins for our guests, as long as there is room availability to do so. We are sincerely apologize for making you both wait after enduring a redeye to New York. Also, if you know ahead of time that you will be taking a redeye, please inform our reservations team in the future, as they will make a note to your file and accommodate you as best as possible. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future. If you would like to make a reservation please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you both back.

Best,


@HotelGansevoot
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#95 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#210 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.