We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The place to stay in N . Y . City !!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #192 of 449 hotels in New York City
Tel aviv
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The place to stay in N . Y . City !!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great hotel with young atmosphere and very pleasant employees . The location is the best to those who like to enjoy the city days and nights . Great hotel with reasonable price clean and comfortable room . The wi-fi should be improved ! Gym is good .

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Giora O,

Thank you for choosing the Gansevoort as your home away from home. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay in the Meatpacking District. Thank you for letting us know about our wi–fi. We will have our engineers look into the issue, and improved by the time you return. If you would like to make any future reservations, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We can’t wait to have you back.

Best,


@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

980 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    464
    254
    107
    90
    65
See reviews for
105
315
55
180
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

Everything about The Gansvoort Hotel was great. Best location in Manhattan, great service, very nice room, cool rooftop bar and friendly staff. I will recommend it to everyone. The Meatpacking District is the best place to live at and The Gansvoort Hotel couldn't be a better choice if you ask me.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear OLindstrom,

It seems you really enjoyed the location of our hotel. It is quite wonderful to stay in a location that offers easily accessible and desirable surroundings, and that is one of many reasons why our guests come back time and time again to spend time in the Meatpacking District. If you would like to make any future reservations please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at
Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. We look forward to your return.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

I spent one night at the hotel with my family on Dec 22nd. This hotel was amazing place to stay- great location, comfortable and quiet! Gym was great and spa was excellent. Staff was very gracious and accommodating. Front door staff really great at hailing you a cab and very friendly. I am looking forward to going back on Valentine's Weekend with my wife...shhhh its a surprise!! Everyone should try this hotel!!!

Room Tip: We had a suite and it was very comfortable for four people
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Lloyd I,

We are delighted to discover your stay with us was exceptional. It seems like you took advantage of all of our amenities during your trip. We can’t wait to welcome you and your wife back for a romantic getaway. If you need any help with special requests during your next stay, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to seeing you again.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hopewell junction
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Last weekend my family and I decided to go to New York City for one night to see the Christmas tree and have dinner and see all the great store displays. We decided to stay at Hotel Gansevoort in the Meatpacking since it was away from all the crowd. The staff at the hotel were wonderful....our check in was very efficient and fast. The room was gorgeous, very trendy and stylish, our kids loved it. We received champaign and cup cakes half hour after arriving!

The next day we had breakfast in room and it was delicious. I would recommend this hotel to all my friends and family. Very kids friendly!!! Looking forward to our next visit!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear paddy a,

Thank you for choosing us as your “stay-cation” hotel. It is wonderful to know your experience with us was nothing short of a good time. Next time you decide to come into the city bring some bathing suits for the kids, as we keep our pools heated year round. If you need to make a reservation in the future, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property sometime soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meopham, Kent
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We came to New York for a third visit to see our daughter who is interning here for a year - it was by far our best visit, helped enormously by the hotel and the area of New York it is situated.

I was not expecting too much with regard to New York friendliness or standards - it can be a harsh city. However, we were very satisfied with the Hotel Gansevoort and it's staff. It's quite a "party" hotel and the rooms are equipped and furnished to comply. The large portrait photographs on the bedroom Walls were a bit shocking when you first wake up but you soon got used to them. The rooms were serviced twice day with a turn down service at night and our room had full length French windows with a good view.

The best view however was from the outdoor pool on the top floor. Absolutely stunning view across the Hudson toward Hoboken and in the opposite direction looking at the Chrysler building.

When you walk out the hotel doors, the staff were extremely friendly offering to get you cabs whenever you needed. However within a short walk you find yourself in Greenwich Village which is one of my favourite areas. I could wander through Greenwich Village continuously with it's quaint bookshops and cute stores, delicious restaurants and delis. You can reach some of the most well known areas of New York though with much ease and yet easily escape back to this very fashionable district at the end of the day.

Surrounding the outside pool is the Plunge rooftop lounge and bar which got very busy and vibrant some evenings which was lovely. I believe it's one of "the places" to go if you're not resident.

All in all a delightful trip, peppered with some out of the way places to go and all helped by this very lovely and vibrant ( which you can dip in and out of) hotel and area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear SusanMcNally18,

We're thrilled that you and your spouse really took advantage of the Meatpacking District's surrounding neighborhoods. Did you know that the Whitney Museum will be another fabulous addition to our neighborhood in the near future? Just another reason to let us host you upon your return to New York City. If you would like to make a reservation with us again, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. Thanks for the kind words.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I booked a suite for 2 nights for business purposes. On the 11th floor. Room was nice and clean, but you pay for the view and meatpack district too, ofcourse. Personel was friendly. But indeed, as in other reviews; for "normal" guests, the music is too loud in the restaurant. But the food is really delicious and of a high standard but not haute cuisine. It is not my kind of people who arrive on Saturday evening, but it didn't bother me. It was more a kind of "sightseeing" and fun.
Not suitable for children.

Room Tip: Suite with view on hudson and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear alex1969_11,

We are happy you enjoyed your suite at our hotel. Hopefully the business side of your trip did not take up all of your free time. We do apologize if the music was too loud in our restaurant, but hopefully the food made up for it. If you would like a hotel that is a little more subdued during your next trip to the city, we'd recommend our Park Avenue location. It has all of the same wonderful amenities and suites that out Meatpacking property offers, but the neighborhood and restaurant are a little more low-key. In the future, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for any reservations or requests.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Special thanks to Nadia and Omar - you made my stay FANTASTIC!!! My room wasn't available at check in and both Nadia and Omar were very accommodating. I had a late breakfast and my room was ready. On day 2, I was even impressed that both of them remembered my name. This type of customer service is a rare commodity.

See you on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CWKnoxville,

Thank you for taking the time to name our superstars on property. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to accommodate and impress you. We hope that you will return to our hotel in the near future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back. If you need to make a reservation please feel free to contact our Community Manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Best,

@Hotel Gansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Spa Hotel in New York City
#112 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#117 Business Hotel in New York City
#231 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#233 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Splendia, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.