We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meatpacking District and a "cool" hotel makes a perfect match” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #189 of 452 hotels in New York City
Meopham, Kent
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Meatpacking District and a "cool" hotel makes a perfect match”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We came to New York for a third visit to see our daughter who is interning here for a year - it was by far our best visit, helped enormously by the hotel and the area of New York it is situated.

I was not expecting too much with regard to New York friendliness or standards - it can be a harsh city. However, we were very satisfied with the Hotel Gansevoort and it's staff. It's quite a "party" hotel and the rooms are equipped and furnished to comply. The large portrait photographs on the bedroom Walls were a bit shocking when you first wake up but you soon got used to them. The rooms were serviced twice day with a turn down service at night and our room had full length French windows with a good view.

The best view however was from the outdoor pool on the top floor. Absolutely stunning view across the Hudson toward Hoboken and in the opposite direction looking at the Chrysler building.

When you walk out the hotel doors, the staff were extremely friendly offering to get you cabs whenever you needed. However within a short walk you find yourself in Greenwich Village which is one of my favourite areas. I could wander through Greenwich Village continuously with it's quaint bookshops and cute stores, delicious restaurants and delis. You can reach some of the most well known areas of New York though with much ease and yet easily escape back to this very fashionable district at the end of the day.

Surrounding the outside pool is the Plunge rooftop lounge and bar which got very busy and vibrant some evenings which was lovely. I believe it's one of "the places" to go if you're not resident.

All in all a delightful trip, peppered with some out of the way places to go and all helped by this very lovely and vibrant ( which you can dip in and out of) hotel and area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear SusanMcNally18,

We're thrilled that you and your spouse really took advantage of the Meatpacking District's surrounding neighborhoods. Did you know that the Whitney Museum will be another fabulous addition to our neighborhood in the near future? Just another reason to let us host you upon your return to New York City. If you would like to make a reservation with us again, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@HotelGansevoort.com. Thanks for the kind words.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    485
    260
    113
    91
    66
See reviews for
110
325
57
187
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

I booked a suite for 2 nights for business purposes. On the 11th floor. Room was nice and clean, but you pay for the view and meatpack district too, ofcourse. Personel was friendly. But indeed, as in other reviews; for "normal" guests, the music is too loud in the restaurant. But the food is really delicious and of a high standard but not haute cuisine. It is not my kind of people who arrive on Saturday evening, but it didn't bother me. It was more a kind of "sightseeing" and fun.
Not suitable for children.

Room Tip: Suite with view on hudson and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear alex1969_11,

We are happy you enjoyed your suite at our hotel. Hopefully the business side of your trip did not take up all of your free time. We do apologize if the music was too loud in our restaurant, but hopefully the food made up for it. If you would like a hotel that is a little more subdued during your next trip to the city, we'd recommend our Park Avenue location. It has all of the same wonderful amenities and suites that out Meatpacking property offers, but the neighborhood and restaurant are a little more low-key. In the future, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for any reservations or requests.

Regards,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Special thanks to Nadia and Omar - you made my stay FANTASTIC!!! My room wasn't available at check in and both Nadia and Omar were very accommodating. I had a late breakfast and my room was ready. On day 2, I was even impressed that both of them remembered my name. This type of customer service is a rare commodity.

See you on my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear CWKnoxville,

Thank you for taking the time to name our superstars on property. It is wonderful to know you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to accommodate and impress you. We hope that you will return to our hotel in the near future, as it would be a pleasure to welcome you back. If you need to make a reservation please feel free to contact our Community Manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Best,

@Hotel Gansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

We just returned from our trip to New York, which was overall magnificent. Although are stay at the Gansevoort was not perfect, we enjoyed our time there. My first complaint, we had specifically asked for connecting rooms since our 2 daughters and a friend were going to be staying in the room next to us. Upon entering our room, there was not a door connecting to the next room. Next, we went to the room our daughters were staying in, and discovered a king bed, when we asked for two doubles. So we went downstairs to try and switch rooms, but nothing that matched our request was available. They did offer to move us the next morning, but what a pain that would have been after unpacking. Luckily, the couch turned into a sofa bed so our daughters and our friend were able to have enough sleeping space. My biggest complaint is the noise. If you want a good night sleep, bring ear plugs. The sound of horns and sirens are constant. At one point, during a restless night, I started counting moments of silence; I did not get past 5 seconds without hearing a horn or siren. Lastly, the rooms are really warm at night. When my husband complained they told him they turn off the air during the winter and we need to open our window. This is impossible to do if you want to sleep. The noise was so loud with the window closed, I could not imagine leaving it open and getting a moment of sleep.
Although, there are a bunch of negatives, the hotel had its positives qualities as well. First, the sizes of the rooms were nice compared to other hotels in New York. The bathrooms were clean and nice. The location is great. The hotel is in the meatpacking district, so there are a lot of great places right next to the hotel. A 10 minute walk will get you to Soho, and a 20 minute walk to Little Italy. There is a bar down in the lobby area that gets pretty busy at night and has a pool table.
Overall, my biggest complaint is the noise. The Gansevoort is nice hotel. I mean, we did spot Richard Branson there, but he probably did not have an issue with the noise in the penthouse.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear MissTinaIrvine,

We are truly sorry your experience at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We hope to have the opportunity to make it up to you and your family in the future. Unfortunately, the Meatpacking District is a premier nightlife and shopping location in the city, and the noise factor is often beyond our control. We do have a newer location on Park Avenue and 29th Street that has all of the same amenities and larger rooms than our Meatpacking District location has, but with a little less noisy streets outside. We would love the opportunity to host you again. If you would like to make a future reservation with us please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com and reference case #1-104.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hagley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stopped here with friends over Thanksgiving. The hotel it self is OK but nothing special. The rooms were hot at night and the street outside can get very noisy late at night. We were woken by police sirens and loud shouts at 4am in the morning. In fairness my clubbing days are a little behind me and this hotel would suit a younger crowd.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front if you value your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Ivor A,

We sincerely apologize for the excessive noise that hindered you from getting a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, the Meatpacking District can get quite rowdy at night, as it hosts many of the most popular bars and nightclubs in the city. However, we do have another location on Park Avenue and 29th Street that offers the same amenities as our Meatpacking location, such as a rooftop pool, but without less crowded streets surrounding it. Perhaps this would be a better fit for you. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again. If you would like to make a reservation in the future please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com and refernece case #1-105. We look forward to having you back.

Thank you,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great staff, fantastic service and a great location. Much better than staying in mid town even if, as for us, the main purpose of the holiday was shopping. $10 will get you into town for the shops and you will not regret staying in a much better neighbourhood which has bars, restaurants and all night diners for late night NY cheesecake runs.. Great roof top bar and swimming pool.
Only warning is that if you are travelling with kids or you're after a nice quiet spa holiday then best look elsewhere. Also make sure you have enough in the budget for drinks at the roof top bar, it's pricey but worth it and we asked for a quiet room and didn't hear any noise at all during the night.
All in a perfect hotel for a few days shopping and going out in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sinky999,

We are elated to discover your stay with us was enjoyable and entertaining. The Meatpacking District definitely offers a New York experience like no other, and we are proud to be a part of the neighborhood. We hope that you were able to get all of your holiday shopping in during your trip. Upon your next arrival to New York City, check out The Highline. It’s a wonderful spot to take a stroll after getting shopped-out on 14th street. If you need to make a reservation for your next trip to NYC, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Big Apple again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just returned from an absolutely wonderful stay at the Gansevoort - Meatpacking District property. The service, ambiance, and location were just superb. And, my room (Deluxe Room) was just wonderful, with a very comfortable bed, and great bathroom. I enjoyed a quiet night's rest in this very active neigborhood. While I was in NYC this time for business, I will return here for both business and pleasure. I highly recommend you enjoy a stay at his fantastic property, in a fun neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Worldtraveler68,

We are delighted to know that your business trip was enhanced by our amazing beds and entertaining location. We hope you didn’t work too hard and were able to enjoy some of the charming elements of the Meatpacking District. For future reservations, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We can’t wait to host you when you return for a leisure trip.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
#207 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Amex, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.