We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a great hotel if you want some sleep” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #190 of 452 hotels in New York City
Hagley, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not a great hotel if you want some sleep”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We stopped here with friends over Thanksgiving. The hotel it self is OK but nothing special. The rooms were hot at night and the street outside can get very noisy late at night. We were woken by police sirens and loud shouts at 4am in the morning. In fairness my clubbing days are a little behind me and this hotel would suit a younger crowd.

Room Tip: Don't get a room at the front if you value your sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Dear Ivor A,

We sincerely apologize for the excessive noise that hindered you from getting a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, the Meatpacking District can get quite rowdy at night, as it hosts many of the most popular bars and nightclubs in the city. However, we do have another location on Park Avenue and 29th Street that offers the same amenities as our Meatpacking location, such as a rooftop pool, but without less crowded streets surrounding it. Perhaps this would be a better fit for you. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again. If you would like to make a reservation in the future please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com and refernece case #1-105. We look forward to having you back.

Thank you,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    491
    264
    115
    91
    67
See reviews for
112
331
57
189
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Great staff, fantastic service and a great location. Much better than staying in mid town even if, as for us, the main purpose of the holiday was shopping. $10 will get you into town for the shops and you will not regret staying in a much better neighbourhood which has bars, restaurants and all night diners for late night NY cheesecake runs.. Great roof top bar and swimming pool.
Only warning is that if you are travelling with kids or you're after a nice quiet spa holiday then best look elsewhere. Also make sure you have enough in the budget for drinks at the roof top bar, it's pricey but worth it and we asked for a quiet room and didn't hear any noise at all during the night.
All in a perfect hotel for a few days shopping and going out in Manhattan.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Sinky999,

We are elated to discover your stay with us was enjoyable and entertaining. The Meatpacking District definitely offers a New York experience like no other, and we are proud to be a part of the neighborhood. We hope that you were able to get all of your holiday shopping in during your trip. Upon your next arrival to New York City, check out The Highline. It’s a wonderful spot to take a stroll after getting shopped-out on 14th street. If you need to make a reservation for your next trip to NYC, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Big Apple again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I just returned from an absolutely wonderful stay at the Gansevoort - Meatpacking District property. The service, ambiance, and location were just superb. And, my room (Deluxe Room) was just wonderful, with a very comfortable bed, and great bathroom. I enjoyed a quiet night's rest in this very active neigborhood. While I was in NYC this time for business, I will return here for both business and pleasure. I highly recommend you enjoy a stay at his fantastic property, in a fun neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Worldtraveler68,

We are delighted to know that your business trip was enhanced by our amazing beds and entertaining location. We hope you didn’t work too hard and were able to enjoy some of the charming elements of the Meatpacking District. For future reservations, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We can’t wait to host you when you return for a leisure trip.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

I stayed in the hotel during hurricane sandy at the park/29th location. The weekend was supposed to be a romantic getaway for two, but on sunday night the storm hit us hard. I can't say enough about the staff who pulled together at a difficult time to make sure we were taken care of during difficult circumanstances. It is an experience i wont forget and want to commend the staff on their exemplary corteousness and professionalism

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear JPtraveller1978,

It seems that Superstorm Sandy felt your romantic getaway would be better lit by candlelight. We are sorry your trip happened to be the week of the storm, as it was obviously not the norm for our service standards. Thank you for being an understanding guest during a trying time for our team. It is wonderful to know that our staff was able to accommodate you as best as they could. Should you decide to stay with us on a sunnier week, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Sincerely,

@Hotel Gansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were a few years behind the curve in terms of visiting this place, but its hip credentials still seemed to be well in place, right down to a group of beautiful people, dressed completely in black, swaying out the entrance as we lurched, all too colourfully, in.
Spacious, comfortable and fun interconnecting rooms, suitably dimly lit corridors and the famous rooftop pool which we didn't have time to test.
Brilliant location - walked the Highline the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear scoochlondon,

It’s such a shame that you didn’t have time to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool, but there is always next time. On the other hand, it is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our neighborhood’s exquisite High Line Park. Did you have a chance to try our restaurant, TOY, during your stay? It also offers a hip vibe similar to our hotel, with unique Asian-influenced dishes. Should you decide to return to New York City, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for any future reservations. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently stayed at the Gansevoort with my family arriving the Saturday prior to the arrival of superstorm Sandy. Our rooms were a good size by NYC standards and well appointed. Generally the hotel had a great atmosphere and of course it is in a fantastic location in the Meatpacking District. However this turned into a trip like no other with the arrival of Sandy.
The power went out as we sat in the bar on the Monday evening. There was nothing else to do but turn in early and see what the morning unveiled. It's only after when you come home and reflect on what you experienced that you really get a true sense of how devastasting this storm was.
With regard to the Gansevoort staff I cannot compliment them enough for their professionalism in dealing with the situation. Every member of staff we encountered from the maintenance guy upwards was excellent, and when the hotel took the decision to close on the Wednesday because of the continued lack of power the Management Team worked very hard to secure accomodation for my family elsewhere in NYC.
We never got to sample the full range of what the hotel has to offer, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Funstone,

It is such a shame that your trip to New York City involved the devastating events caused by Superstorm Sandy. However, thank you for being an understanding guest during such inclimate weather. It is wonderful to know that our staff was able to impress you and your family without the wonderful amenities our hotel usually has to offer. We can’t wait to have you back to experience Gansevoort’s true standard of excellence our team strives to provide. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for future reservations. We hope to host you and your family again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Gansevoort during Hurricane Sandy. The staff was so professional, cared about us and went out of their way to take care of us and make sure we were safe and happy. The rooms are very big for New York standards, many rooms have little balconies where the door opens for fresh air. The decor is very modern, but very comfortable. There is a roof deck and pool which is awesome. By far, it was the classiest place I have stayed because of the amazing staff. When the power and water went out during the hurricane, they helped us look for other hotels, got coffee and food delivered which was not easy. Upon my return, I even got a letter where they told us they discounted our stay due to no power. None of this was their fault, but again, they care about their guests. Awesome neighborhood as well, great shops and restaurants!

Room Tip: I would ask for one of the rooms with a step out balcony. It makes the room feel bigger and nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bergen986,

Our deepest apologies on behalf of Superstorm Sandy for disturbing your visit to New York City. Thank you for being a patient and understanding guest throughout our power outage. Gansevoort is certainly fortunate to have an outstanding staff that was able to accommodate the two of you and we're thrilled that everyone made it through the storm safe, sound and in style. We hope you will allow us to host you again when the weather is a little friendlier. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com for future reservations.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#113 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#132 Business Hotel in New York City
#202 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#236 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;