We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still pretty groovy..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 468 Hotels in New York City
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Still pretty groovy..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were a few years behind the curve in terms of visiting this place, but its hip credentials still seemed to be well in place, right down to a group of beautiful people, dressed completely in black, swaying out the entrance as we lurched, all too colourfully, in.
Spacious, comfortable and fun interconnecting rooms, suitably dimly lit corridors and the famous rooftop pool which we didn't have time to test.
Brilliant location - walked the Highline the next morning.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear scoochlondon,

It’s such a shame that you didn’t have time to take a dip in our heated rooftop pool, but there is always next time. On the other hand, it is wonderful that you were able to take advantage of our neighborhood’s exquisite High Line Park. Did you have a chance to try our restaurant, TOY, during your stay? It also offers a hip vibe similar to our hotel, with unique Asian-influenced dishes. Should you decide to return to New York City, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for any future reservations. We hope we will have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    625
    343
    138
    103
    73
See reviews for
146
418
68
239
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

I recently stayed at the Gansevoort with my family arriving the Saturday prior to the arrival of superstorm Sandy. Our rooms were a good size by NYC standards and well appointed. Generally the hotel had a great atmosphere and of course it is in a fantastic location in the Meatpacking District. However this turned into a trip like no other with the arrival of Sandy.
The power went out as we sat in the bar on the Monday evening. There was nothing else to do but turn in early and see what the morning unveiled. It's only after when you come home and reflect on what you experienced that you really get a true sense of how devastasting this storm was.
With regard to the Gansevoort staff I cannot compliment them enough for their professionalism in dealing with the situation. Every member of staff we encountered from the maintenance guy upwards was excellent, and when the hotel took the decision to close on the Wednesday because of the continued lack of power the Management Team worked very hard to secure accomodation for my family elsewhere in NYC.
We never got to sample the full range of what the hotel has to offer, but we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Funstone,

It is such a shame that your trip to New York City involved the devastating events caused by Superstorm Sandy. However, thank you for being an understanding guest during such inclimate weather. It is wonderful to know that our staff was able to impress you and your family without the wonderful amenities our hotel usually has to offer. We can’t wait to have you back to experience Gansevoort’s true standard of excellence our team strives to provide. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for future reservations. We hope to host you and your family again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed at the Gansevoort during Hurricane Sandy. The staff was so professional, cared about us and went out of their way to take care of us and make sure we were safe and happy. The rooms are very big for New York standards, many rooms have little balconies where the door opens for fresh air. The decor is very modern, but very comfortable. There is a roof deck and pool which is awesome. By far, it was the classiest place I have stayed because of the amazing staff. When the power and water went out during the hurricane, they helped us look for other hotels, got coffee and food delivered which was not easy. Upon my return, I even got a letter where they told us they discounted our stay due to no power. None of this was their fault, but again, they care about their guests. Awesome neighborhood as well, great shops and restaurants!

Room Tip: I would ask for one of the rooms with a step out balcony. It makes the room feel bigger and nice to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Bergen986,

Our deepest apologies on behalf of Superstorm Sandy for disturbing your visit to New York City. Thank you for being a patient and understanding guest throughout our power outage. Gansevoort is certainly fortunate to have an outstanding staff that was able to accommodate the two of you and we're thrilled that everyone made it through the storm safe, sound and in style. We hope you will allow us to host you again when the weather is a little friendlier. Please feel free to contact our Community Manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com for future reservations.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, MA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Gansevoort in the meatpacking district is a boutique hotel in a trendy neighborhood with great restaurants. By "boutique" I mean small. That applies to the number of floors as well as the room size. Our family of four met my cousin from The Netherlands, there for a weekend in October. We reserved a suite for $850/night which was essentially 2 tiny rooms and 2 balconies that served to let in the noise at 3 a.m. The hotel is not protected by other buildings as it is on a small block with one other building that holds a night club that gets out around 3 a.m. every night. Thus the partiers who are unsure where to go at quitting time get to stand in the 3 streets that surround the hotel and block traffic resulting in a cacauphony of honks for one hour. Blessedly everyone remembers where they live by 4 am. On the positive side the pool was great for the kids and the hotel left cupcakes for us in our room. My cousin changed hotels after we left.

Room Tip: At another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear croninLexington,

We sincerely apologize for the noise you encountered during your stay. Unfortunately, the Meatpacking District is quite a chaotic scene; especially on the weekends. This can be particularly intrusive when traveling with children. Luckily we have another property located on Park Avenue and 29th Street that has all the wonderful amenities of Hotel Gansevoort (including a pool for the kiddies), without the surrounding nightclubs. Perhaps Gansevoort Park will be a better fit for you and your family in the future. Should you decide to stay with us again, please contact our Community Manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com and reference case #1-102 so we can personalize your stay. Our apologies once again and hope to see you soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
noosa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

Obviously, the location of the hotel is great. Meatpacking is a fantastic area, perfectly located in between great shops and restaurants and the top clubs in the city. However I travel regularly for a living, and have stayed in some of the most wonderful hotels in the world.
For the rate that we payed for this hotel room, the hotel really did not meet the standard that it should have.
The spa, in particular, was completely pointless and disappointing. We spent an hour in there waiting for the heating to rise in the spa, and the sauna to work, and nothing seemed to be heating. We waited there for about an hour when they said that they would turn it up, and still nothing. When we finally decided to leave after freezing ourselves in a cold shower, the staff member said to us very unapologetic that they turned the heating off about an hour ago and forgot to tell us.
Then when asking for a newspaper, I was told that the hotel didnt carry any, and that we could run to the deli if we needed one. This is something any standard hotel in the world should have.

The room service is over priced, and not good at all!
We had no room service menus in our room to begin with, and then were told that the delay was going to be over an hour, to receive a $30 burger that was worse than something I could have bought at KFC.

The staff and service at the front were super nice, I cannot say anything bad about the staff, they were probably the only reason I never complained about all of this in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear sl1401,

We apologize that your experience with us did not meet your standards, as it certainly did not meet our own. Our venues within the hotel are outsourced, and often times reviews such as yours help us to get the entire team back on track. We have reached out to the various departments regarding your specific issues and are working with them to improve the quality of our overall customer service. We are also looking into why you were told we do not offer newspaper at our hotel. Hotel Gansevoort and Gansevoort Park both offer The New York Times and The New York Post free of charge, directly to your room upon request. If you decide you would like to stay with us again in the future, please contact our Community Manager at digital@hotelgansevoort.com and reference case # 1-103. We would love the chance to make it up to you.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

I stayed at the Gansevoort with my wife this past month for our 2nd Anniversary. It was a great experience. The hotel is centrally located and very convenient to public transportation. A ton of great restaurants and bars in the area, plus the Highline park. Rooms were top notch and the view was unbeatable. Try to make it to the rooftop bar for drinks, you won't regret it. The staff were really helpful and knowledgeable about the area. One of the front desk managers, Ben, recommended a great restaurant for our anniversary dinner and a spot for drinks nearby. We will definitely come back for another visit!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear George C,

It is wonderful to know that you and your wife enjoyed your anniversary with us. The area is quite beautiful during this time of year – perfect for a romantic stroll on the Highline or a candlelight dinner in a small restaurant off the beaten path. We are elated to know you will be joining us again in the near future. If you would like to take advantage of our social media rate please contact our Community Manager at digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com. We can’t wait to welcome you and your wife back.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Gansevoort recently as it was conveniently located to my conference and dinner. The location is quite nice and the rooms are clean and well appointed.

I was very disasppointed in the overall experience. At 12 midnight, the alarm clock in the room went off. After multiple attempts to disable the alarm clock I finally unplugged it from the wall.

I was unable to go back to sleep because my 5th floor room faced a street that was very busy. There was noise from patrons leaving the local bar scene and honking horns. This finally subsided by 4am.

If you like a glitzy hotel, this may be the place for you. If you want a quite night of sleep, I would look elsewhere. For the price, I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Eta08,

We apologize that your stay with us was anything less than exceptional. You are right about the area - it can be quite busy with patrons, especially on the weekends. In the city that never sleeps, sometimes the Meatpacking District can get particularly rowdy at night and we apologize for your experience. We do have a hotel in New York City which is located in a slightly less noisy part of town on Park and 29th. Should you decide to give our Park Avenue hotel a chance to host you upon your return, please reach out to our Community Manager at digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com, and reference case #1-101 for a special social media rate. We will be sure to grant you a great night's sleep.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#85 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#52 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,340 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#253 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trump SoHo New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,300 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#146 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#103 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Amex, Booking.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.