We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible Night of Sleep” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Save Saved
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Get 10% off at Gansevoort
Ranked #186 of 452 hotels in New York City
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible Night of Sleep”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I stayed at the Gansevoort recently as it was conveniently located to my conference and dinner. The location is quite nice and the rooms are clean and well appointed.

I was very disasppointed in the overall experience. At 12 midnight, the alarm clock in the room went off. After multiple attempts to disable the alarm clock I finally unplugged it from the wall.

I was unable to go back to sleep because my 5th floor room faced a street that was very busy. There was noise from patrons leaving the local bar scene and honking horns. This finally subsided by 4am.

If you like a glitzy hotel, this may be the place for you. If you want a quite night of sleep, I would look elsewhere. For the price, I expect a lot more.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear Eta08,

We apologize that your stay with us was anything less than exceptional. You are right about the area - it can be quite busy with patrons, especially on the weekends. In the city that never sleeps, sometimes the Meatpacking District can get particularly rowdy at night and we apologize for your experience. We do have a hotel in New York City which is located in a slightly less noisy part of town on Park and 29th. Should you decide to give our Park Avenue hotel a chance to host you upon your return, please reach out to our Community Manager at digital@gansevoorthotelgroup.com, and reference case #1-101 for a special social media rate. We will be sure to grant you a great night's sleep.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,031 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    265
    115
    91
    67
See reviews for
112
332
57
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I booked a stay at the Hotel Gansevoort Meatpacking to celebrate my birthday with 3 girl friends. I chose to do the Night Owl package. I had originally just booked in two of us, but the other two ended up wanting to stay as well. I presented this scenario to the front desk when I checked, knowing the stay would probably cost more, however they were SUPER helpful and allowed all 4 of us to stay in a double room for the price of 2 adults.

Our package came with a free bottle of Patron and numerous little goodies to go with it. The staff from doormen, to bartenders, front desk, housekeeping, everyone was great. I do have to say that the hallways smelled pretty badly of smoke but our room was free of any odor and had a great view of the district. The bathrooms are large, shower is great and beds are awesome to sleep in.

For New York, and for Meatpacking, I think the price was pretty reasonable. The walkability to everything just can't be beat. New York will always be expensive but I enjoyed the Gansevoort and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Keep in mind the pool club and club within the hotel attract a sort of trashy NY crowd. It will be l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Sam A,

Thank you for your wonderful review. It seems like you and your girlfriends really took advantage of all the exciting things going on in our alluring neighborhood. We hope that you will continue to stay with us each time you return to New York City. For future reservations, questions or concerns please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. Hope to see you and the girls soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This hotel had the best service, best food, most updated and funky room, and best night life. We arrived early for a wholesale show at the Javitts center. The bell boys held on to our luggage and quickly hailed us a cab. Came back later to check in with a very courteous and sweet front desk manager. Our modern style room/suite had two bathrooms and a nice living room space with pullout couch. This worked out for 4 persons staying in the room. The price was cheaper that two separate rooms at other hotels and we were all able to stay together. The rooftop bar has an unbelievable view, great apps, and drinks. The wait staff was incredibly nice also. We walked outside in the morning to see a yoga class going on across the street. Plenty of restaurants, bars and stores all within walking distance. We were sad to leave this beautiful hotel, but happy to come visit again!!

Room Tip: Even though we had business at the Javitts center (taxi away)we were happy to be at the Gansevoort f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear Julie B,

We are elated to discover you enjoyed your stay with us. We renovated our hotel earlier this year and so far have been garnering a lot of positive feedback. Did you try our new restaurant, Toy? For future reservations, questions, or concerns please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We look forward to hosting you again soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

my sister booked a suite at the gansevoort for my bachelorette party this past saturday. we had a great time staying at this hotel mainly because of the location and because of the rooftop! it is on the high end of my price range so i would never be able to stay more than a night but that said i didn't see much of a wow factor for such a "high end" hotel. we called room service at some point to bring up extra glasses and they charged us....why??? it's not like it costs them any money...they didn't go out to buy the glasses. that was ridiculous. other than that, if you are looking for a fun, great neighborhood to stay in i would highly recommend

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear dchrysan,


We are delighted you chose the Gansevoort Meatpacking for your last night as a single girl in New York City. It's great that you took advantage of our location and striking rooftop views. Thank you for taking the time to write a review, and for bringing the additional charge for glasses to our attention. Although a special setup with glasses, ice, and a bucket incurs a fee within our hotel, perhaps this charge is something we should consider removing in the future. We have currently addressed the matter and are waiting to hear back. Should you decide to honeymoon in New York, or steal another night away with the girls, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. Thank you once again, and we hope to see you in the near future.

Sincerely,


@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel during New York Fashion Week and didn't regret it. First of all, it's in a very lively part of town with plenty of restaurants, cafes and boutiques. Catch and Pastis, two very popular eateries, we're right across from the hotel. The hotel is also just a few blocks from the piers if you want to go for a nice jog along the continuously regentrified Hudson Riverwalk. The hotel itself has a very modern, hip vibe. It's also home to a popular lounge, so if you don't want to be around a bunch of hipsters, this may not be the right hotel for you. The front desk staff and doormen were very hospitable, but the concierge staff seemed a bit annoyed when inconvenienced with tourist questions. Perhaps that's just an example of a couple of New Yorkers lacking warmth. Further, the cleaning crews knocked on our hotel door all morning trying to come in to clean, despite us giving them a more convenient time when they could come back. So much for sleeping in... Other than that and the rooms being a bit cramped, you won't be disappointed with this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear Iman160,


Thank you for choosing Gansevoort Meatpacking as your New York City host. We are elated that you were able to enjoy the cobblestoned streets of the Meatpacking District, as well as our newest above ground park, The Highline. Thank you for reviewing our hotel, as it will continue to help our team grow, in turn giving future guests like yourself a flawless stay. We hope you will come back to visit us in the near future. If you wish to take advantage of our social media rate, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@GansevoortHotelGroup.com.


Best,


@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

My wife and I stayed this weekend at Gansevoort to celebrate our youngest going off to college and us being empty-nesters. The location of the Hotel has its pluses and minuses. The good part is that the location is in a very vibrant area with plenty of restaurants and activity. We took a long walk on the high-line, and, browsed many galleries. Chelsea Market is also a plus.

However, because of the location, there is plenty of street noise late at night. Our room was on the 5th floor and both nights we were up at 5:00 am due to honking in front of the hotel, as well as the loud occupants next to, above and below our room. Obviously there's not much that the hotel could do for the noise, but we'll know better next time.

The staff (with the exception of the Bell staff and doormen) were a little pretentious and aloof. I guess that's part of the allure and coolness, so we're not that cool any more. The concierge acted like he was doing us a favor when we asked for a map of the local galleries.

We were excited to go to the "fitness center", but the 2 treadmills were broken, as well as one of the ellpticals. Looks like it's not a priority.

Overall I expected a little more for $450 a night. However, judging by how the Hotel was booked, there was no recession there.

Room Tip: Book a room in the back to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear WestTrav,


It must feel strange, yet liberating, to have an empty nest now that your youngest has gone off to college. Thank you for choosing Gansevoort Meatpacking to celebrate this pivotal moment in your lives. We are sorry the noise was out of hand during your stay. As you mentioned, the neighborhood is quite lively. Have you had a chance to check out our newest New York property on Park Avenue? Gansevoort Park has all of the amazing amenities our Meatpacking location obtains, except in a much quieter, low key neighborhood. Perhaps this hotel will be able to better accommodate you in the future. As for our fitness center, we are in the process of updating the facility, including, but not limited to, replacement cardio machines. We apologize that these changes were not made prior to your stay. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Should you decide to return to one of our properties in the future, please contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

staff at front desk was surprisingly friendly and helpful. I was expecting haughty and diffident.Rooms are decent-small, but functional. had enough room to do yoga. rooms were surprisingly quiet. Interesting location- streets at night are filled with chic fashionistas waiting behind velvet roped clubs to gain entry to drink $20 dollar martinis to deafening music.
chelsea market is terrific- who ever thought "made in brooklyn" would be a marketing plus!
negatives: the exercise room is dank and pitiful. 2 machines are broken. But i guess if the crowd here stays up to 4am, not alot of takers at 6 am. The guy overseeing the rooftop bar was a self important jerk. we had 12 people staying on property for 4 nights and needed to have a brief meeting on sat am upstairs. He cranked up the music when no one else was there. whatever.

Room Tip: in the back off of the main street mid floor levels to avoid pulsating music in lobby or roof top l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear prs174,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our Meatpacking property. As always, it is helpful to hear both the pros and cons of staying with us. We are working hard to pursue a perfect standard of excellence in our guests' interactions with the staff and will address the issues you had with our team members. Additionally, we are currently in the process of updating some of our fitness machinery and improving the overall appearance of our gym. While there is no excuse for the behavior of our bar staff, we are diligently working with our team to improve our standards. In the meantime, have you stayed at our Park Avenue Hotel? Park Avenue also has ample room for meetings, including three levels of rooftop space, which would have the ability to accommodate you as well.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for reservations, questions or concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#125 Business Hotel in New York City
#199 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#238 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Amex, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.