We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trendy, chic property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Gift That Gives More
Ranked #179 of 459 Hotels in New York City
iowa
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“trendy, chic property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

staff at front desk was surprisingly friendly and helpful. I was expecting haughty and diffident.Rooms are decent-small, but functional. had enough room to do yoga. rooms were surprisingly quiet. Interesting location- streets at night are filled with chic fashionistas waiting behind velvet roped clubs to gain entry to drink $20 dollar martinis to deafening music.
chelsea market is terrific- who ever thought "made in brooklyn" would be a marketing plus!
negatives: the exercise room is dank and pitiful. 2 machines are broken. But i guess if the crowd here stays up to 4am, not alot of takers at 6 am. The guy overseeing the rooftop bar was a self important jerk. we had 12 people staying on property for 4 nights and needed to have a brief meeting on sat am upstairs. He cranked up the music when no one else was there. whatever.

Room Tip: in the back off of the main street mid floor levels to avoid pulsating music in lobby or roof top l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear prs174,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your time at our Meatpacking property. As always, it is helpful to hear both the pros and cons of staying with us. We are working hard to pursue a perfect standard of excellence in our guests' interactions with the staff and will address the issues you had with our team members. Additionally, we are currently in the process of updating some of our fitness machinery and improving the overall appearance of our gym. While there is no excuse for the behavior of our bar staff, we are diligently working with our team to improve our standards. In the meantime, have you stayed at our Park Avenue Hotel? Park Avenue also has ample room for meetings, including three levels of rooftop space, which would have the ability to accommodate you as well.

Please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for reservations, questions or concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to host you again soon.

Sincerely,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    541
    285
    123
    95
    68
See reviews for
122
360
60
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I've been staying at the Hotel Gansevoort for work since it first opened. I haven't been back in a couple of years though and was expecting the worst--worn rooms and an aging hotel trying to be hip. I found just the opposite: a helpful and friendly staff, spotless & very quiet rooms with updates, and a super comfy bed. The location can't be beat. The neighborhood and rooftop bar are always a scene; even on a rainy night last night, there was an episode of HBO's "Girls" being filmed outside, but once I was inside my room, it was very peaceful and I had a wonderful view uptown from the 10th floor. Expensive, yes, and the rooms are not big (even an upgraded room) but I think it's still a very fair value for NYC.

Room Tip: If you are lucky enough to get a room with two double beds, you will have lots of room. I had a corn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear sdbBoston_MA,

It is always nice to find a hotel that offers a bed almost as comfortable as your own. We are flattered to hear you truly enjoyed the recent renovations our Meatpacking location has undergone. It is Gansevoort’s goal to continuously improve its properties. We hope you will continue to stay with us in the future so that we can maintain the element of surprise each time you arrive to the Meatpacking District.

For future reservations, please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We hope it will be less than a couple of years before we see you again!

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington Township, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel was a great change of pace. Away from the touristy parts of mid-town. The area around the hotel has a lot to offer, The High Line, Chelsea Market, shopping, great restaurants. It had a much more relaxed feeling during the day. At night, things changed...The hotel has a bar/lounge on the roof. It's one of "the places to be". At night there is a line down the block to get into the hotel. We had to keep showing our room key to get into the hotel. It got annoying that as a guest, we had to wait in the lobby, for a while, with all the bar patrons to get in an elevator. The hotel should have at least one elevator dedicated to hotel guests only. Hotel staff were average, they didn't go above and beyond. The room was clean and a decent size. Very odd shower set up, the water drains in the center of the bathroom so if someone is at the sink while someone is in the shower they are standing in shower water. Overall, I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear PTV,

It sounds like you really took advantage of our amazing location, and enjoyed the Meatpacking District. We are happy you chose us to be your host for the duration of your stay in New York City. Thank you for your constructive feedback, as it will assist our team in making continuous improvements. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers more of a nightlife aspect than our Park Avenue location. Perhaps Gansevoort Park Avenue will be able to better accommodate you in the future, as personal preference often comes into play.

If you decide you would like to try our Park Avenue location, please feel free to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have to say, I have been married for over 10 years, and we've done the "one night in the NYC hotel experience" thing to mixed results. Be it a small room, crappy decor, or just bad service, our results have been mixed. With the Gansevoort, our experience was nothing short of outstanding. I didn't want to be kitchy and say "Oh, it's our honeymoon" and scream tourist, yet they still rolled out the red carpet for us. The room, by NYC standards was huge, west facing and on a high floor without my request, though the hotel did seem full. It was nice looking down at the SoHo house! We really enjoyed the rooftop pool and the "guests only" area by the pool was a nice oasis to the bar which could get a little elbow-y. The concierge was uber helpful in getting setting up our evening. Would definitely return.

Room Tip: Ask for a west facing room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

This was my first experience at this hotel and location in NYC. The location can't be better. Close to the High Line, great restaurants, shopping, Chelsea Market, and nightlife. Rooms are nicely decorated. Weird shower (the water goes into the vanity and toilet area as the floor of the shower is almost level with the rest of the bathroom). Problem with loud guests but hotel took care of it quickly. Small rooftop pool with very limited seating. What bothered me the most was at night. As a guest, paying top dollar, I had to wait to go up to my room while the nonguests who want to go to the rooftop got preference to go up in an elevator before me and my guest. They should either have them wait or designate a separate elevator for guests and for nonguests. When you are paying over 500 bucks a night, I don't want to wait for anything.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Desilu,


Isn’t the Meatpacking District absolutely charming? We are happy to be your choice and thank you for providing us with some important feedback, as there is always more room for improvement. Although the Meatpacking District has its appeal, the nightlife aspect often creates a lot of noise and commotion in the area. Have you looked into our Park Avenue location as a future New York City host? It offers all the wonderful amenities our Meatpacking location offers with a slightly quieter approach. We hope you will consider one of our hotels during your next visit to NewYork City, and look forward to hosting you again soon.

In the future, please reach out to our Community Manager at Anna@gansevoorthotelgroup.com for any reservations or special requests.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for a bachelorette weekend and was really expecting a lot more than we got. The decor is really cool and the rooms are nice enough, but nothing really out of the ordinary especially for NYC. They lost our reservations even though we called to confirm four hours before we checked in. Nthe front desk manager was really nice, but we had to downgrade from a suite to one room with a king bed. That's a little tight for six women. They did refund the difference between the room costs, but only to exactly what it would have cost had we meant to book a single room. The rooftop bar staff was rude to our bachelorette and took very little interest in our group even though we tipped well and ordered a lot of drinks. To make it even worse, a dog barked literally non stop from three am til six. When we called the front desk, the guy who answered actually said and what do you expect me to do about it? With all the choices in NYC and for the price of these rooms, I'd stay somewhere else.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear casimpson86,


We apologize that your experience at our hotel was not up to the standards we strive to maintain. We have taken steps with our bar staff and reservations department to improve customer satisfaction. We appreciate all the feedback you have taken the time to share with us, as it is an important for our further development. In the future, we encourage you to contact our Community Manager at Digital@hotelgansevoort.com for any reservations, comments, or concerns. We hope to have the opportunity to prove our continuous pursuit of perfection in hospitality in the near future.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

We checked into the Gansevoort for a one night get away. We mentioned to the lovely manager who checked us in (and got us an excellent room with a river view) that it was our 20th anniversary, and when we returned from dinner that evening there was a bottle of champagne waiting for us. The same manager gave us vouchers for cocktails at the bar next time we visited because we had to wait 15 minutes for our car when we checked out. I don't remember the last time I experienced such attentive customer service, and that was the same with every staff member we encountered. We loved the rooftop bar--our cocktails were delicious. The pool was lovely, though we wished there had been room for a few more chaise lounges when we showed up at 4 in the afternoon. The room was comfortable and stylish, and the neighborhood is really fun. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotel_Gansevoort, Social Media Manager at Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Nancy E,

It was an absolute pleasure reading your review. We are delighted to hear that your 20th Anniversary was a wonderful celebration, and that our staff was able to make your experience a memorable one. We hope you will return for your 21st Anniversary and many more. Please do not hesitate to contact our Community Manager at Anna@gansevoorthotelgroup.com for any future requests or reservations at any of our locations. Thank you for staying with us.

Best,

@HotelGansevoort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , West Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Spa Hotel in New York City
#99 Business Hotel in New York City
#110 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#211 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 4.5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.