We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC to your Saves list
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort) (West Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #185 of 468 Hotels in New York City
London, England
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2008

Our fifth (maybe sixth?) stay in this great hotel. This time we stayed in a suite for a couple of weeks.

As always - helpful and friendly staff, the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in, good gym, unbelievable pool on the roof, ever-changing views over the Hudson river . . .

Easy to get around - one quick trip to 53rd St and 5th Ave, to Columbus Circle, to Central Park etc - via the nearby subway station, and there's a never-ending supply of cabs.

The location is great for excellent shops and pleasant streets for strolling. Taking advantage of the low dollar, we both got new prescription eye-glasses at the nearby Artsee opticians, recommended by the hotel's concierge. A host of restaurants and cafes are within a couple of minutes walk.

We're already planning - and looking forward to - our next visit in May.

  • Liked — great staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    626
    343
    138
    103
    74
See reviews for
147
418
68
240
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cambridge
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2008

My wife and I stayed here in August of last year. I too had read the reviews that complained of the levels of service, the poor response of front desk staff and so on, but the positives appeared to outweigh the negatives and so we called the hotel and booked ourselves in. My wife and I have trevelled a lot around the world and are pretty picky. But at this hotel, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left the levels of service and customer care we received were absolutely first class. Staff were everything you hope for when you arrive tired and lagged after a long journey. We were offered a number of dfferent rooms until we had exactly what we wanted, a view of the Hudson and a little balcony. This lovely welcoming, 'how can we please?' attitude set the scene for a lovely stay. At check-out I commented to the staff that I could not understand all the negative comments on this site and offered to submit a review upon my return. I said I would call it 'What is wrong with these prople'. Unfortunately I am not quite as efficeient as the staff at the Gansevoort and it has taken me 5 months to get round to it. But here it is and I remain as incredulous as ever. What is wrong with these people who complain about the Gansevoort? This place is fantastic and I cannot recommend it highly enough. Finally, if you are the moaning type, I would suggest that you give these wonderful guys a break and go somewhere else.
Prof Lester Lloyd-Reason, Cambridge, UK,

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

What differs between a good hotel and an extraordinary hotel usually can be defined by the quality of service and the attention and devotion of the staff to carry out their jobs with pride and satisfaction to the service provided to the guest. Five star service is an art learnt through years of training and dedication, yet it cannot succeed without a person directing and maintaining the high standards required in this very competitive market. In the Gansevoort the man who has lead the team and set the standards of 100% customer care Patrik Horstmann is a man of extraordinary dedication to the care of his customers. I had dealings with the hotel with which was really a small administrative error but it came to the attention of Patrik, he demonstrated qualities that cannot be learnt in a hotel college, but a natural flair for excellence and more than made up for the small erro! r and made me a very generous gesture which really want necessary but as he said to me ''I love to make people happy, that is what it is all about' and he did. Surely one of the leading hoteliers in New York City and on Par with the greats Like Christopher Norton of the Georges V in Paris. The Gansevoort under his direction can only get better.Pat Murphy Amsterdam Netherlands

  • Liked — A hotel that sparkles with personality
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
galway
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2008

The location is great, in the heart of the meat packing with a good choice of restaurants/shops on the doorstep. The staff were very courteous and professional and front desk upgraded our room. Rooms are not big but they have everything in them and were cleaned twice a day - immaculate. We stayed three nights, and on the last night, a Saturday there was a lot of street noise from revellers. The bar on the top floor is worth a visit with fine views over the skyline, mind you the music is stuck in some repetitive nineties Ibiza time warp. I guess the only area where I felt the hotel let it self down was the small little charges for everything - I thought it was out of character with the hotel and that the hotel should be more mature - felt like paying for your drink in business class. Outside you have Chelsea market, with lots of little bakeries etc which is great for breakfast, Spice Market excellent for evening food and you can stroll down to the Village. Overall very professional and an excellent stay.

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Great hotel for adults. It is right in the middle of it all in soho, great restaurants around, night life, etc.

The rooms are great, not over the top 5 star, but great. The night life in the hotel is excellent, the roof top bar plunge, and the roof top pool is great, we stayed 4th of July weekend, fantastic!

The concierge is very good, which is typical of better NYC hotels, even so, he is above average even amongst good company.

A great place to stay all in all. Would go back in a heartbeat.

Only downside, but this is typical in NYC, if you are bringing a car, it is $40 every time you bring it in! So no in/out privileges.

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

We enjoy the location and the soft music that play through the hotel. The colors scheme of the hotel and room was very relaxing. Bathroom while modern with earth tone was small and to add a insult most items in the bathroom were price to sell like you had not pay enough already. I really like my stay but would have love if it were for half the price. Oh the staff not sure I meet any but one who as I enter late that night ask if I was staying there and with my actknowledgment let me pass without any effort to check me out. Very safe I thought. Not exactly on my list of places to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

Would highly recommend this hotel. Very trendy, upscale boutique style NY hotel. Rooms are small, but very nice. You feel ultra modern and chic when you stay here. Great shower and stereo system was a plus. Staff were helpful, never rude but not especially friendly. Room service and maintenance were prompt. Comfortable bed. We were told our room was an upgrade due the view, which may have been nice had there not been a big crane hanging over the water. But still worth getting room with a view, it's fun to look down at the busy cobbled street below.

Great location for all of down town, especially meat packing district. A few nice bars close by and some fabulous restaurants. The Gansevoort's own roof top bar has people lining up to get in, many nights of the week. Bar has great views, nice for a cocktail or two, full of NY's young professionals and IT girls. Great people watching. Good luck getting into the pool up there though, everytime we went up it seemed to be closed for a photo shoot of some kind. (LeeAnn Rhimes was shooting one when we tried to get in one day, was cool to see her though)

Stay here if you want to feel very New York, you will have a great stay.

  • Liked — roof top bar and room decor
  • Disliked — that people visiting the bar used same elevator and could get off at any floor they choose
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Manhattan
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
Gansevoort Park Avenue NYC
#85 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 1,554 reviews
Chelsea
Dream Downtown
Dream Downtown
#52 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,347 reviews
West Village
The Standard, High Line
The Standard, High Line
#253 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Trump SoHo New York
#98 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 2,303 reviews
SoHo
The James New York
The James New York
#146 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 996 reviews
Chelsea
The Maritime Hotel
The Maritime Hotel
#103 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC

Address: 18 9th Avenue, at 13th Street, New York City, NY 10014 (Formerly Hotel Gansevoort)
Location: United States > New York > New York City > West Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#98 Business Hotel in New York City
#126 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#186 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#202 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC Hotel, with breathtaking 360 degree panoramic views of New York City and sunsets over the Hudson River, is the first and only luxury, full service resort in Manhattan’s vibrant Meatpacking District. Gansevoort Meatpacking offers a chic retreat from the urban metropolis that redefines the world of luxury accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, TravelClick, Amex, Booking.com, Odigeo, Splendia, Otel, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gansevoort Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gansevoort Meatpacking NYC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.