We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad vibe” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #357 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Casablanca, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Bad vibe”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We had a small suite. It was a tired, dated layout though the kitchen was quite well setup. The bathroom had mould up the tiling and in the silicon edging and was of a functionally poor design. A laundry downstairs, near the fitness room, was excellent. The hotel I believe is in the process of a slow renovation so you might be lucky in getting a better room. The reception staff were not great- everything was a little too hard for them and no one seemed to happy to be there. Midtown( East Side) NYC sounded good, but in terms of location we also found it a bit of a distance from most things. It did have a very good view of the top of The Chrysler building!! There are much better and cheaper places to stay in NYC.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    175
    108
    56
    50
See reviews for
129
157
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Staff was not responsive to requests. Towels skimpy, amenities looked partially used, bath sink and toilet had crack lines and chipped. Refrigerator did not work. When maintenance brought a replacement, the broken one was left in the room, diminishing the already inadequate space. The replacement refrigerator was very dirty, and was not cleaned during our stay. Wake-up call came at wrong time. How could they mess that up? Location is okay -- a couple of blocks from Grand Central. Supposedly, they are renovating their rooms. It would take a massive renovation to get us to stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, Maryland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great spot to be close but jo so close to the city. Short walk to central park and time square. Also close to the subway. All the staff were very helpful. Suite itself was very modern and nice space even for NYC. Hope to be back again soon.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The rooms are large, but dated. The furniture is scratched. The front desk was notified twice that the toilet didn't flush and promised someone would be up to fix it, as well as two broken lights. When we checked out the next day, nothing had been fixed. Yuck! The internet never worked. Also, they charged us twice- once through hotels.com and again when we checked out. Additionally, they charged a $155.95 deposit for incidentals, but they don't provide incidentals and they did not notify us they would be doing that. They website says there is a $45 deposit. When asked about the $155.95 charge, they said they charge $150 deposit. They never could explain the additional $5.95. DO NOT use the fitness room- there is an exorbitant charge for that. The coffee in the lobby was non-existent, just decaf. Also, no cream. For the amount they charge, it ids not worth it.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family attempted to check in the hotel and were told our room wasn't ready. We left our phone number and our luggage and decided to venture out into the city. We returned over 6 hours later and our luggage had not been stored, but left out in the open. I was mortified!!! We were the pit into rooms below the level we reserved. Our reservation was for a deluxe, no smoking, King. We were given very small queen rooms. We proceeded downstairs to the lobby where we were met with staff who proceeded to discipline and advise us on the way we reserved our rooms instead of accommodating us. Finally, after over an hour of standing at the check in desk, one of us in the party was provided another room while the other was left without the correct accommodations. We proceeded to our room to discover that someone had smoked in the room, burnt holes in the furniture, and that staff had not cleaned the room well. We also lacked a refrigerator, that was in all the other rooms. The carpet was dirty and the television didn't work. I called down to the front desk where the manager on duty was rude, told me he had been in the room several times earlier, and that he didn't smell smoke. He told me to take it up with the manager Derrick tomorrow, but he would charge me for the room tonight even though we had been in the room less than 5 minutes. I asked him to have someone at least come clean the room. He told me he had no one on duty. When I attempted to explain to him that me and my fiancé have allergies to smoke so we know when there has been smoking around us he hung up on me.

I am appalled, hurt, and feel trapped in a place where I've paid a lot of money to stay. This was a very important trip to my family and it is ruined. I have stayed at two and three star hotels where the service and stay has been outstanding. I can't believe that Wyndham would allow their name on a hotel where the staff, accommodations, cleanliness, and service was far below the grade and jeopardized the Wyndham brand.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Stayed 3 days. Room was very average. Location was good. Waling distance to grand central. Beer house across the street was a lot of fun. House keeping forgot to clean our room one day. Staff was accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

What a fantastic location for a tourist trip to the big apple. You can see the the Chrysler building from your room and its a stones throw from Grand Central Station. 5th Avenue and Times Square are a nice walk from here as is the empire state! No one goes to a city like this to hang about in a hotel. Its for sleeping and changing and its good enough for that. The rooms are vast compared to what you get in Rome or London and theres a tv in the bathroom! Therooms are dated and a lot of the furniture needs replaced or repaired but who cares when the location is so good.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Wyndham, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Otel, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.