We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff lies” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #355 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The staff lies”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The rooms are large, but dated. The furniture is scratched. The front desk was notified twice that the toilet didn't flush and promised someone would be up to fix it, as well as two broken lights. When we checked out the next day, nothing had been fixed. Yuck! The internet never worked. Also, they charged us twice- once through hotels.com and again when we checked out. Additionally, they charged a $155.95 deposit for incidentals, but they don't provide incidentals and they did not notify us they would be doing that. They website says there is a $45 deposit. When asked about the $155.95 charge, they said they charge $150 deposit. They never could explain the additional $5.95. DO NOT use the fitness room- there is an exorbitant charge for that. The coffee in the lobby was non-existent, just decaf. Also, no cream. For the amount they charge, it ids not worth it.

Room Tip: Don't stay here
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    174
    108
    54
    50
See reviews for
128
154
14
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Our family attempted to check in the hotel and were told our room wasn't ready. We left our phone number and our luggage and decided to venture out into the city. We returned over 6 hours later and our luggage had not been stored, but left out in the open. I was mortified!!! We were the pit into rooms below the level we reserved. Our reservation was for a deluxe, no smoking, King. We were given very small queen rooms. We proceeded downstairs to the lobby where we were met with staff who proceeded to discipline and advise us on the way we reserved our rooms instead of accommodating us. Finally, after over an hour of standing at the check in desk, one of us in the party was provided another room while the other was left without the correct accommodations. We proceeded to our room to discover that someone had smoked in the room, burnt holes in the furniture, and that staff had not cleaned the room well. We also lacked a refrigerator, that was in all the other rooms. The carpet was dirty and the television didn't work. I called down to the front desk where the manager on duty was rude, told me he had been in the room several times earlier, and that he didn't smell smoke. He told me to take it up with the manager Derrick tomorrow, but he would charge me for the room tonight even though we had been in the room less than 5 minutes. I asked him to have someone at least come clean the room. He told me he had no one on duty. When I attempted to explain to him that me and my fiancé have allergies to smoke so we know when there has been smoking around us he hung up on me.

I am appalled, hurt, and feel trapped in a place where I've paid a lot of money to stay. This was a very important trip to my family and it is ruined. I have stayed at two and three star hotels where the service and stay has been outstanding. I can't believe that Wyndham would allow their name on a hotel where the staff, accommodations, cleanliness, and service was far below the grade and jeopardized the Wyndham brand.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed 3 days. Room was very average. Location was good. Waling distance to grand central. Beer house across the street was a lot of fun. House keeping forgot to clean our room one day. Staff was accomodating.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

What a fantastic location for a tourist trip to the big apple. You can see the the Chrysler building from your room and its a stones throw from Grand Central Station. 5th Avenue and Times Square are a nice walk from here as is the empire state! No one goes to a city like this to hang about in a hotel. Its for sleeping and changing and its good enough for that. The rooms are vast compared to what you get in Rome or London and theres a tv in the bathroom! Therooms are dated and a lot of the furniture needs replaced or repaired but who cares when the location is so good.

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We have recently returned from a trip from California to NYC and Jersey. The start of the trip was in NYC. We stayed at the Wyndham Midtown. NYC is all about location and it was great. Walking is easy.

Room Tip: Lots of restaurants close by. See NYC either by walking or subways. No need for taking taxis. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 5 days ago
Dear Carlg317:

Thank you for your review and the five stars. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and our location. We hope to see you again soon.

Warm Regards,

John Lewis
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I booked a double room through orbitz for about $300 for one night. The room was dated but very comfortable and a decent size for new york. There is a rooftop lounge on the 33rd floor you can visit which is just a cool place to hang out, it has a balcony with lots of seating and an inside sitting area and kitchen. The staff was friendly and although it's a wyndham resort no one harassed me into trying to buy a timeshare.
Also the staff is great about arriving early. They allow you to leave your luggage there if you arrive before your check in time and parking is easy. I would stay here again.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear mrsblizz:

Thank you for your feedback on Trip Advisor. We are pleased that you found our 33rd Floor Lounge a cool place to hang out. We appreciate this feedback and we look forward to having you stay with us again in the future.

Warm Regards,

John Lewis
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found the room clean and we had a small kitchen with a fridge and dishwasher. We were very
happy with our room and the staff was helpful. The bed was a king. The bathroom was beautiful.
It was bigger than the rooms we had in London and Paris.

Room Tip: 14th floor was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear David G H:

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. I am delighted you found our hotel to your liking and our staff helpful. Our staff will be happy to know they had such a positive impact on your stay. We look forward to having back with us in the near future.

Warm Regards,

John Lewis
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#184 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Amex, Wyndham, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.