We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #346 of 461 Hotels in New York City
Rochester, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Weekend trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed here as a guest of an owner. Very clean, very nice. Had a 1 bed room which was spacious. Didn't use the kitchen we were only there for 2 nights, but would have been nice if we were staying longer. Lobby very small, said that they were expanding it. Top floor had a nice room/terrace, would have been nice if they had a bar up there. Good location, close to the subway. Not a residential area so not too many places near by but worked out well. Good deli right down the street. Free wifi was great.

Room Tip: Our room had a view of just a wall, but maybe higher up it would have been nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    168
    103
    52
    42
See reviews for
121
141
14
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwalk, Connecticut
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Positives- not many. Hotel is clearly pocketing every penny and not putting anything back into it. Location is good because it is steps away from Grand Central so you can arrive and immediately drop off your luggage. But, poor value and you can get something better at the same or lower rate. It was clean and the beds were comfortable. Doormen were very professional. We saw several doormen and they were great except one that was working at 8:15pm on March 28th that told us that we could get our own cab and he could do it but he would have to stand out in the cold for a while. All the furniture in the room was falling apart. The three cubby-like armoires clearly were falling apart so they simply took off the doors. Curtains were ripped down and could have easily been fixed but they didn't bother. The girls at the concierge desk were dressed inappropriately and clearly not trained on how to approach guests. In fact, nobody seemed trained except the doormen (minus that one doorman) and the cleaning staff. When calling to confirm our reservation at 8:49pm on Mar 27th, the woman hung up without saying goodbye and I was in mid-sentence asking about arrival times. The rest of the trip was great! Go see An American in Paris on Broadway!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

As long as you're not spending any time at the hotel, it's a great home base. Our 1 bedroom renovated deluxe suite was below average (not enough towels, hard lumpy mattress, no hotel/area info. booklet in the room, stains on carpets); we were constantly having to call down for things like toilet paper, coffee filters, etc. Everything was poorly stocked and it took forever to get items from housekeeping. The final straw was when a hotel employee called our room a little after 8:00 a.m. to try to get us to attend some Sales Pitch breakfast. She woke up my husband and me and refused to stop pushing this breakfast, even after I told her she had woken us up, that I was half asleep, and that we weren't interested - I literally had to hang up on her because she didn't seem to care nor was she listening to what I was telling her (I plan on contacting Wyndham corporate to report her unseemly tactics). My best advice if you stay here: bring your own supplies and unplug the room phone as soon as you check-in, and don't expect any level of hospitality. The valets/bell hops were the only nice employees.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

Okay, so you won't have your breath taken away by the lobby - it's very small! Well, more like any entry way, but the room was clean, well taken car of, and spacious by Zmanhattan standards - enough room for my yoga mat! Great location - close to everything.

Stayed December 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here to attend the St. Patrick's day parade in NYC. We had a large renovated studio overlooking 45th street. We are Wyndham owners, so we knew to expect the timeshare presentation. The unit was very clean and well-laid out. The staff was friendly and helpful with our various questions. It is nice having the kitchen for sodas, making drinks and breakfast. It is going through renovation, so there is noise during the day, but we were out and about, so it did not disturb us. Location was great for our needs, can walk to Grand Central, subway, midtown area attractions. Nice Irish pub next door that has decent food, deli across the street for breakfast. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: higher rooms would mean less street noise. Corner rooms have more windows,
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Erinpyr:

On behalf of Midtown 45, we appreciate your loyalty to Wyndham and your review. It is great to know you enjoyed your room and our location made it easy to explore Manhattan. I will be sure to share your comments with our staff. They will be very happy to hear this positive feedback. We look forward to your return in the future.

Warm Regards,

John Lewis
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This used to be the Hotel Alex which was lovely and stylish. The Wyndham took over and made the lobby a little cheap looking with the bright blue logo rugs ect. I think the service was better when it was Hotel Alex. This is a great location and there is a rooftop lounge area. We never ate at the hotel. The drinks were good. If you can get it a good deal its worth staying for the location and the mini kitchen. I feel like they need to do some updates as it felt a little dingy but still nice.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Travchargia:

Thank you for sharing your experience on your recent stay. We appreciate all of the feedback we receive, as it helps us to improve as a brand. We are always looking for new ways to enhance our service. Thank you again and we do hope you will visit us again.

Warm Regards,

John Lewis
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This building is slowly ceasing to be a hotel and will reappear as essentially a timeshare. I cannot comment on the refurbished rooms since they were not available for the hotel guests. I am sure that if you are a timeshare person then some of the other reviews may be more appropriate. However if you are a hotel guest and unable to guarantee a refurbished room I suggest you stay somewhere else. Imagine a hotel room where anything that can be removed is removed including glasses in the bathroom. Then get a drunken party to rip the doors off the furniture and make stains on the carpet and the remaining furniture. Finally make sure that the wallpaper is peeling....

The heat in the room could not be regulated. We struggled to get the room cleaned. Continual requests for action were either ignored or failed to make much difference.

The place is being refurbished and there are no food facilities of any type available. I am sure as a timeshare in the refurbished rooms it is fine - but as a hotel it is not acceptable.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a refurbished room or book somewhere lese.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear London_Flyer:

We appreciate the opportunity to hear about your experience at our hotel. However, we are disappointed to see that you did not have a satisfactory stay. As you have stated we are in the middle of a renovation for our time share rooms, but please know, we try our best to give every one of our rooms the same standard Wyndham attention. It doesn’t make a difference whether it is a timeshare room or a hotel room. I will be making our staff aware of the issues you mentioned and we will be rectifying them as soon as possible. We ask that you accept our apologies and do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back.

Warm Regards,

John J. Lewis
Resort Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#172 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues, The Wyndham Midtown 45was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.