We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly special place in an absolutely captivating city...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan Ahead & Save 15%
Ranked #345 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Boalsburg, PA
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
“A truly special place in an absolutely captivating city...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My aunt has been a super-duper VIP member of Wyndham Vacation Resorts for many years, so we've stayed at Wyndham resorts in Atlantic City, the Poconos, Alexandria, National Harbor, Williamsburg, and elsewhere in recent years. One of our longstanding critiques of the organization has been their absence from major metropolitan areas, where younger travelers like to visit instead of the more traditional resort locations in the mountains or in smaller, suburban communities. When we saw that Wyndham had recently acquired a property in midtown Manhattan, my wife and I were thrilled and took a recent opportunity to spend a few nights to check out this new location.

And even with a host of previously positive experiences with Wyndham, our experience far exceeded my already high expectations. We stayed three nights in a one-bedroom presidential suite, which was in the renovated portion of the hotel. It was a 5-10 minute walk from Grand Central Terminal, where we arrived on the subway from our bus terminal arrival near Penn Station. And the location of the Wyndham Midtown 45 was similarly convenient for virtually everything else we wanted to do. It was a 5-10 minute walk to the Chrysler Building, the New York City Public Library, and the United Nations headquarters. We were able to take one easy subway ride from Grand Central Terminal downtown to the financial district (which includes the 9/11 Memorial, Wall Street, the Staten Island Ferry, Trinity Church, etc.). It was another even shorter subway ride from Grand Central Terminal to Times Square, from where we could walk to everything we wanted to see in midtown Manhattan. And when we wanted to save $5 and see more of NYC, we hoofed it back from Times Square and the Rockefeller Center on different days, which was probably a 20-25 minute walk, but felt completely safe and totally manageable, even for my 7-month pregnant wife.

But it's not only the location that made this place such a stellar accommodation for us. The unit itself was fabulous, incredibly spacious by Manhattan standards. Our one-bedroom presidential suite included a long entryway, a full kitchen, a nice bathroom, a roomy bedroom, and a comfortable living area. There were TVs in the living area, bedroom, and even the bathroom. The kitchen included a full fridge, a microwave that also had an oven function (I'd never even heard of that before), a stove-top with several burners, and plenty of plates, cups, and pans to allow us to cook any meal that we would have wanted, had we been more culinarily motivated. The king bed was comfortable. The entire unit was spotlessly clean and very well-appointed, if admittedly a bit modern and funky.

The staff at the front desk was courteous and knowledgeable, able to answer whatever questions we had. The elevators were always quick to our 17th floor room. The Comfort Diner across the street was fabulous and offered a discount for Wyndham guests. The Amish Market just down the street allowed us to purchase the few groceries that we wanted and would have been great if we had wanted to cook full meals in our unit. The 99 Cent Pizza joint around the corner offered tasty and cheap meals when our return to the Wyndham didn't align with a sit-down meal. We appreciated the free wifi (though sluggish at times), free USA Today newspaper, and even the tasty mints at the front desk. And we were very grateful to be able to store our luggage at the Wyndham for most of an entire day, since we checked out at 10am but didn't leave town until 11pm that evening.

Sure, I can always quibble about a few things. We commented several times that the entryway into our unit was just screaming for a little bench on which we could sit to tie shoes, since there was plenty of room. We were perplexed that there was not only no ice maker or even ice trays with which to make ice cubes, but also no ice machine in the hallways. I would have even appreciated a plastic pitcher in which we could have chilled some water in the fridge. And the check-in area is a bit congested right now, an issue which I suspect might be fixed after the renovations are completed. But all of these complaints are minor and relatively insignificant.

As you can tell, we loved our stay. I'm thrilled that Wyndham has opened this Manhattan location, and I hope it's a permanent fixture in the Wyndham portfolio. They've done great things with the place already, and I think it'll be truly spectacular once the renovations are finished. The proximity of the place to so much of New York is absolutely marvelous. I would come back here in a heartbeat, and I am happy to recommend it to anyone looking for comfortable accommodations, outside the madness of Times Square, but right in the heart of midtown Manhattan and all that great city has to offer. The Wyndham Midtown 45 has my highest recommendation...

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 2 weeks ago
Dear Clo110

Thank you for your very detailed stellar review. We pride ourselves on providing excellent customer service to all of our guests. However, it seems that we still have some work to do. Our apologies that you were not informed that the refrigerator in your room does make ice for our guest convenience and was missing an ice scooper. We will make sure this will be communicated to our entire staff and guest in the future. Thank you again. We are very grateful that you chose to stay with us.

Warm Regards,

John J Lewis
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    165
    99
    51
    39
See reviews for
117
138
14
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2015

The hotel upgrade my booking room to suit to let me to feel great manhatten, and thanks for the hotel upgrade my booking.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Liao H.

Thank you for your response. It was our pleasure to be able to honor your request. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Warm Regards,

John J Lewis
Resort General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2015

The staff are very friendly and location is easy, taxi drivers all know it. It's undergoing renovation so there's no breakfast, although John's Diner is round the corner and excellent. The rooms are worn, there are facilities, but there was no bottled water or glasses in my room (which was annoying to find out late at night!). There are other competitive options nearby.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JJLewis14, Resort General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, January 20, 2015
Dear Kath O,

We appreciate the time you have taken to review your stay. It is great to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and our location convenient. We have made a note of your feedback. Regrettably, we no longer put bottled water in our rooms. However, as part of our renovation, our rooms have a fully-equipped, ultramodern poggenpohl kitchen with gourmet cookware. Your comments have been valuable to us, and we hope you will keep us in mind if you plan on returning to New York City.

Warm Regards,

John J Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan's Upper Peninsula
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2015

Not knowing what to expect at all we were very surprised and happy with our room. The location was great. Our renovated room was nice and clean and comfortable. The kitchen was a great plus although we weren't there long enough to use it. Now that we've been there and know it was so nice with a kitchen... we would recommend this hotel and we would stay here again for sure. The view from our room was very nice. The walk to Times Square & Central Park was not too far at all.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shennell R, Executive Office at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, January 16, 2015
Dear Dcmal:

Thank you for your feedback and taking a chance on us. It is so wonderful to know that you were very surprised and happy with your room. Our team at Wyndham Midtown 45 likes to hear how we have surpassed our guest expectations. It is comments like yours that provides reassurance that we are going in the right direction. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Thank You
Shennell Robinson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

Stood here four nights and loved the location. The place is in total reno from facility to staff. I would recommend a stay starting in Fall 2016 if you really want to have an above average stay. Still a young hotel, not a luxurious stay. Loved the Diamond Distrcit though. My room was getting renovated the day I was checking out. The staff is confused but the management is very giving and apologetic. I will return after some time though, this location needs a few years to catch up to Wyndham standards.
The rooftop location was exceptionally pleasant

Room Tip: Ask for a view - we didnt have one
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shennell R, Executive Office at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, January 13, 2015
Thank you for taking time out of your day to comment about your stay. Please accept our apologies for the unpleasant smells and the lack of knowledge displayed by some of our staff. As you have stated we are in the process of a major renovation and are extremely excited about our transformation. I also would like to thank you for already deciding to come back to see our finished product. Our renovation should be completed by April 1, 2015.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#170 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues, The Wyndham Midtown 45was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.