We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wyndham Time Share and Hotel in Midtown!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #344 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Hendersonville
Top Contributor
208 reviews 208 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A Wyndham Time Share and Hotel in Midtown!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

My husband and I were thrilled to be able to say here on the hotel side in May and on the Wyndham Vacation Owner side in September. Our studio was small but larger and more well appointed than hotel rooms. Excellent use of space with a great little kitchen! The proximity to Grand Central Station is wonderful. Lots of great restaurants and food shopping is a breeze. Great staff!

Room Tip: Corner rooms seem larger perhaps because of their configuration.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    135
    79
    44
    32
See reviews for
85
105
11
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

For manhattan this was a huge bedroom but a minuscule bathroom (room 504) - could have done with sacrificing some of the main room for a larger bathroom. The location is also great - close to Grand Central and opposite the fantastic Comfort Diner. But the room and the decor are a bit shabby and tired. Biggest problem was the ability to hang clothes. There was a clothes rail of sorts but no hangers (do they expect people to travel with their own hangers) - and a request for some led to nothing. Overall - comfortable, big but could be so much better.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, yesterday
James,

Thank you for this great feedback.We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your spacious Deluxe King room as well as our convenient location. I apologize for the inconvenience regarding your request for extra hangers, I will see to it that this is not a repeated issue. Again, thank you for taking your time to provide us with your review and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Michael McDonnell
Guest Services Manager
mmcdonnell@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Ideal place for 4 adults looking to unwind. Our first trip to NYC, so did the tourist bit during the day and the unwinding at night. Close to the Times Square and Broadway so lots to choose from at night, whether it be a show, a good meal or just some drinks. We had a suite on the 25th floor and it was as advertised, nothing more or less. Would certainly use again on our next trip to NYC.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 6 days ago
Dear henderson705,


Thank you so much for taking your time to provide us with this great feedback! I am glad to hear that your first trip to NYC was a four star stay. We love to hear that our central location was ideal for guests like yourself wanting to explore the city. Please feel free to reach out to me personally when planning your next stay with us, we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Michael McDonnell
Guest Services Manager
mmcdonnell@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Cove Springs, Florida
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

A great location in Midtown Manhattan. The Wyndham Midtown 45 is a welcome addition to the Wyndham time share choices in the northeast.Located on 45th Street between 2nd and 3rd Avenues, this hotel is within walking distance of many of New York City’s major attractions and Grand Central Station. My wife and I live in the Saratoga Springs area in the summer and take the train to NYC so being able to walk a few blocks to our room is a big plus for us. We were fortunate to get a one bedroom upgraded unit and it was fine for 3 people. With upgrades in progress this hotel should only improve, I heard some of the guests complain about the older units. We will definitely come back next summer. I hope some 2 bedroom units are upgraded by then.

Room Tip: Definitely try to get an upgraded unit when making your reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for taking your time to review Wyndham's newest addition to the timeshare program in NYC. We are glad to hear that our central location & newly renovated one bedroom unit was perfect for you and your wife. We are looking forward to seeing you next summer!

Best Regards,

Michael McDonnell
mmcdonnell@wyndham.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 333
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Murray Hill neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues, The Wyndham Hotel was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore the nightlife in Tribeca and SoHo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.