We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bargain and massive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #363 of 468 Hotels in New York City
London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bargain and massive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

After booking the hotel and looking on Tripadvisor I was very apprehensive as to what to expect as we had booked it as a 60th birthday treat for my mum.

The location is amazing...a two minute walk to Grand Central, views of the Chrysler Building, a pub next door, a diner across the road, a German Bar across the street and a 24 hour Duane Reade.

We booked a two bedroom apartment and were amazed at the views and space we were given. The bedrooms were spacious, two bathrooms (one of which had a tv in!) and a kitchen.

I can highly praise Andy who looked after us and was very kind.
I would also recommend booking a car back to the airport with the hotel through Andy as Valette Emilio our driver was lovely.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Thank you for choosing Wyndham Midtown 45 for your Mom's special day! I will most definitely share your kind words with Andy. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your spacious 2 bedroom suite & view. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit. with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

538 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    185
    120
    62
    58
See reviews for
149
172
16
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

Not what I expected. I usually have a good experience at Wydman. This is an old hotel with sparse, shoddy furnishings. The TV couldn't get all the local stations. I reported it. Never fixed. I reported needing a lightbulb in the lamp next to bed. Came back and entire fixture had been removed and never replaced. Dark and dingy. Noisy.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
I am disappointed to hear our services and amenities did not meet your expectations. I know that when you are staying with us one of the perks is to be able to enjoy your room. We value your feedback, as it gives us guidance on what areas need improvement. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014

I stayed here many times for business travel. The price and location is great for NYC. It is not a luxury hotel but if you are here for more than a weekend this is a perfect place to stay. Queen efficiency rooms are nice and one bedroom suites are very spacious.
The hotel had some downsides. Elevators broke when we were on 27th floor. No hot water during one stay.
Staff always friendly and willing to help with hailing a cab and early check in if available.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
Thank you for this great feedback . This will allow us to continue to enhance the vacation experience at our hotel. We will share your kind words about our staff with the the team. Please let us know if there are opportunities to make your stay better in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

Hi the location was great. Not far from Grand Central Station. Access to great food. Many attractions in walking distance. Safe valet parking.

In comparison to other hotels, spacious rooms.

Managers were easy to speak to access.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are glad that our central location worked out well for you. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights this July and we like it very much. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious. The king bed was comfortable as well as the pull out queen sofa in the living room. There was a full kitchen with a lovely fridge. My husband who loves TV likes watching it while on the shower. The corner grocery makes good salad and the price very reasonable. They are open 24 hours too. Overall, a nice stay. We will be back. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you, Angeli for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. I am happy you got to enjoy our spacious suites & bathroom televisions. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

As you note by the address we are midtown in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Manhattan. Everyone pays a different rate and so I will disclose mine. We checked in on 7/15/14 for a 3 night stay and paid just over $700.00 for the 3 days. We were on the 28th floor overlooking the Chrysler Building with a small window view of the East River. The room was a suite which had a kitchen, microwave, kitchen utensils, and dishwasher. This is good if you want to take leftovers back from a hearty dinner or just want to have a simple breakfast in your room. However, in our room rate price breakfast was included.

The size of the room was impressive for a Manhattan hotel. (You're not in Kansas anymore Totos) The hotel will be converted into 100% timeshares and is undergoing rennovation. That's a good thing.

The service from check-in to maid service to an issue I had with their free wi-fi service was handled in a New York minute. So all in all I was impressed with the overall service, size of the room and price.

The furniture itself is dated and no doubt will not be updated until it fully turns into timeshares. So if you wish for modern decor you will not find it here. But the televison was a nice sized flat screen and honestly Wyndam 45 gave me more than I expected for a NYC hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M, Guest Relations Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Thank you, Laurence for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear that we surpassed your expectations of a NY hotel! This is the kind of service we at Wyndham Midtown 45 strive to deliver to every guest. Again, thank you so much for reaching out and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#265 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,692 reviews
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#293 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#149 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
#348 of 468 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 655 reviews
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#95 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,453 reviews
Midtown
Club Quarters, Grand Central
Club Quarters, Grand Central
#144 of 468 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#193 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.