We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Save Saved
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #345 of 451 hotels in New York City
New York
1 review
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Hi the location was great. Not far from Grand Central Station. Access to great food. Many attractions in walking distance. Safe valet parking.

In comparison to other hotels, spacious rooms.

Managers were easy to speak to access.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel and Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    112
    71
    39
    30
See reviews for
70
99
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We stayed for 3 nights this July and we like it very much. The staff are friendly and accommodating. Our room was spacious. The king bed was comfortable as well as the pull out queen sofa in the living room. There was a full kitchen with a lovely fridge. My husband who loves TV likes watching it while on the shower. The corner grocery makes good salad and the price very reasonable. They are open 24 hours too. Overall, a nice stay. We will be back. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

As you note by the address we are midtown in the Murray Hill neighborhood of Manhattan. Everyone pays a different rate and so I will disclose mine. We checked in on 7/15/14 for a 3 night stay and paid just over $700.00 for the 3 days. We were on the 28th floor overlooking the Chrysler Building with a small window view of the East River. The room was a suite which had a kitchen, microwave, kitchen utensils, and dishwasher. This is good if you want to take leftovers back from a hearty dinner or just want to have a simple breakfast in your room. However, in our room rate price breakfast was included.

The size of the room was impressive for a Manhattan hotel. (You're not in Kansas anymore Totos) The hotel will be converted into 100% timeshares and is undergoing rennovation. That's a good thing.

The service from check-in to maid service to an issue I had with their free wi-fi service was handled in a New York minute. So all in all I was impressed with the overall service, size of the room and price.

The furniture itself is dated and no doubt will not be updated until it fully turns into timeshares. So if you wish for modern decor you will not find it here. But the televison was a nice sized flat screen and honestly Wyndam 45 gave me more than I expected for a NYC hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Wyndham 45 is in transition from a Hotel to Wyndham's only timeshare in the city and it is moving forward well. We stayed in 1802, on of only two rooms with a balcony. A on bedroom suite it was still comfortable for the 4 of us. A king bed in a decent size bedroom was comfortable. Two large closets gave is plenty of hanging space and a safe. Bathroom is nicely appointed but is definitely a one person at a time deal.

Kitchen is minimal but with so much to eat in the city, it serves it's purpose for warming up a left over or two. The pull out couch is queen sized and comfortable. Both of my 5' 11" sons could have slept in it but only one did. Table for 4 worked for morning and bringing food back to eat.

At the top of the building is the owners lounge on 33. Spacious, large outdoor patio, ability to host a good sized party or just a quiet place to read the paper. The possibilities of this area are really interesting.

The area is ideal. On 45th between 2nd and 3rd avenues the Wyndham 45 made virtually everything in the city easily accessible. The area immediately around has the Amish Grocery where you can find nearly anything. Around the corner on 2nd be sure to get some Frepes at the Olympia Cafe, they are unique and delicious. Two blocks from the UN and 5 blocks from Times Square this was an excellent stay for us over 9 days.

Once the transition is complete, this will be the property to stay for a few days or longer. Staff was great and attentive, helpful and very friendly. We'll be back as soon as we can. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found all the staff to be very friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious and clean. The free wifi was very welcome. The reception area does feel small for the size of the hotel but we weren't spending time there. The room was sold with breakfast which turned out to be tea/filter coffee, fruit juice and a choice of croissant or muffin - bit disappointing. Best option for breakfast we found the food court at Grand Central Station or Pret a Manger (walk north). Corner shop a few steps away sold food, fresh fruit and drinks. Ten minute walk to Grand Central Station is very easy. Towels were a bit on the small side! Overall good value, not central location but then is a bit quieter and Times Square is easily in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Murray Hill neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues, The Wyndham Hotel was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore the nightlife in Tribeca and SoHo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Venere, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.