We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The location was amazing. The staff were friendly and...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Save Saved
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #345 of 451 hotels in New York City
Write a Review

310 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    109
    70
    39
    30
See reviews for
67
98
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampstead, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Wyndham 45 is in transition from a Hotel to Wyndham's only timeshare in the city and it is moving forward well. We stayed in 1802, on of only two rooms with a balcony. A on bedroom suite it was still comfortable for the 4 of us. A king bed in a decent size bedroom was comfortable. Two large closets gave is plenty of hanging space and a safe. Bathroom is nicely appointed but is definitely a one person at a time deal.

Kitchen is minimal but with so much to eat in the city, it serves it's purpose for warming up a left over or two. The pull out couch is queen sized and comfortable. Both of my 5' 11" sons could have slept in it but only one did. Table for 4 worked for morning and bringing food back to eat.

At the top of the building is the owners lounge on 33. Spacious, large outdoor patio, ability to host a good sized party or just a quiet place to read the paper. The possibilities of this area are really interesting.

The area is ideal. On 45th between 2nd and 3rd avenues the Wyndham 45 made virtually everything in the city easily accessible. The area immediately around has the Amish Grocery where you can find nearly anything. Around the corner on 2nd be sure to get some Frepes at the Olympia Cafe, they are unique and delicious. Two blocks from the UN and 5 blocks from Times Square this was an excellent stay for us over 9 days.

Once the transition is complete, this will be the property to stay for a few days or longer. Staff was great and attentive, helpful and very friendly. We'll be back as soon as we can. Highly recommend!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We found all the staff to be very friendly and efficient. Our room was spacious and clean. The free wifi was very welcome. The reception area does feel small for the size of the hotel but we weren't spending time there. The room was sold with breakfast which turned out to be tea/filter coffee, fruit juice and a choice of croissant or muffin - bit disappointing. Best option for breakfast we found the food court at Grand Central Station or Pret a Manger (walk north). Corner shop a few steps away sold food, fresh fruit and drinks. Ten minute walk to Grand Central Station is very easy. Towels were a bit on the small side! Overall good value, not central location but then is a bit quieter and Times Square is easily in walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sf bay area
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Being our first time to NYC, we opted from JFK to use the Airporter Shuttle. Getting their tickets online in advance was only $29 round trip per person. Their drop off and pick up location at 41st St and Lexington near Grand Central Terminal was perfect for the easy walk to Midtown 45 at 45th St between 2nd and 3rd, despite the heat and humidity during the July 4th week. We found Midtown 45's lovely though small lobby to be comfortable when not crowded and inviting with its handy supply of ice cold, lemon tinted water available 24 hours. Having 33 floors, the two elevators were perfect....when both were working. When one is out, the long waits for the elevator down were unbearable at times as the hallways are not air-conditioned. We also had a problem with our room keys not working after a day or two. We discovered we could call the front desk for new keys by using the phone by the elevators and they would come up immediately, rather than us going all the way down for the keys.

As VIP Wyndham timeshare owners, for our first three nights we thoroughly enjoyed our one bdrm presidential suite on the 17th floor. (Floors 11 through 18 are timeshare.) It was clean, roomy, elegant and bright with a beautiful, king size bed and a queen size pull-out sofa bed that was very, very comfortable. We were spoiled, especially with 6 sets of thick towels. But to extend our stay, we had reservations for new units - my mother to a studio on 16 for three nights and me to a one bdrm deluxe on 11 for two nights. We brought our luggage down to be stored while we went out early morning. My mother's was available upon our return at 1 while I didn't get into mine until after 4.

When my mother attempted to pull down the night shades for a rest, it came crashing down with plaster attached! Maintenance came straightaway and worked very hard (bless them) to fix it but to no avail. So they put up a bed sheet to cover the window. This worked out fine for us as the studio did not face the morning or afternoon sun. In my unit I found that housekeeping had missed cleaning the kitchen area. Dirty dishes were in the dishwasher, which was discovered to be broken, and kitchen supplies were not restocked. I called housekeeping and they came right away, washing the dishes by hand and replenishing the supplies. These people were fantastic! We appreciated their speedy promptness to our situation. In fact the whole staff at Wyndham was excellent and friendly and so helpful! Special kudos to Perry and Carlos for their handling of our luggage. A special hug to Perry for his beautiful smile and wonderful city tips. My mother loved him. And a special thanks to the front desk for their friendliness, support, efficiency and most importantly patience, especially Terrence, Joanna, and Christina!

To really explore the city we booked online for guided, walking tours. We were able to get guided tour tickets to the 9/11 Memorial Museum but were too late for the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island (full). For walking tours we used freetoursbyfoot.com. They are absolutely wonderful, informative and so much fun! You pay only what you want to pay for the tours. The guides were so good and enlightening, we tipped well. We toured midtown and lower Manhattan, Greenwich Village, SoHo, Little Italy and Chinatown, Brooklyn Bridge, Brooklyn Hts, DUMBO, Central Park. For our six days we either had one or two tours scheduled. And we still managed to squeezed in two Broadway musicals and one crazy ride on The Ride. This is like a tour bus where everyone has a great seat and you become part of the entertainment. Best part of this experience were the street performers, esp. the ballerina and partner at Columbus Circle (just ethereal) and when instructed to close your eyes, the seats shaking as if you were riding on the subway.

Speaking of the subway, we did use it for at least two days (taxi cabs for their AC and just hoofing it rest of the time) but my mother found it too hot and chaotic downstairs, especially at Grand Central. Fares are $2.50 each way but as seniors we were able to show our medicare cards at the station agent's booth, pay $2.50 and get one half off, reduced fare metro card to be used going and coming. If you ride the buses, just show your medicare card and pay $1.25 (coins only!) to the driver.

I did opt to do the timeshare presentation after some friendly persuasion and we thoroughly enjoyed the free breakfast "show" with Eric's magnificent singing in the hotel's on-site Atrium restaurant. It was very pleasant and after 90 minutes, I received a $50 Am Ex card.

All in all it has been a grand, wonderful, restful stay to which we will return again and again. Thank you, Midtown 45, for making it so memorable for my mother and me!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

You can do MUCH better for the same price in the same location.

On the surface, it looked like a modern hotel. Upon closer inspection, it looks like a very cheap remodel was done recently and has already exceeded it's life expectancy. The front desk staff was not attentive, and the "reception" area was cramped and tiny. We checked in and went up to our room. I opened the curtains to see the view out the window and discovered that the window was covered in greasy hand/forehead prints. I started looking around...the fabric headboard was stained. The built-in wall of cabinets that serves as a desk, closet and TV unit were rickety. One of the doors was hanging off only it's top hinge. The speaker covers to the stereo were off and propped against the speaker. Every surface that one regularly has to touch in a room (towel bars, phones, light switches) were dirty. The towel holder in the bathroom came apart in my hand as I was hanging up a hand towel. Even the toilet seat was dirty.

We went to the front desk and asked to be switched to a different room. None was available, so they sent the engineer to fix the cabinets and the cleaning staff to re-clean the room. The engineer all but admitted that this furniture was not built to last and ended up having to remove 3 of the closet doors for safety. The cleaning woman mopped the tile entry floor (which made it sticky) and didn't clean anything else in the room. I picked up Lysol wipes at the drug store next door and started cleaning myself. The amount of filth picked up on those wipes skeeved me out to the degree that we switched hotels. We ended up about a block away, paying the same rate and in a much cleaner and friendlier hotel with a lovely lobby.

We travel frequently and I'm not a germophobe by any stretch of the imagination. I'm not talking about a bit of dust showing up on a white glove test...there was visible filth that the hotel staff were not interested in addressing. Even the central location is not enough to recommend this hotel considering all the other options in the area and price range.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We got a 1 room suite - which meant we had a small kitchen area. We wanted something a bit larger and we wanted to be higher up. The hotel is very clean, organized, and the service was nice. We checked in early, but our room was not ready yet. No problem, we dropped off our bags and walked right next door to The Perfect Pint to have a pint or two. Our room was spacious enough, clean, and had a stove, microwave, and regular size fridge and freezer (not the mini ones). It was well decorated and was enought room for my wife and I. Our view was not great, but what can you do, luckof the draw on that. If you want a great view - go to the 33rd floor where they have a large balcony patio...what a great view. We were there a few times (by ourselves - we were shocked at how nobody was up there) to see both evening and afternoon views. Great place for pictures and a great shot of the Empire State Building. Everything is within walking distance - we walked downtown to China Town and Little Italy, we walked to the Theatre, we walked uptown to Central Park. We could have taken the subway, too, Grand Central is just a few blocks away, but we wanted to see as much as we could. There are three parking lots on the street, so if you want to save money on parking, get a coupon (Google - NYC Parking Coupons) for a spot on the same street and walk 1/2 block tops to the hotel. It saved us a ton of money. We have no complaints about this room or hotel that we experienced. We would stay here again for sure. I guess there are two quick "compaints" just as an FYI...1- a coffee maker would be nice...or at least free coffee in the lobby. Coffee is important to us, and to have to get fully dressed to walk a block or two - in order to get a coffee - and then walk a block or two back (if you just want a cup or two before you get going for the day) to the hotel...just a bit of a hassle. Also, the bed is a bit short. If you are taller than 6' your feet may hang off the end a bit. I am 5' 11 and I barely fit, If those are my only complaints - then it was a great vacation, huh?

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#164 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Murray Hill neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues, The Wyndham Hotel was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore the nightlife in Tribeca and SoHo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.