We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Save
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights, Save 25%
Ranked #364 of 464 Hotels in New York City
newport, RI
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

Based on the reviews that I read on here, I had mixed feelings about making a reservation here. My husband and I needed to stay close to grand central and you can't get much closer than this hotel. Check in was a bit slow, but we did get one of the renovated rooms so that made up for it. We were on the 21st floor. No view, but the room was quite adequate for us. The only thing puzzling was the lack of a coffee maker??? You would think they would have one since people rent these rooms out as part of a time share.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for staying at the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's always a pleasure to serve you, our guest and receive great comments. Please make sure to visit us again at the Wyndham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    179
    119
    59
    55
See reviews for
143
166
16
95
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
164 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014

Not happy with the room for almost $400/night. I could've stayed at the Best Western or Hampton Inn for half the price and been happier. My room was dark, dingy, and cramped with stains on the carpet and upholstery. There was also broken furniture. I would not return to this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
We are truly sorry about the room condition but we encourage feedback from our guest while in the hotel so we can make things right. I would like to thank you for staying with us and hope you give us another stay. Thank you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campinas, SP
Level Contributor
70 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

we stayed here during a trip of 4 days in new york actually it was just the 4 days before the hurricane sandy, we stay in one of the two bedroom apartments they were fabulous , great view and vey nice organized good beds and kitchen area which was for us important as we traveled with a Baby, breakfast was not included but there are some small bakery's next to the hotel or even within the hotel, service was excellent , during next trip we would stay again, btw the hotel was called the alex at this time...

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Thank you for your feedback concerning the Wyndham Midtown 45. It's our pleasure to serve you, our guest. Please make sure you come and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

This hotel I would give one or two star only. Two front desk agents were helping a show reservation for a guest when we arrived at 8 pm, and we were asked to wait for 10 minutes. Finally one of agent is available to help us, and it took 15 minutes to find a 'better room' for us. When we walk in the room, furniture are out dated, noisy street front, old carpet, no coffee maker, sofa with stain. However, room and bathroom size are good. When we came back from dinner, we found out there is no hot water from 10 pm to 6 am next day which front desk did not tell us at check-in. Bed linen is very thin and you can clearly see through the brand of mattress, and the mattress is kind of lowest quality which is light weight and moving all the time when you sleep with other person. We have set room temperature to 70F with 'auto' mode, but we found it was so cold in the middle of the night. I got up to switch air conditioner to 'heat' mode when actual room temperature was 64F , then I start to heard loud air conditioner started working. Until 7 am, the room temperature was still around 65 F which means the air conditioner was not working. Finally we walk to front desk to complain about hot water, street front noise, and air conditioner. Front desk a dark hair lady heard my complaint, replied me with cool face said she will switch the other room for me. No apology!! Next day, I got quiet room in the back of the building which is very good, but same type of mattress. Washroom is very very small. I have to close washroom's door in order to use toilet and shower. When I need to close washroom door, I have to move myself to beside of toilet. This quiet room's night light (beside the bed) and one of washroom lights were not working, and I just suffered without bothering housekeeping and front desk.
When we check out, the front desk was so busy. I see bellman was chatting on his cell phone outside on the street and laughing, and the concierge was happily chatting with the other coworker when there was long line up at front desk. I think this is a really poor managed property, and I will avoid to stay here again.

Room Tip: try to get a room at the back side of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
First let me apologize to you and your family. At our hotel the Wyndham, we try to accommodate every guest even before check-in time. Somehow we didn't react to your concerns in time and we truly feel disappointed. We thank you for your feedback and hope you give us another attempt to serve you better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Midtown
Wingate by Wyndham Manhattan Mid...
#286 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 1,380 reviews
Midtown
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
Wyndham New Yorker Hotel
#259 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 7,454 reviews
Midtown
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
Fifty NYC–an Affinia hotel
#167 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
Shelburne NYC–an Affinia hotel
#95 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 3,403 reviews
Midtown
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
Eurostars Dylan Hotel
#347 of 464 in New York City
3.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Midtown
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
Hotel Boutique At Grand Central
#184 of 464 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#194 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Number of rooms: 199
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Midtown Manhattan East neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues. The Wyndham Midtown 45 was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore NYC! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Wyndham, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.