We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible Check In Experience” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Save Saved
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #346 of 453 Hotels in New York City
Ewing, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Horrible Check In Experience”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a horrible experience checking in, which made the whole experience that much worse. It took us an hour and a half to check in because somehow the front desk lost our pre-payment information. They were trying to get me to pay for a room I already paid for. Also, they had me down as staying for 1 night, when I booked for 2 nights. This caused quite a hassle and since the front desk people were completely incompetent and seemed to be under the influence they kept forgetting that we were waiting for them to solve our problems. It was unheard of that they could keep forgetting about us because we were sitting 10 feet in front of them and no one else was in the lobby. At some point we went up to them to see if they had resolved the issues and they said they thought they already checked us in, which was ridiculous because they didn't and it took them atleast 40 more minutes to check us in.

The room was really nice. It had 3 TVs - bedroom, living room bathroom. It came with plates, utensils, etc. It was like a small, furnished apartment.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions of our Midtown Hotel. It is thoroughly disappointing to learn when a guests' stay does not live up to their expectations. It's always our hope that our guests have the best stay possible and we apologize if we did not achieve that for you. We appreciate your candor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    129
    78
    44
    31
See reviews for
83
102
10
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was a great little surprise booked over Hotels.com and is a hotel I will use again. Located just a block from Grand Central station which was extremely convenient for my week of business meetings. Spacious room, comfortable bed, very nice and helpful staff - a real bonus there. The shower was unusually laid out floor level with french doors that open into the bathroom, and the two glass doors did not ever fully come together properly so water always spilled out onto the bathroom floor making it slippery. I ate in the restaurant three times and was very pleased with the quality and freshness of the food and the service every time. Concierge and doormen were very helpful at every opportunity as well as front desk.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback as well as your high recommendations, we are thrilled you had such a positive experience at The Wyndham 45 Hotel. All of our guestrooms and suites are designed with our guests’ ultimate comfort and convenience in mind and our locations is indeed just a brief stroll from Grand Central Terminal and so much more! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, and hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney. Australia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked a 2 bedroom suite in late May. The second bedroom was quite cramped. But a very comfortable bed and lovely and clean.The position was great to get around NYC and cabs were always available. The suite had a small kitchen but No coffee machine or kettle in the room. We had one delivered the next day. For NYC this hotel was great value for money. There is an excellent Deli just a short walk away and a bottle shop also a small convience store and an ATM and a Bank. There are several restaurants close by that were quite reasonably priced by New York standards. There is no free wi fi . This hotel is a little tired in places but the staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite on a high floor that was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Many of our guests are always pleased to discover so many area attractions are within walking distance. Thank you so much for letting us know we met your expectations and we would love to welcome you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Stayed here 31.05.13 to 04.06.13 with my daughter in a one bedroom suite. We stayed here as we like to have the kitchenette access so we can at least make breakfast for ourself in the morning.

We was on 26th floor room 2602. We had a view of The Chrysler building from the living area and bedroom which was nice. The hotel is situated in a quiet street, there was no street noise (which is a surprise for a hotel in NYC) so we had a night great sleep.

The size of the suite is huge but the layout is strange. The furnishings are old and the wooden cupboards housing the tv etc have seen better days. The door on one of the cupboards was broken and could not be closed. Both of the TVs in the bedroom and living room would look better if they were removed from the cabinets altogether. There was no need for them. The sofa looked old, wasnt comfortable and definately needs replacing. The living area and bedroom areas of the suite need to be majorly redecorated, it just felt 'tired'.

The bedroom had plenty of built in wardrobe space and the bed was really comfortable.. So no complaints there. The hotel have missed a trick.. if the bed head was placed on the opposite wall, you would have a great view of the Chrysler building from your bed, which would have been lovely. I suggest the hotel make this change in room 2602!

The bathroom was the best part of the suite! It looks really nice and actually looked new? i would suggest more shelving as there wasn't a lot of place to hold toiletries. The tv in the bathroom is a nice touch!

The suite was clean there was no problems with house keeping.

All staff members we encountered were nice ... Not overly helpful but nice.

As the hotel has recently been taken over by the Wyndham group I have heard that the hotel will be getting a makeover .. I hope this is true as the place needs it .. I think they claim to currently be a 4 star hotel.... its definately not in my opinion, but with a bit of TLC it COULD be in the future. So fingers crossed they make some changes.

One more suggestion I would ask the Wyndham to think about proposing is having free wifi in the lobby.

If your looking for a hotel with kitchenette, I suggest you stay at the Element in Times Square - we also stayed here during our vacation and loved it! Yes The rooms are smaller than the suites at the Wyndham but they are more modern and the layout is better! Wyndham 45 could do with taking a trip over to the Element to see how they do things!

If I'm in NYC again in the future and I hear that the hotel has been given a makeover, I would consider staying again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor with a view of The Chrysler Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Brilliant hotel. Great amenities, rock hard bed, nice kitchenette, great food market nearby. Staff super friendly. No free wifi. Complementary Newspapers. Perfect location, close to grand central station and subway. Will stay again

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

great hotel. great location. clean, staff were friendly, rooms were large and well laid out. bed was comfy.

i visited with friends, and would recommend. staff upgraded us for free. staff were helpful, would always flag cabs.

only negative was the wifi, some days its stopped working however these days were taken off the bill.

will come back! thanks

Room Tip: leevl 28 was quiet, had a great sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed here a few years ago when this was the Alex Hotel, so decided to stay again on a recent visit to NYC. Big Mistake!!! The hotel needs a facelift. The rooms are dismal, the furniture is falling apart, the elevator is slow, the bed linen is worn out. Every time we went upstairs to our room required two trips, because the keys never worked the first time. On the plus side, the location is great, an easy walk to just about anywhere you want to go in the city. Breakfast in the dining room was good. The staff really tried to put on their best face. They were friendly and helpful, but one expects more from a supposedly 4 star hotel, especially since it is now a Wyndham. There are lots of choices...stay someplace else!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrence J, Front Office Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, June 17, 2014
Thank you for staying at The Wyndham Hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#166 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Murray Hill neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues, The Wyndham Hotel was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore the nightlife in Tribeca and SoHo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.