We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Amazing Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Wyndham Midtown 45

Save Saved
You added The Wyndham Midtown 45 to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Wyndham Midtown 45
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel) (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Plan Ahead, Save 25%
Ranked #331 of 446 hotels in New York City
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Amazing Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

I live in miami stay at The Alex every-time i am in new york for 2years every time i stay here the experience gets better n better its been an amazing stay i never ever have any problems or complaints, the rooms are clean the Staff manger glenda is beyond amazing she accommodates everyone, she is aim to please she-made my birthday weekend truly perfect i am in ahhh

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlexHotel-NYC, General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Your feedback is amazing! Knowing that you have chosen to stay at The Alex Hotel every time you visit New York warms our hearts! Our associates always desire to create a memorable experience for all of our guests and the ultimate retreat while staying here. Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

976 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    292
    347
    163
    108
    66
See reviews for
157
275
51
203
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

I had often stayed at The Alex with no problem. On my last trip when checking out I was told to leave my luggage in my room for the bellhop to put in the luggage room as my flight was a few hours later. When I collected my luggage later I discovered my iPad was missing.
The Alex management later told me they had filed a report with their insurer and I would hear from the insurance. I am still waiting two weeks later. Repeated phone calls to the management. produce no results. i am disgusted with this hotel and would advise strongly against staying there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlexHotel-NYC, General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
While we are truly pleased to know that you have stayed with us so often, we were disappointed when we received your call regarding your missing device. The safety and security of our guests is always a top concern and we appreciate that you alerted us right away so that the matter could be addressed as quickly as possible. We apologize for any inconvenience you may have experienced and will continue to focus on resolving anything outstanding. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

What a find this hotel is! The location is perfect, easy to get to most any where and the neighborhood is great after a long day of work. The hotel is wonderfully appointed with all you need plus a few extras that push it over the top...like fitness room and great lounge to unwind. The staff during our recent stay was fabulous. From doormen, to desk staff to housekeeping every one was friendly and welcoming...thank you to security who were polite and gave an extra feeling of comfort.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a suite for longer stays.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlexHotel-NYC, General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
We love that you think our associates are so fabulous! Thank you for sharing your glowing review of The Alex Hotel. Everyone here hopes to provide the most welcoming and hospitable stay possible and we couldn’t be happier that you enjoyed your time. Our location, as you mentioned, is perfect for visiting all of Manhattan’s businesses and hotspots. It is our hope to welcome you back for another comforting stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Want to head to NYC but aren’t fussy about what hotel you are staying at so long it is clean and has comfortable beds? Well, The Alex is more than that: with views onto the Chrysler building, two blocks from Grand Central station and exceptionally pleasant staff this mid-town hotel doesn’t make you miss the hip designer hotels. I was gate-crashing my husband’s business trip and wasn’t involved in the choice of hotel. Unlike me, all my husband wants is to be as close as possible to his NY office and doesn’t care about the coolest hotel lobby or best view or bar. A comfy bed and proximity to his office were his criteria and I have to say this attitude gets you a lot in NYC. At least at The Alex. So, the decor doesn’t aim to win design awards but it is neutral, well thought through and comfortable. The hotel food is OK and not too pricey, but there are many nearby options, so you are not stuck with the hotel menu. Most rooms provide for an extended stay with in-built kitchens, dining table and lounge area. We were staying on the 28th floor but the wi-fi didn't reach up all the way, so the hotel staff gave me another hotel room on the 3rd floor to work from. For that i am giving them a huge golden star for resourcefulness and helpfulness. So my main point is, if you remove all your fussiness about style, design and 'where to be seen' attitude, then at The Alex you can get a nice sized suite for the price of a standard room in one of those hipster downtown hotels. Plus it has probably the nicest and most attentive staff in town.

Room Tip: if you need wi-fi access stay on the lower floors. Views onto Chrysler building best from higher flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlexHotel-NYC, General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
What a lovely review, thank you! Hearing that our associates were, as you put it, the nicest and most attentive in town puts a huge smile on our faces. It is always our biggest goal to provide a comfortable stay with the very best in hospitality and we are thrilled to know you enjoyed just that. Our suite accommodations offer many amazing conveniences like full gourmet kitchens and separate living and bedroom space, perfect for the extended stay or when you just need some extra room. While we do regret that you experienced any issues with the Wireless connection in your guestroom, it is great to know that our associates were able to resolve it for you and that you weren’t inconvenienced too greatly. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great a great position to travel and explore the city. The entrance is rather small and check in took a little while. Our room was very good & also very clean. Views were good of the streets below and although we were above the main road there was little or no noise. The beds were very good and the room maintained well. The staff were friendly & helpful in all our dealings with them. Bar was on the pricey side so we drank in the pub next door. I do think this hotel lives up to its star rating and would stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlexHotel-NYC, General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing feedback of your stay at The Alex Hotel, we couldn’t be happier to learn you enjoyed such a great visit to NYC! Our Midtown hotel is, as you mentioned, in a great position for exploring all of the city. Your gracious compliments for our accommodations and service will be shared with everyone here. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Larger rooms that most nyc hotels, good location and really nice staff. Great pub right next door. The desk for working is a little disappointing, super small. The hotel could use a little freshening up soon but very minor as its in pretty good shape.

Room Tip: junior suite is roomier than the reg but both are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlexHotel-NYC, General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We truly value all feedback from our guests and would like to thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. It is a privilege to know that you found our associates to be so gracious. Each guestroom has been custom designed to maximize the use of space and it is great to know you found it to be, as you put it, so much larger than most New York City hotels! We appreciate all your comments and suggestions and look forward to seeing you again for your next trip to Manhattan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Hotel prices the month of January in New York City are reasonable. If you want to treat yourself to a gem of a place, make reservations at The Alex. Take the NYC transit bus from LGA for $13.00. You are dropped off at Grand Central Station, just a short walk to the hotel. The accommodations are outstanding! We were on the 30th floor with a view of the Chrysler Building from the bedroom and living area and the East River from the other end. The spaciness, unique decor, views, kitchen and table areas, cleanliness, etc. was ideal. The cost per day was under $200.00. Go for it!

Room Tip: Go high to enjoy the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheAlexHotel-NYC, General Manager at The Wyndham Midtown 45, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing your feedback as well as your high recommendations, we are thrilled you had such a positive experience at The Alex Hotel. All of our guestrooms and suites are designed with our guests’ ultimate comfort and convenience in mind and our locations is indeed just a brief stroll from Grand Central Terminal and so much more! It would be our pleasure to welcome you back again, and hope it is soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Wyndham Midtown 45? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wyndham Midtown 45

Also Known As:
Alex Hotel New York City
The Alex
Alex Hotel
Alex Hotel New York
Address: 205 East 45th Street, New York City, NY 10017 (Formerly The Alex Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#160 Luxury Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Wyndham Midtown 45 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Truly unique amongst New York City hotels, The Wyndham Hotel offers a stylish retreat in the heart of the city. Choose from suites with apartment style amenities including fully equipped kitchens and Manhattan skyline views. Located in Murray Hill neighborhood, just one block from Grand Central Station and within walking distance to the United Nations, Park, Madison and Fifth Avenues, The Wyndham Hotel was designed by residential architect Costas Kondylis, with custom designed furniture by David Rockwell and state-of-the-art amenities throughout. The Wyndham is perfect for those looking to explore the nightlife in Tribeca and SoHo. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Wyndham, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Hotels.com, Amex, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your The Wyndham Midtown 45 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wyndham Midtown 45, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.