We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay Away - Worst Place I have ever stayed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Metro-Home / United Nations Suites

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Metro-Home / United Nations Suites to your Saves list
Metro-Home / United Nations Suites
250 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #407 of 458 Hotels in New York City
New England
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Stay Away - Worst Place I have ever stayed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2006

Without a doubt, this is the worst place I have stayed at in 18 years. I travel about 150 nights a year on business, and this was the worst. It was rated 3 stars on Expedia. It should have been rated 3 rats. This place was not close to 3 stars. Neither Expedia nor Metro-Home bother to reveal that this is not a hotel. There is no staff to help with problems after 5:00 PM. It is a studio apartment rental, which could have been ok, but the room was incredibly noisy (right on 2nd Ave). It was dirty. The fridge smelled, and the place had not been redone in 35 years. I left after one night. Stay Away from this place.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    3
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2005

The jist is, I called their home office and requested a late checkout of 3:00pm on Sunday, which was approved. On Sunday, upon my wife and I's return to the room (approx 1:30pm), a member of the housecleaning crew was waiting. I advised of our late checkout at which time she called the housecleaning supervisor to explain what was going on. I was asked to speak with the supervisor at which time she began yelling at me and telling me i was 3 hours late from checking out. I explained that I had called and gotten approval for a late checkout at which time she told me I was going to be charged for an additional day. I advised that was not acceptable and the mistake was obviously occurred from Metro-Home. She continued to yell and tell me that I should have been in the hotel room earlier as she had been calling. I advised there was no way for me to know that I should be sitting in the hotel room awaiting orders to get out earlier than had been previously agreed. Again, she ignored what I said and just kept repeating that I would be charged for another day. All of this was on top of the fact that for 5 day stay, they did not once bring us new towels, make the bed, change the trash, nothing. I will definitely not be staying there again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2005

On examining prices for 1 -3 star hotels in New York for my recent visit I was shocked to see that even hotels/hostels requiring sharing bathrooms would cost me $100+ a night. Therefore when I saw a Metro Home studio flat with en-suite bathroom, kitchen and lounge area for less than $100 a night there was no question where I would be staying.
My choice was vindicated when I arrived in New York, my flight was delayed inevitably, so was worried I may have problems picking up keys at 1.00 am! No worries a 24 hour doorman was handy to provide me with key's no check in formalities apart from signing in. There is no hotel style lobby but who needs one.
The room was clean, very spacious. There was a large double bed, ample closet space with iron and board, cable tv, good shower and bath, plus sofa area and small kitchen with utensils and a breakfast table.
Located on 39th Street off 2nd avenue it was away from the hustle and bustle of the tourist areas which suited me, as I was still within walking distance of Grand Central and Time's Square.
There were many cafe's, diners and restaurants located on my doorstep so never missed not having a breakfast service. The local area felt very safe.
There is no luggage room as this is an appartment block, but on calling Metro-home they were happy for me to keep my luggage in my room post check out time (11.30am) until later that afternoon for me to pick up on my way to the airport.
In comparison at this price my friend was staying at the Americanna Inn which would have cost me more, he had to share bathrooms and his room could just about fit a single bed, sink and chest of drawers! He even said my room was impressive than his parents at a 2-3 star midtown hotel where they were pying $150+ a night.
Definately reccomended for short or long stays in New York if you want good living space but are not bothered about hotel services (maid service is extra, though vacuum is provided).

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2004

After reading reviews of Metro-Home/United Nations Suites here on TripAdvisor, I booked rooms there for Mid-December 2004. We paid about $195/night including all taxes and fees - and booked through Expedia.

Upon arrival, I realized that this is not really a hotel - but an apartment building in which some units are let out as hotel rooms. There is no sign on the building which identifies it - only the address.

There was a friendly doorman, who let us in. The head of houskeeping was in the lobby with a clipboard list of guest expected that day. This was fortunate for us, because ordinarily she just drops by and gives it to the doorman.

Our name was not on the list - altough we had prepaid for the room $780 for 4 days. Somewhere between Expedia and Metro-Home, the reservation was dropped. It would have been bad if only the doorman was there. Fortunately, everything was straightened out - and because of the snafu, we were moved up to a room that she (head of housekeeping) considered better. All this took about 40 minutes with her on the phone trying to figure out who dropped the ball. Lesson: Book directly with Metro-Home.

There is no public restroom in the lobby. They suggest McD's accross the street.

We were a bit early and our room had not been cleaned - so we waited while the maid cleaned quickly. Just a note, we did not recieve clean blankets or bedspread - only clean sheets. I watched.

One of the two elevators was out of order. The doorman said it had only been 2 days. One of the building full-time residents said 4 days. The difficulty of getting repair people during the holiday season was blamed for this. The elevator was slow - and several times I ran up to the 5th floor to get something from our room because I was unwilling to wait.

The room was spacious - with a sitting area by a large window with a pleasant if unexciting view, and small kitchenette. The kitchen was reasonably equipped for cooking a little - except that there was no dish-drain, no kitchen towels, no dish brush, no dish soap and no dishwasher. We cooked one meal there - plus light breakfast stuff. The stove was gas and tight against the wall. I noticed that there was a burn mark on the wall. I think we did it, but it might have been there already. I doubt that this stove installation is up to code.

There was no housekeeping during our 4-day stay. On the last day, we ran out of toilet paper. (McD napkins make adequate substitute.) I think they just forgot about us - that they moved us to a different room. If we had called (during the week), I think they would have come and cleaned. When I did try to call - I got a message - "this is the weekend, if it's an emergency call xxx-xxx-xxxx". We really didn't mind that they didn't clean - except I would have liked to not have to clean the dishes and kitchen. That's not what I'm paying almost $200/night to do.

I wanted to check out late, but there was no number to call except the emergency number. We left our bags with the helpful and friendly doorman, who locked them in a closet downstairs until we returned for them later.

All-in-all, our stay was confortable. The place is quiet. The rooms a bit too warm. The floors are wood and quite worn, but it felt home-like. We felt that we had a taste of living in NYC, not as if we stayed in a hotel.

The building is on the corner of 39th st. and 2nd ave on the east side of Manhattan. We preferred to walk mostly, but it is 3 long blocks to 5th avenue. It's just a short walk to Grand Central Terminal (42nd and 3rd) - where you can get trains to anywhere. It's a quiet, residential area.

Taxis are readily available on 2nd avenue.

I would stay there again.

Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2004

We stayed in this place in a studio apartment for one week from March 6th through March 13 2004 and all I can say is that this is a great place. It is spacious and comes with a comfortable Queensize bed and has a livingroom area with sofa as well as dining table and spacious closets, even one walk-in closet. It comes with a fully equipped kitchen wich helps to keep the costs down by cooking your own food. We rented the apartment on "March Madness" sale for 99 $ per night with no taxes added b/c when you rent an apartment for at least one week there are no additional taxes. I guess this is probably the best deal you can get in whole Manhattan. Now about the negative part: 1) When we entered the aparment a strange smell was in there, even the windows were open and it did not go away for the week we were there even so we left the windows open all the time. 2) A few cockroaches were sighted randomly but this might be nothing unusual for NYC as I have been told. Besides this two negative thing I would recommend this place to everyone and would stay there again myself. Even so Metro-home rents studio apartments only for a maximum of two ppl. in my opinion this studio, because of the sofa, is good for at least 3 ppl. without any problems.
The location is very convienient at the corner of 2. Ave. and 39th street within walking distance of subway stations and many sights such as chrysler building, united nations, grand central station ........ A bus station with a bus going all the way south that can be used for trips to China town, little Italy, financial district, Wall Street, Battery Park, Staten Island ferry, Statue of Liberty ferry, without changing the bus, is right in front of the door.

I hope this was helpful and enjoy your stay in NYC!

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2004

I just got back from a one week stay in one of the studio apartments yesterday. Although the Metrohome site says that the size of a studio is about the size of a regular hotel room, we were very lucky and happy to discover that the site lied a bit - the studio was a larger than the average midwestern hotel room by about 50%, so from the descriptions I've read of NYC hotel rooms, I would venture that it's about twice the size of the average hotel room there.

We were lucky enough to get the March special so our studio apartment was only $99/nt and since we were staying 7 nights, we did not have to pay taxes. The building had very friendly doormen and we were able to both check in early and check out late. Considering the price, I was expecting to have to fight it out with cockroaches and cousins of Fievel and Stuart Little, but we didn't see any signs of rodents and only tiny cockroaches in the kitchen area. I killed about 6 of the 8 I saw over the course of a week and they were only about a centimeter large, so considering NYC, we again considered ourselves lucky. A second drawback was that the studio had a weird odor, but it's still winter and I guess all it takes is for one person to cook a stinky meal for the heat to just trap the odor. We kept the windows open the entire week both to try to get the smell out and to cool the room off. We couldn't find a switch to turn the heat off and it was warm even with two windows opened. I would much rather have a room that's too warm in winter than one that's too cold.

The bulding is on the corner of East 39th Street and Second Avenue and I would guesstimate less than 50 steps from the M15 bus stop. The M15 goes through Chinatown, Wall Street, and the South Street Seaport. It will take you as far down as the Staten Island Ferry (a free ride and you can get great shots of the Statue of Liberty and Ellis Island) and the Statue of Liberty Ferry. There are also lots of cabs in the area.
Although the first few days we got on the subway (Grand Central is about 5 blocks away), because I have a bad foot, I could keep going up and down the stairs, so the location near the bus stop was great for us.

Considering the building's location, it was very quiet. We had the expected emergency vehicles sounds and rush hour traffic, but beyond that, it wasn't noisy at all. We felt safe enough to walk around even at night and really enjoyed being able to cook for ourselves, considering NYC prices. The store we found with the best prices was Gristedes' on 49th and 2nd, so just one bnlock away. If you're more of a fast food person, there's a McDonald's literally across the street and several Chinese food restaurants around the corner near the bus stop. There are also lots of other restaurants near the apartment, but we preferred to cook so that we could save money.

The apartment had a tv, vcr, and small stereo. It also had a queen-sized bed and a queen-sized pull-out couch. The kitchen was very small and I can't imagine more than one person cooking in it at a time, but then again, I'm a heavier person, so maybe it would be more comfortable for two tiny people. The stove is a gas range. There was lots o cabinet space and utensils, pots, pans, and dishes were all provided. I'm a little paranoid, so I bought some bleach to wash the dishes and bathtub with before we used them and also to soak the dish rack in, but I do that any place I stay that has utensils strangers have used.

I hope this review was helpful to you and please know that I would definitely stay at the apartment again and have already recommended it to a couple other people.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Metro-Home / United Nations Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Metro-Home / United Nations Suites

Address: 250 East 39th Street, New York City, NY 10016
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Midtown , Murray Hill
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #407 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Metro-Home / United Nations Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Metro-Home / United Nations Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Metro-Home / United Nations Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.