We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quiet, no shower pressure... Ok location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 West 25th St., New York City, NY 10011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #302 of 451 hotels in New York City
Montréal, Québec
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Not quiet, no shower pressure... Ok location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just came back from a 2 night stay there with my 12 year old son. We stayed from the 1st of January till the 3rd. Got there to check in, took them a while to find our room .... didn't have enough linens because of the night before (NYE in NYC is a busy night). Finally got our room on the 14th floor... thought it would be ok for street noises and all.... I was wrong. We were right on the street and all the noises were there (even at 3 AM). I reserved a two double bed room for an ok price. The room was small but it did the job of just for the sleep. The shower was really difficult to understand and we had barely any water pressure. I mean it took me 25 minutes to get it all done :). Clean washroom though.
All in all it's Ok for a stop and go place. Nice staff. Very small gym but equipment works fine.
There is no fridge in the room, I would really have used one. Complementary water and coffee.
But mistake my son order two movies (French and cant read English much yet) and the girl at the desk kindly removed the mistake quickly.
Small hallways and un-doubled doors = we hear everybody pass by .

Room Tip: Get a room as high as you can if you need peace an quiet to sleep.... NYC is a busy and noisy town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
We cannot even begin to explain how disappointed we were to hear of the issues you experienced during your stay with us.

Please accept my sincere apology for the issues you faced. This is certainly not the experience we aim to provide our guests and I am truly sorry this happened to you. Our goal is to provide our guests with a welcoming, home-away-from-home, and to hear that we did not properly carry out this promise is very disappointing. Please know that this is not a typical service of our hotel.
I have notified our management team so that any and all issues are resolved immediately. We take hospitality, very seriously and although frustrating, thank you for bringing this to our direct attention. It is through guest feedback such as yours, that we can continue to enhance and improve upon our experience for all of our guests.


Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    160
    303
    158
    48
    30
See reviews for
119
175
92
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shes1namelian
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

(Arrived Christmas night) We loved every minute of our stay at Four Points! This hotel is truly off the beaten path, but close enough to plenty of subway lines in the event that you're not close enough to a desired destination. We travel to NYC at least once a year, and this is by far our favorite location. The rooms are a bit small, but that's part of the charm of NYC travel. The beds are amazingly comfortable. The bathroom is plenty big enough maybe a tiny complaint is there's little room to store my eleventy billion beauty products. This may be an irrelevant detail for some, but I loved that this little street is pretty well known for its vintage and mannequin shops. I shopped at the Goodwill, maybe 6 doors down and across the street and found some amazing finds. The Whole Foods was a good place to grab some beers to bring back to the hotel...the Brewhouse is a bit pricey even by NYC standards. Either way, this was a wonderful place to stay, especially if you want to avoid tourist spots. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that we have become your hotel of choice for Christmas. As for the bathroom space, our new design which will be completed this year will most definitely address the space issue you mentioned. We look forward to seeing you soon.

Regards,
Joseph Turano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Despite a minimal footprint and the need to shrink everything else down, the staff could not have been more courteous and efficient. The rooms were the best i"ve seen in a Four Points and the location's convenience to public transportation or within walking distance from many locations was a plus over some of it's higher priced brethren.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that our staff could accomodate you during your stay. We look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

Regards,
Joseph Turano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

This looks like a very old hotel. The rooms are too small. No queen beds. The bathroom is very small. And very noisy. We stayed on the 5th floor. We did not sleep all night due to traffic noise.

They said there is wifi. But it doesn't really work. And if it does it is very slow.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We apologize that we did not meet your expectations. In our scheduled renovation we are adding more Queen/Queen rooms, which is a rarety in New York City. We do hope you will give us a chance in the future to see the improvement.


Regards,
Joseph Turano
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Staff was very gracious during our stay. In the heart of Chelsea close to subway and walking distance to restaurants and shops . As mentioned by others and management they are looking forward to a refurbishment. I can say that the hotel is clean and the beds are cozy.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review. We are very much looking forward to our refurbishment and believe it will complement our amazing staff very well. Once again thanks for the recognition.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

It's probably a good 4 years since we last stayed here and unfortunately the rooms are now tired. Still great comfortable beds, free WiFi and good coffee, but the bathrooms are now a little shabby with dispensers instead of miniature toiletries and poor water pressure. The Four Points in Soho is in much better shape. Staff helpful and friendly as always but next time I would opt for a room at the back of the hotel to avoid being woken by noisy garbage trucks. Despite these minor faults, still good value for money and a good location.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We will be undergoing a complete renovation in 2013 and we would be more than excited to invite you back.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for seven days in the middle of December 2012 from Sunday to Sunday. From the airport transportation I made reserved through the hotel to the room doors that did not lock to the PPV movie system that did not work this hotel is a mess.

I received an email about great 50% off deals through the hotels website. I booked an airport transfer and it read they have the reservation will be in touch. Nothing.
I had to book a shuttle and wait almost an hour.

When I checked in I asked for a high floor and a King bed, which the agent smiled and said no problem. The 9th floor is not high at all and I got two twin beds right by the elevator, which I was too tired to go down and argue about. The agent also said he was going to slip some drink coupons under the door which never happened. The safety lock on the room was also broken off and the door did not lock. We did not sleep all night due to traffic noise.

The staff was able to move me to a higher room on the 21st floor two days later which was much quieter. No King bed available (even though they had availability online) due to overbooking. This room the PPV did not work and the door did not lock / latch properly. We even came back to the room after house cleaning went in and the door was unlocked!

The staff said they would send someone up to fix the lock and the PPV system repeatedly for about 2-3 days. Every other day the room key did not work and we had to go down and get a new one.

When I asked about the airport transfer I booked, the agent at the front desk gave me a blank stare. He then mentioned it was probably booked through the concierge. Too bad he did not work today though. On a Sunday? Come back tomorrow morning and ask I was told. Well guess what? He did not work Monday either!
When I did finally ask about it on Tuesday, the concierge was lost as expected. He made me feel like I made it up and I had to show him the email offer for the specials (which came from the GM by the way) and how to book it via the home web page.
He said it must have gotten lost. He said he would contact the GM and the manager and see what they could do for me and let me know. He felt very bad and was very nice with good follow up, mentioning he would call them every 10 minutes. He finally spoke with them and he told me there was nothing they could do, so sorry.

I also waited till the concierge was available to buy Empire State Building tickets. What hotel has a concierge that has Monday and Sunday off and works strange hours? Like off at 3 or 4?When I bought the 2 tickets to the Empire State building I thought they were discounted until I got it and saw they were the same price.

The food in the bar is is not very good either.

I would have moved from the hotel when told there were no King beds on Wednesday if I could have found another hotel with availability and a somewhat reasonable price, but they were all booked.

Room Tip: get high floor or get ready to stay up all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
First and foremost I would like to apologize about the experience you had at our hotel. If you could please forward me a copy of the email with my name on it offering a discount, I would love to see it. As for the concierge, the tickets for the Empire State are explained as being express tickets which help you avoid the lines.

I am sorry we could not completely satisfy you during your stay.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Address: 160 West 25th St., New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #302 of 451 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind our sleek design is the same comfort and service you expect from a Four Points. You won't need to go far to find a great restaurant, gallery or lounge. Over 2000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
4 Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Four Points New York City
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
New York City Sheraton
New York City Four Points
Four Points Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.