We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still a quiet night's sleep, but the room was run down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Save Saved
You added Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   160 West 25th St., New York City, NY 10011   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Join SPG to save 5% more
Ranked #295 of 446 hotels in New York City
New Jersey
Top Contributor
394 reviews 394 reviews
180 hotel reviews
Reviews in 167 cities Reviews in 167 cities
252 helpful votes 252 helpful votes
“Still a quiet night's sleep, but the room was run down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed with DH in December 2012. I continue to be amazed at how quiet the hotel is - strongly suggest asking for a room in the back on the highest floor possible. On an SPG floor, we had a large bed, desk with an office chair, a large, flat-screen TV, closet, and in-room coffee. The bathroom had plenty of hot water and good water pressure. House-keeping was adequate. The staff was universally pleasant and very helpful. Unfortunately, I was shocked at how banged up the room looked. The furniture has not aged well and the mattress was sagging. I hope the hotel replaces the furniture soon so this place gets back to being an excellent value for a quiet night's sleep in the city.
Have a great time in NYC!

Room Tip: For quiet, ask for a room in the back on a very high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for staying with us again. As for the furniture we will be undergoing a renovation in the upcoming year which we are very excited about. We look forward to seeing you in the future.


Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    158
    299
    150
    48
    30
See reviews for
113
171
90
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Normally these hotels are value for money and great places to stay. Not this one. Noisy, blinds that do not fit the window hence lights continually comes in. The bathroom amenities are in dispensers and the bathroom was very tired. The concierge quite frankly did not have a clue and when booking us a taxi to the airport tried to rip us off by about 40 bucks.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for review

We will be undergoing a renovation in the upcoming year which we are very excited about which will address some of your concerns.

As for the dispensers, they are now a standard in all Starwood Hotels. They are a much more greener way to dispense amenities in rooms.

As for the taxi's you were offered several options, yellow taxis which cannot be called, subway or private car service. Private car service tends to charge more than a yellow taxi for trips to the airport but not $40 more. If you had such an experience, please let me know and I will look into this for you.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Really good location as in soho and close go subway in safe area. Rooms are clean but small. Using elevators in morning impossible as only 2 and the housekeepers hog them. Go for north facing rooms. Drum practice popular nearby on south facing side. Clean

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. We take your feedback very seriously and will look into the issues you experienced during your stay. If you have any future requirements please feel free to contact me directly.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Me and my sister stayed here for 3 nights on the 23rd of November.... We fell in love with the comfy beds and wish we could have brought them back to England with us! But unfortunately our suitcases were full of lucky charms! Great nights sleep for our sore feet after walking every because the hotel really is in a great location. The room and bathroom was clean and we have no complaints about the space either. It was perfect for a quick and amazing shopping trip to New York.
The staff were friendly, always greeted us with smiles. We had problems with our transfers and the customer service manager gave them a call herself to help us. We were extremely grateful.

I would recommend this hotel to any who needs a quick but comfy break.
Thank you very much for making our holiday fab!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
We are very happy that we made your holiday getaway a pleasant one. We cant wait to have you back.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

You have to adjust your expectations accordingly in NYC. Don't be expecting a room at the Ritz even at the prices you'll be paying.

Pros: Free wifi, free amenities, clean bathrooms, AMAZING location in the middle of Chelsea, huge HDTV.
Cons: Outdated furniture, musty closet, no view.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you very much for your review. Even though we dont claim to offer 5 star accommodations we try to make our service reflect that. As for the furniture we will be undergoing a renovation in the upcoming year which we are very excited about. We look forward to seeing you in the future.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We just finished a weekend stay here. The location is great. We walked everywhere! The rooms were small, but that is to be expected in NY. The fitness room was also very small, but everything was clean and in working order and it was never too full of guests when I was there.

My only complaint about the hotel was the noise. It was so loud. I don't think I slept more than a 30 minute stretch all night. I could hear every conversation in the hall of my floor. And since we were on a lower level, we could also hear conversations on the street thru the closed windows. I didn't bother to ask for a new room because we were told at check in that the place was fully booked and even though we were spg gold our change request could not be honored.

Oh and not sure what these other reviews are talking about cupcakes at check in. We were never offered cupcakes--even tho we had a child with us.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for review. Even though we do not have much control over the city noise coming from the street, we do offer sleep kits at the front desk to make your nights rest easier. As for the cupcakes we do offer them 7 days per week at check-in.

Regards,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We booked four points Sheraton for 4 days. We were supposed to leave on the Monday 29th early but our flights were cancelled. We rebooked for the Wednesday but again flights were cancelled. Staff were very good and accomodatibg despite some very unpleasant guests being very rude to them. It wasnt their fault that the electric was out and water. We left on the Wednesday as we could not afford to stay and a friend who lives in nyc picked su up. The rooms were ok but old and dated.Massive tv but not much use without utwater oro electric. Would stay here again but didntt get a discount for the two extra days we booked. We paid usual rate at $670 for two nights with no electric, hot water or light and now find out that others had huge discount. Oh well you live and learn.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FourPointsChelsea, General Manager at Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate that you recognized our staffs assistance during Hurricane Sandy. We apologize about any confusion about a discount. It appears there was one guest who was falsifying information and stating we were offering a discount. What we were offering was no penalties for cancellations or early check-outs.

Thanks,
Joseph
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea

Also Known As:
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
4 Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points By Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea Hotel
Four Points New York City
Sheraton New York City
Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
New York City Sheraton
New York City Four Points
Four Points Manhattan Chelsea
Four Points Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea
Address: 160 West 25th St., New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#236 Business Hotel in New York City
#274 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Behind our sleek design is the same comfort and service you expect from a Four Points. You won't need to go far to find a great restaurant, gallery or lounge. Over 2000 square feet of meeting space. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Starwood, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Amex, Expedia, Otel, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Points by Sheraton Manhattan Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.