We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel next to Central Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, New York to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #51 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manalapan, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel next to Central Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Took my wife to the Mandarin for our anniversary. A little complicated trying to valet due to traffic but the staff quickly whisked our car and luggage to its appropriate destinations. The room was clean, comfy, big enough and even though it had a partial view of Central Park, still wonderful. The concierge was very helpful. We did eat at the restaurant which was a great experience: the service, food and decor was worth every penny. We are planning to go back and just have dinner!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    190
    72
    35
    13
See reviews for
134
348
64
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

we stayed 4 nights in the Mandarin with another couple. Both our rooms were of very good quality and spotlessly clean. The housekeeping and turn down service was excellent as was the concierge service. I would recommend this hotel to anyone for either business or pleasure as it is set in the heart of New York just adjacent to Central Park.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The Mandarin Oriental in New York is located next to Central Park at Columbus Circle. It sits proudly in the heart of the city with all that is on offer in this great city, restaurants, shops, transport links.
The reception i located on the 35th floor and the hotel goes up from 35 to 50 plus floor.
The bar on the 35th is a gathering place especially after a days work and many casually sit enjoy and socialise.
The Spa is on the same floor and is reputed to be a great spa with wonderful treatments carefully administered.

Room Tip: High Floor with views over the Hudson or Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

My opinion: a very nice hotel. But for a Mandarin Oriental, I had hoped to say an extraordinary hotel.

Lobby:
situated on the 35th floor. Nice, impressive, nice lounge to have snacks and drinks. Service: okay. Be sure to make a reservation, it is very busy here.

Restaurant:
great! Had breakfast here 7 days in a row! Special thanks to Aneta and Geraldine (from Belgium, like us :-) ), we had a table at the windows 7 days in a row! Great!!! Service: impeccable! Best to make reservations to have a table with a view!!

Rooms:
okay. Size great, bathroom needs a bit more shelving to store stuff. Rooms look okay, but no ‘wow’-effect (except from the view!! ) concerning the interior design. Great walk-in dressing. (we had room 4802). One can here every word said in the hallway, so for a 5star, I would definitely change all the doors by soundproof ones. There was construction going on in the room next door, so the noise was horrible. But I understand that a hotel needs to improve, so as long as the noise didn’t start before 8.30, I did not feel the need to complain.

Pool:
well…. this was a bit of a downer for me. A pool on the 36th floor should / could be breathtaking, but the entire area (dressingrooms, shower, small sauna) looked rather basic. If you compare this to the Mandarin in Paris… The pool is in the basement there, but oh dear! Did that look great there!!!! So here, the 36th floor should give a feeling of extraordinary, super-de-luxe, over-the-top, but well… it didn’t. Changing room: only one shower.

My overall impression: perfect location, nice views, but some improvements concerning interior design need to make (yeah, for the people who have read my previous reviews, a love a hotel that leaves me breathless, or where I at least get some ideas if I wanna change my home interior again ;-)).
We had lunch one day in the Baccarat hotel one day (recently opened), and well: the interior design there left me speechless for at least 5 minutes (which is long for me, LOL). So if the Mandarin wants to belong to the best, they should go and have a look there (what i didn’t like in the Baccarat by the way, was that there is no view when sitting in their lounge. So the Mandarin has a lot more potential).

Would I stay here again? Yes. We have met some very nice staff people here (Aneta, Geraldine, the french guy managing the lobby lounge), and their friendliness is something that sticks!
And if you are at reception, and you are being served by an extraordinary handsome guy with the most beautiful eyes one has seen, well, that’s Gabriel. His smile, and the view from the 35th floor, they both made my heart go in overdrive.

Room Tip: Go as high as you can!! And try the park view (not that you see a lot of the park due to Trumps ugly...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear CCLGRS,

We truly appreciate the time you took to write about your stay with us earlier this month at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We were thrilled to read all of your kind words about our colleagues and the service they provided during your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Even in the coldest months, this hotel is amazing!!! Service is impeccable and they are always striving to ensure our needs are met.
When we had lunch nearby they had the hotel car take us, and when we came back a few months ago they remembered us from our past trip. We had an unfortunate incident with some hangers,however the housekeeping manager contacted us back at home to ensure all was handled to our satisfaction. That was impressive.

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Yogamom7,

We appreciate the time you took to write about your stay with us a few months ago. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the service our colleagues provided and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Strategically located, it offers a top notch accomodation, with discreet and friendly service, over some of NY's best views

The bar - just a couple of stairs bellow the hotel reception - equally ranks to the top NY addresses for a peaceful drink with some of the city's best view

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Kyblaw,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your stay with us earlier this month. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the service provided by our colleagues as well as the views of New York City. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed in the Mandarin Oriental for one week in March and had an amazing time there. Staff was very friendly and very efficient - concierge, reception desk, breakfast room....Our room overlooking Central Park as well as the Hudson River was incredible. Bathroom was very clean, bed comfortable and for NY standards the room was spacious. Enjoyed the hotel thoroughly and would stay there most definitely again.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear FranW1896,

Thank you very much for taking a moment to write about your stay with us last month. We are delighted to hear how much you enjoyed the service provided by our colleagues as well as your room accommodations. We hope to have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Warm Regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#9 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Mandarin Oriental, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.