We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, New York to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Offer
Ranked #48 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Spectacular views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2014

Probably the biggest advertisement for the Mandarin are its incredible views over Central Park. The restaurant is also quite a spectacular setting. Service is impeccable. Easy walk to pretty much everything uptown.

Couple of negatives: the restaurant / bar food service stops surprisingly early for being in NYC (though the super-friendly bartender took care of us our first night). And the rooms are surprisingly small unless you go into the suite category. On the weekend, we had some noisy neighbors and it was surprising how much you could hear from the hall and adjacent rooms.

Room Tip: High floor park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 27, 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience!! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    173
    68
    33
    12
See reviews for
119
316
61
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014

Located directly above cnn headquarters nyc, the view from this hotel is absolutely breathtaking, provided that you book a room on the higher floors and at the side of central park, which you will regret if you find out later what you have been missing out on. Breakfast in the restaurant (we would suggest to eat a la carte not the buffet) is wonderful and again breathtaking views. Free gym/sauna/pool facilities leave room for improvement, somewhat small. However the hotel houses one of the best (paid) spas in town so not very surprising the attention is focused there. Of course, this hotel is horribly expensive (eur 1,000 minimum) a night but hey its nyc and you get a view!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Nice hotel. Great location. Rooms have beautiful views on Central Park and Hudson River. Beds are very comfortable. Great spa. Friendly staff. Nice pool area. Breakfast is ok. Ask for upper floors where you can enjoy a nice views of upper east side.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and our views. We truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Great hotel, definitely 5 stars. Locations is excellent. Take a room with a view on Central Park. Rooms with view Hudson river are great too on upper floors, but still to get the best from New York, go on another side, look at Central Park and all the buildings around. Excellent in any weather. Ask for upper floors if possible. We were staying at 51 and 53 - great views!
Hotel is expensive, yes, very expensive. Breakfast is good but overpriced. Rooms are almost clean. By almost i mean if you look under your bed - you'll find out what i mean ;) Staff is very polite and helpful. Pool and gym are OK, but we've seen better. Keep in mind that to go outside, you'll be take two elevators instead of one and same - to get to your room, just can be slow in busy hours :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lancashire
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Looking forward to our treat at this hotel, chosen because of proximity to Central Park and it's reputation.
Given lovely room on 54th floor with view down the Hudson and Manhatten.
Breakfast was a disaster, awful service, awful food, complained and didn't get charged and given bottle of Moët later as apology.
Reception on 38th floor so had to use lifts a lot in and out.
Coffee lounge in reception was poor for service too!!
Probably wouldn't stay again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed at the Hotel for business for 3 nights. It is a beautiful hotel with wonderful city views. Since it is a newer hotel in New York the rooms are quite spacious in comparison to other New York Hotels. The food was very good and the views from the restaurant over Central Park are spectacular. The pool and fitness center where clean, new and well taken care of. The Spa seemed very nice but i did not use it. If you have the money for this kind of hotel go ahead and enjoy. I don't think you will be disappointed. For the rest of us, I would save some money and look elsewhere. I'm not sure it is worth the big bucks.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, February 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your Mandarin Oriental, New York stay! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug, Switzerland
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

First time we were staying at the MO NYC. We are very used to the MO Bangkok and Geneva, willing to discover a nice view on Central Park and the River.

Hotel is fine, just what we were expected from MO, room are nice and quite large for Manhattan, the view from the suite on the 45th floor worst definitively the trip and the sunrise was beautiful.

The bathroom are a little bit too small, but having an guest toilet in the entrance was a plus.
The bed was good a bit to small for us, used the the european or asian standarts.

The spa could offer a bit more luxury or comfort in the changing rooms - looking more like a sport zone than a real MO spa. But the treatment (facial) was fabulous.

We will definitively go back, specially for the caviar and champagne breakfast and the large offer of gluten-free products!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, April 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Mandarin Oriental, New York! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your experience and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#34 Business Hotel in New York City
#37 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#41 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#47 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.