We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, New York

Save Saved
You added Mandarin Oriental, New York to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Daily Dining / Spa Credit
Ranked #66 of 449 hotels in New York City
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

We went for a short trip (weekend) and decided to stay at the MO. We were not disappointed, the room was amazing, spacious and very clean. The bed was very comfortable and the view from the 56th floor breathtaking, especially at night. The location was great. Unlike other rooms at other hotels in NY, you could really feel that you can breathe in the MO room! The price is indeed high - as one would expect - but we would stay here again.

Room Tip: the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are thrilled that had an amazing time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

701 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    150
    64
    31
    11
See reviews for
105
270
57
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

I've stayed in the MO NY several times and this was a quick one night stay - a staycation really as I live now in the area and just fancied a night away from home to match up with a party I was going to uptown.

Again, the MO did not disappoint. All New York hotel rooms are modest in size compared to some other cities, but even the smallest MO NYC room is actually quite decent. Great service from staff and definitely the best view of New York from their lobby lounge. I had particularly great help from housekeeping who sorted out my ironing and shoe shining in just 30 minutes as I arrived quite late, and also from concierge who went out on the run for me for cufflinks which I had forgotten - they appeared with a package from the nearby Thomas Pink store in less than 45 minutes.

Room Tip: Higher up, obviously gives an even better view, although all hotel floors are quite high. My favouri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are thrilled to be your favourite and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Booked a suite for the 2 of us, and a room for our son &his wife &toddler. Asked for a good view (Hudson &central park), and got moved, after 1 night, to a very good suite 4930, with the young ones in 4932; closing a door in corridor created a supersuite -- excellent for little Ella. The view was wonderful.

All meals there were very good, inc. service. Lounge is very good.

Very clean.

All requests were promptly taken care of, inc. 2 cribs -- 1 in each room.

Mixup with concierge lost the young ones a chance to get to "sleep no more" -- were told bookings not needed, which was not so. They tried to fix, but the tickets available were too late -- we left that day.

We were wait-listed for quite a while (1 night was problematic) but were happy to get in at the end.

Room Tip: The "30 suites" are special
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that had an amazing time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

When we booked on line it said 6pm checkout which is wonderful with kids on a sunday, when we got to the hotel they said noon checkout but eventually made one of our two rooms 6pm checkout which was nice. Staff was amazing, location could not be better, we used the pool, there are no DVD players in the room, wifi was not free. The rooms are expensive and small but I guess you get what you pay for. Rooms service was fast and delicious. Connecting rooms are Great for families. Walk to the park, FAO, rock center, times square.

Room Tip: Get connecting rooms and late checkout and wifi and rollaway bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience with your kids! We are thrilled that had a great time and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

I went from the Mandarin Oriental in Tokyo (Japan) to the one in NYC in 2 days, it's amazing how two hotels from the same luxurious chain can be so different. The one in Tokyo is perfection the NYC one is the exact opposite.

Everything is bad, from the moment you arrive and nobody is there to help with your luggage to the check in at reception where you won't be shown to your rooms, the furthest you will be escorted to is the elevator still hauling your luggage !

You will find the only above 40USD breakfast in the world that includes no hot or cold drink in it, yes, you heard me, coffee, tea, juice are all supplements that with tax will almost double the price of your breakfast.

The spa is really not nice, very cold place with absolutely no charm.

Rooms are clean and ok, but in this category of hotels you expect the full package, great location, perfect service, and nice rooms. In the case of the Mandarin Oriental New York you won't find it.

Don't even think about staying there unless there is nothing else left, I can guarantee you will be disappointed !

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Hello Marcel! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mandarin Oriental, New York. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The NY Mandarin Oriental is truly a great hotel. You should, however, take into account that you are in New York where rooms are extremely small. The rooms of the Mandarin are beautiful (with great views) but not huge. The location, staff & service is top.

I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your kind words about your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenafly, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Wow, from the lobby, to the lounge, to the rooms. Was attending a party and we given a special rate, (well not that special was still $750 for night) so we decided to splurge and stay over even though we live only 20 minutes away.

Parking garage is easy access is in same hotel or you can do valet. The lobby is on something like the 40th floor and just grand. Views across Central Park are great. Even if you are not staying at hotel you can have a drink or tea in the lounge.

Room was very nice, we had a standard room which still had a decent view of Central Park although partially blocked by the Trump International Hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Mandarin Oriental, New York experience! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and truly appreciate your feedback. We hope to see you again soon (and hopefully much more than once!)

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in New York City
#44 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#46 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#63 Business Hotel in New York City
#101 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.