We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic room with view of Central Park” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, New York to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic room with view of Central Park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in the Central Park view corner suite on the 51st view. Great room with an excellent view. The living area, bedroom, and bathroom are spacious. A guest bathroom is off the living area. Good views from the bar and restaurant off the lobby. The hotel is just off Columbus circle and across the street from Central Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.


We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

883 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    573
    190
    72
    35
    13
See reviews for
134
348
64
163
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Water, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights with my husband on business and received a complimentary upgrade to a room with a central park view! It was our first time staying at the New York Mandarin Oriental and we were pleased to find that the customer service is fantastic, especially the front of house staff. The location is fantastic - you can get to wholefoods and various other shops without leaving the building, perfect for rainy days. With Starbucks opposite the hotel and the park across the road its hard to beat the location. The view from the restaurant is amazing and the food was surprisingly cheap for the quality. The internet was very fast in the hotel room. The bathroom is very luxurious - perfect for romantic evenings. Th gym, although small is fully functional although it doesn't have a great view. The swimming pool is worth a visit even if just for the view. This is now our chosen hotel in New York and we will be returning in August.

Room Tip: Definitely opt for a room with a central park view! The higher the floor the better the view :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words our view of Central Park. It is quite a beautiful place. We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

This is as good as it gets. The rooms are beautiful. The beds so comfortable. Tvs are great. Great views. Great service. Peaceful and relaxing. Great location. The best hotel in NYC. The bar has great drinks and great views. The decorations are prime.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester NJ
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Spent a night here Mother's Day Weekend - spent an incredible few hours at the amazing spa - and enjoyed the location, the hospitality, and the comfy room. Such a treat! We upgraded to room with a view - but honestly if you are out and about enjoying everything the city has to offer - probably don't need the view from your window too, if you are looking to save somewhere.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

When in NYC my husband and I will only stay at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. We always have a great time, but after this past weekend I had to write a review because there isn't a hotel in the world that could have given my husband, my family and my friends this experience. My husband and I had our wedding there which was the most spectacular event that any of our family and friends have ever experienced. The ballroom is a dream with the most spectacular views of Columbus Circle and Central Park, In my opinion the best views in NYC. The service and the food were by far the finest any of us have ever had... But the wedding was what is was because of the extremely talented and creative Associate Director of Catering, James Munz, who in my opinion is the gem of any event that takes place at the Mandarin. His knowledge and experience blew us away, but his personality made working with him the best experience for my husband and I. I have been to and have hosted many events but this was the smoothest, finest and most organized team of people I have ever worked with. Over 100 of our family and friends stayed at the hotel for the wedding and all of us were cared for beyond our expectations. The hotel rooms are stunning and the beds a dream to sleep in. The brunch the morning after the wedding was fabulous as well. If anyone doubts that you can't have it all at one location, well I would like to tell you that you can have the finest event in the finest hotel in NYC with the best food and service in NYC with by far the best views in NYC and its all at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in NYC. Oh... and I forgot to mention the Spa is out of this world.

Room Tip: We have stayed there so many times in many different rooms. We loved every room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are delighted that you chose our hotel for your wedding! It was absolutely fabulous and we are so thrilled to have played a tiny part. Thank you for taking the time to share your review. We hope you will visit us again soon (and for every anniversary going forward!)

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palm beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

We've stayed many times in NYC with our children and dog in various luxury hotels. The Mandarin is by far the best. From check in to check out...flawless. The views from our suite...4816 were spectacular! Our room was not ready upon arrival, but they did their very best in making us comfortable. They offered complimentary cocktails and wine in The Lobby Lounge, along with lunch. The view from the lounge was amazing. The last thing on our minds was the room. Overall, spacious, comfortable, excellent service, great food and drink. Pricey, but worth every penny! I no longer have to search for the best hotel in NYC...I found it. it's the Mandarin!

Room Tip: Corner suites are the best. The rooms begin on the 35th floor...higher you go, amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for your kind words. We are thrilled you had a flawless experience! We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberwell, Australia
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We have been staying here for past week and have enjoyed ever moment. We are on the 49th Floor with a magnificent view over Central Park and Columbus Circle and one could sit for hours just watching New York move its so fascinating.
The Hotel is a lovely place to stay and well worth the price and nothing is to much trouble for any of the staff. We would recommend this Hotel to anybody and would return any day without a doubt.

Room Tip: A room with a view! Overlook Central Park and Columbus is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. We hope you will visit us again soon.

Warm Regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#9 Business Hotel in New York City
#43 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#45 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Mandarin Oriental, Priceline, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.