We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Consistent Excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, New York

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, New York to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Midtown)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary 3rd Night
Ranked #49 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando
Level Contributor
43 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Consistent Excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for just one night this time. Upgraded to beautiful corner suite. Linens toiletries and room set up all suitable for a 5 star experience. Check in was efficient. Lobby bar and lounge area have spectacular views and solid food. Look forward to staying there again.
Only negative is it is a modern hotel in a modern building. So you dont get that old school, old New York feel like you do at the Waldorf, Carlyle, Plaza etc.
Time Warner Center and the shopping and restaurants is a nice bonus too.

Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello goof87! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff. 

We hope to welcome you back very soon!



Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

951 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    622
    201
    76
    36
    16
See reviews for
150
369
71
176
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was our second stay at this hotel. Our first experience was terrific and this one was mixed.

The hotel is wonderfully situated, the building is beautiful and we love the contemporary design of the rooms/lobby/lounge. The hotel begins on the 35th floor which makes for a spectacular view of the city from any room. We especially love the floor-to-ceiling windows in all the rooms. We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Central Park before and although it is a very nice hotel, it is in an older building so the windows are much smaller and there are only 12 or 15 floors, so you really can't see much of Central Park or the city.

Breakfast was part of our package and everyday the food was delicious and service was very good.

There is a beautiful lounge on the 35th floor which has a great design and fantastic views of the city and central park. Unfortunately we did not have access to it for any of the 4 nights we stayed there as it was rented out for private parties. The lounge would be a terrific location for drinks before dinner...or any time. The fact that it was not available to the hotel's normal guests for 4 nights in a row is unacceptable in my opinion. I certainly understand the hotel's desire to make additional money from renting out the space, but renting it out everyday shows an indifference to the experience of their normal guests.

We also experienced some inconsistent service and follow up at the front desk.

Room Tip: We have stayed in both Central Park View and Premier Central Park view. I think splurging for centr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello twosquares! Thank you so much for taking the time to review Mandarin Oriental, New York. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope that you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com.

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Staing at the Mandarin Oriental New York was a wonderful experience. I was just there for one night but I know that I will return in the future. Their staff was quite helpful and sincere. I'm already looking forward to my next trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Donald O! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff. 

We hope to welcome you back very soon!



Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

nice entrance of the hotel. great stall nice people and service,
good food , beautiful pool area, and a very but very good spa.
tha massage was uniqeu,
the food in the restaurant great and i will be back for sure

Room Tip: ask for the bay view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Linda S! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff. 

We hope to welcome you back very soon!



Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

From day one on a great experience. A great care of the details...from the reception to the rooms (including a most confortable bed!)...to the health club...or breakfast with breathtaking views. All of this in a great location while projecting serenity. Our best hotel experience in NYC. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Tuilieres! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff. 

We hope to welcome you back very soon!



Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The Manadrin Oriental remains by far one if the best hotels in the city. The Asian touch, attention to detail and service make this hotel stand out. This was our second stay at the hotel and all the staff from the porter to the receptionist were quick to welcome us back.

While the rooms are on the small side (quite normal for New York hotels), they were very comfortable and have amazing views over the park.

Asiate is also worth a visit – the restaurant has a distinctly Asian feel, very muted and intimate, while the food impressive (it is rather on the pricy side, but not more than you would pay at any upscale brunch place in the city.)

Would definitely keep coming back to this hotel while in New York.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello LondonLavander! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff. 

We hope to welcome you back very soon!



Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

I was lucky enough to spend one night at the Mandarin during the Sandy Blackout. Their staff was excellent, the room beautiful. I had room service, it arrived on time and prepared exactly to my specifications. It was one of my best hotel experiences in New York City.

Room Tip: Ask for a Park view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Hello Wanda L! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff. 

We hope to welcome you back very soon!



Best regards,

Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Upper West Side
Trump International Hotel and Tower New York
Trump International Hotel and To...
#37 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 791 reviews
Midtown
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Central Park
The Ritz-Carlton New York, Centr...
#36 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Midtown
Four Seasons Hotel New York
Four Seasons Hotel New York
#89 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Midtown
The Peninsula New York
The Peninsula New York
#59 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 699 reviews
Midtown
Park Hyatt New York
Park Hyatt New York
#15 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 347 reviews
Midtown
The St. Regis New York
The St. Regis New York
#51 of 464 in New York City
4.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Midtown , Manhattan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in New York City
#17 Business Hotel in New York City
#39 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#40 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#100 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Travelocity, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Venere, Otel and Jetsetter so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.