We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Million Dollar Views minus the "MO Perfection"” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mandarin Oriental, New York

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mandarin Oriental, New York to your Saves list
Mandarin Oriental, New York
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023 (Manhattan)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed and Breakfast Offer
Ranked #50 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
994 helpful votes 994 helpful votes
“Million Dollar Views minus the "MO Perfection"”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Being a true and loyal MO Fan, we thought of no other hotel for our stay in New York and naturally expected to be awed again by the legendary MO standard. For one thing, we would expect a hotel of this category to place utmost importance on "attention to details" prior to, and especially throughout the guests' entire stay.

One request I always make prior to our arrival is regarding the rollaway bed. I would e-mail the hotels prior to arrival, as I did in this case, and instruct that the rollaway bed NOT to be set-up until after we have checked-in to our room and preferably done during the usual turn down service because we like to have the room in a neat and uncluttered fashion and so we can take nice photographs. In this instance, I received an acknowledgement from the hotel that they would gladly accommodate the request. We feel this to be a simple request. However, upon our entry to the room, I was dismayed to find the roll-away not "set-up" as confirmed, BUT instead, vertically propped up against the living room window blocking out the entire Central Park views that was the main feature of this suite (this is shown in the attached pictures)! I had to call the front desk to instruct the bed to be removed and set-up during turn-down service. The front desk was apologetic and sent up housekeeping to rectify the matter. This first impression of our arrival was of imperfection and slightly disappointed with complete lack of "attention to details" that led to this.

It may have pleased me that housekeeping who showed up then specifically asked me if I wanted the bed removed each day during room make up and brought back in during turn down service, to which I cheerfully said yes. However, this courteous offer actually led to further disappointment after it was never carried out as promised. Another instance of overlooking the details.

Concierge services appeared attentive and helpful at first contact. However, the large team of concierges and rotation of duty without systematic passing over of information leads to confusion amongst themselves and for the guest. I commend each concierge individually for the assistance they provide, but the rotation system should reviewed as to ensure a seamless process for guests.

Housekeeping services should improve response time. Many times, we have already forgotten that we had made a request before someone shows up over half-an-hour later.

The suite was generally clean but a part of the carpet was soaking wet and the dusty curtains triggered allergy symptoms on our part, which we could live with but rarely experienced at other 5-star hotels in the same category as MO.

Most of these are minor shortcomings but more importantly, they demonstrate the lack of attention to details and coordination which should not happen at an MO property. The million dollar views compensated for all the small annoyances we faced and allowed us to enjoy our stay for the most part and provide an overall rating of 4/5 stars. This is not to complain, but bring the management's attention to all the little things that can make a guests stay perfect, as an MO experience should be. We hope this will be taken as constructive feedback for further improvement, for the comfort of others expecting the 'MO way'.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Hello motutoopua! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your comments further so we can examine the issues you experienced. We hope you will reach out to us directly at monyc-executiveoffice@mohg.com, and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

790 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    505
    173
    67
    33
    12
See reviews for
119
314
60
137
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

After years of staying in hotel after hotel in New York City, I have found one that is a calm, inviting and inviting place to be. The staff is excellent, the food wonderful and don't miss the swimming pool. It was worth the wait to find this place.

Room Tip: I like the Hudson River views more than the Central Park views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Hello Andrew A.! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

Having returned from our summer holiday in France we find that our connecting flight home was cancelled because of storms. Since we couldn't get out until the next afternoon we decided to stay in the city. We then found ourselves scrambling to find a room and the Mandarin was one of the few hotels that had a room so we grabbed it. We prefer to stay in boutique hotels. Having said that we couldn't have been happier with our choice. We were upgraded to a suite overlooking Manhattan and Central Park on the 46th floor and it was luxurious and comfortable. Every single staff member we encountered couldn't have been nicer and we were even allowed a late checkout! Thank you Mandarin Oriental for a wonderful, albeit short, stay!

Room Tip: I enjoyed the view of Central Park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello Sondra W.! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint James, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend our 20th wedding anniversary in NYC. Since it was just a weekend we decided to focus on the Upper West Side and chose the Mandarin Oriental. The first impression when entering the hotel is that you are being transported to a calm and serene world away from all the hustle and bustle of NYC. A nice way to unwind after a long day of site seeing and shopping in the city. This is a hotel that pays attention to hospitality and service and is conveniently located to Upper West Side attractions like Lincoln Center. A great choice if you are going to be in that area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello ayang90! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Had a great stay and i have always loved the Mandarin Oriental NYC. Love the tea time in the Lobby, as well as teh Chocolate covered strawberries in the room at check in. They have great customer service from when you arrive to when you leave. A special thanks to Ryan and Guillermo who where great at greating my partner and i and giving us some great ideas of places to eat and things to do. Look forward to my next visit to NYC.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello Chicago1982! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Düsseldorf, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

I just spent one night in this hotel and I was lucky as my room was on the 51 floor facing Central park. Just coming in your room opening the curtains and then seeing this amazing city below your feet is just amazing. New York becomes a quiet place from up there. The reception is on the 36th floor, the staff there is very friendly and helpful. The room had a warm oriental design, but modern and straight. The bed was lovely. My bathroom has a bath and a shower as well as a separate toilet. It was very clean. I also enjoyed a cocktail at night overseeing New York nightlife and I thought the prices at 19 $ were acceptable for such a view and cocktail. I think there are probably hotels that are even more luxerous, but what I really liked is that this hotel does not overdo it. So its luxury, but without the golden design and quiet voices. I also saw quite a few families with kids, so that seems to work well as well, probably because the park is so close. For all shoppers: great place to start your tour :-) And by the way a big thankyou to the hotel as I was offered a free pair of amazing shoes!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Hello Liesbeth M.! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

We were very very happy with our stay at this hotel. We had the most amazing view from our suite which looked over Central Park and the bordering buildings. It was so beautiful it was hard to pull ourselves away from it. The staff were so helpful and pleasant and nothing was overlooked. We were given complimentary cookies and cupcakes which the kids loved. Another wonderful thing the Mandarin did was to give us complimentary books (novels) to take home as part of a reading program they support. It was very generous. The elevators were also quite smooth and efficient as Reception is on the 35th floor.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandarin_NYC, Guest Relations Manager at Mandarin Oriental, New York, responded to this review, July 19, 2012
Hello Adelaide94! Thank you so much for reviewing your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, New York. We are delighted to hear your positive feedback and kind words about our hotel and staff.

We hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,
Mandarin Oriental, New York Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mandarin Oriental, New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, New York

Address: 80 Columbus Circle at 60th Street, New York City, NY 10023
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan , Upper West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in New York City
#38 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#38 Business Hotel in New York City
#44 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#45 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, New York 5*
Number of rooms: 248
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A stunning fusion of modern design with stylish Oriental flair, Mandarin Oriental, New York features 244 elegant guestrooms and suites - all with breathtaking views of Manhattan and Five-Star hospitality. Luxurious amenities include Asiate, the hotel's elegant restaurant; MObar created by noted interior designer, Tony Chi; the Lobby Lounge with dramatic views of Central Park; a 14,500-square-foot, Five-Star Mandarin Oriental Spa; and a state-of-the-art fitness center with a 75-foot lap pool. In addition, there is premium meeting and event space, including a 6,000-square-foot pillar-less ballroom with three walls of windows overlooking Central Park. Located in Columbus Circle's Time Warner Center, Mandarin Oriental, New York is in an idyllic location just steps away from world-class dining, shopping and entertainment, including the Broadway Theater District, Lincoln Center, Central Park, Jazz at Lincoln Center and the Time Warner Center's collection of upscale retail shops and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, New York reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, New York Hotel New York City
Mandarin Oriental New York City
Mandarin New York City
New York City Mandarin Oriental

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mandarin Oriental, New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.