We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The magic is back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Maritime Hotel to your Saves list
The Maritime Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #98 of 457 Hotels in New York City
Montréal
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The magic is back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2010

It's The Maritime I like: cozy, comfortable & friendly that I discovered again during my last stay. If you plan to stay in that part of Manhattan (Meatpacking district), you should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    143
    33
    15
    2
See reviews for
49
124
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2010

Love Japanese ambienced room/toiletries, friendly eager to please staff, convenient biz center. Restaurants very reasonable, good food fun patio/vibe. Love the windows! Small euro space, every detail equipped. Great place to meet biz/friends. Few blocks from our son's home, so we will be regulars. Big problem: No cable Fox News. Just CNN/MSNBC same ole.. No Neil Cavuto??!! Great Place! As filmmaker have already sent other clients.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritime_Manager, Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, June 15, 2010
Hey Guys! Thanks so much for the review and also the response to our hotel feedback email after your stay. In case you hadn't heard, we are upgrading our cable services in early November and we will have every news source available, including Fox News. I would love to make the change sooner, but unfortunately we are bound by a few contracts for a couple more months.

We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to see your son! Welcome to the extended Maritime family.

James Palmer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blossvale New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

I'm in NYC about 4/5 times a year and I stay in various places. The Maritime is averagely priced for the area and have found every stay to be delightful. Beds and Linens are extremely comfortable. The rooms are on the smaller side but when you are in NYC you only typically use them to sleep in :)

Best part of the stay is always the shower... big shower heads that dump water over you.

I'll stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2010

I was not expecting this to be as good as it was! Price & location were my reasons for staying here, but it was great! Very funky nautical theme throughout (rooms have round windows like portholes) with a really pleasant & good patio restaurant off the lobby and a very good oriental restaurant down below. The location is wonderful: near Highline; meatpacking district; Hudson; Chelsea market. Only drawback is every room has just 1 queen bed which is very limiting but if it works for you, definately stay here.
Nancy C., Cincinnati

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2010

This is my go to hotel in NY. Great neighborhood. Great service. Rooms are nicely appointed (although small which is typical for most NYC hotels). Bathrooms though are really small, but really good shower. Super comfy bed + linens. Both La Bottega & Matsuri are fabulous restaurants. Matsuri is absolutely gorgeous, great for client dinners! Rooms on lower floors can be noisy in the summer when the outdoor patio is bustling till late hours.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2010

A boutique hotel with a warm chic feel. i do recommend.
Positives: awesome hotel restaurant/bar set-up. a really cool vibe and the staff were really nice, accomodating. The shower was awesome.
Negatives, the the room size was underwhelming. The website pics portrayed seemed a lot larger than in real life.
It was noisy at time, but hey that is what i guess you have to expect when in meat packing district.
all in a good experience and i would stay there again

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

This hotel is very unique. The rooms are modern and clean (quite small though!) and the bathroom is fantastic - best shower head on tour!
We stayed here 2 nights, and both nights we struggled with the noise coming from the bar below. On our first night, we complained to the front desk who offered to move us to a room a few floors up, but when checking out the room, it was just as noisy -so we stayed put. I bought some ear plugs and so was able to sleep better the second night. We stayed over a weekend, so its possible if you stay during the week you wont have this problem.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Business Hotel in New York City
#97 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#145 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Splendia, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maritime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.