We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Maritime Hotel to your Saves list
The Maritime Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #86 of 463 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tawonga South, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed here 3 years ago on my own-although I met up with friends who were renting a nearby apartment..
The hotel was in a wonderful location near the Chelsea market, and the high line., and had easy access to trains to take you anywhere.
The rooms were small, but great bed with pillow choices and crisp white linen.
I used the business centre every day, and the lobby and bar were comfortable as a single woman.
I loved New York, and the position of this hotel.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid disco noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    150
    35
    15
    3
See reviews for
53
142
43
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mantua, Italy
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

2nd time to this incredible hotel located on the chelsea area close to Meat Packing district.
Close to the subway station and to High line as well.
The room are quite small with a single bed tiny small... with a lovely bathroom. The atmosphere on the hotel is quite charming and the terrace with the restaurant is wonderful also for a drink.
I think I'll be back again even if the room rate are quite expensive for the room size.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
GIOMN- Thank you so much for passing on your comments and staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and this great location. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Since a lot of people do read these reviews I did just want to confirm that we offer one Queen size bed in our standard rooms and one King size bed in our Penthouse rooms. We hope to welcome you back to The Maritime Hotel in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent 6 nights here on a business trip with a couple of days holiday thrown in. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. The rooms are great, not massive butt more than big enough and everything was very clean. The location is amazing with lots of brilliant bars and restaurants within spitting distance. There is also a really nice outdoor bar/terrace area which seems to attract lots of locals (always a good sign I think), the service was a bit slow here but as long as you aren't in a rush it's fine.

Chelsea Market is just across the road and there is a subway about 3mins walk away.

If you decide not to have breakfast in the hotel I would highly recommend The Grey Dog (242 W 16th St) or Park (118 10th Ave) both are less than 5 mins walk and do amazing food.

Room Tip: I was on 11th floor facing the Hudson which is over the main road but this noise didn't bother m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
KEM1980-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on Trip Advisor and for choosing The Maritime Hotel. We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are glad to hear you took advantage of some amenities we offer and some sites around us like the Chelsea Market, The Grey Dog, and The Park. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let me know if I can ever be of assistance on a future visit. All the best, Matt Moore- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Spent 4 nights on a business trip this past April. The rooms are small but efficiently laid out and well appointed. The design is very tasteful and not overbearing at all (unlike several other competing hotels in the area). All in all this is a reasonably priced no fuss (and well located) hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
NicMTL-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and found your stay to be filled with simplicity and comfort . We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. All the Best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My husband and I had a wedding to go to over Memorial Day weekend at the Prospect Park Boathouse in Brooklyn. When looking for hotels, we decided to go with the Maritime instead of the hotels with the wedding blocks. Our reasoning was that A) the Maritime's incredible location not only lent itself to downtown shopping- West Village, Chelsea Market, Eataly etc. but was also accessible to Brooklyn via the subway OR an affordable cab ride (and it was TOTALLY easy) and B) the awesome vibe and impeccable sense of style was something we had heard about and couldn't wait to try out for ourselves. Our choice was spot on! From the moment we arrived we felt welcomed, pampered and of course "super cool"...something very important for a couple away from their 13 month old for the first extended weekend! The room was beautiful, clean, and had the best blackout curtains...floor to ceiling, covering the entire wall...no cracks of light. The room was also incredibly quiet. I thought for sure that because of all of the popular clubs and restaurants in the immediate area we would hear a little noise. We heard NOTHING! The bathroom was clean, incredibly stylish and the Bigelow products were heavenly (the Marvis toothpaste was definitely a treat). The staff was welcoming, professional and extremely knowledgeable- bellmen were prompt, courteous and friendly and the room service staff made sure to always ask if there was anything else they could provide. The front desk made sure that all of our questions were answered and that we were having a pleasant stay. Overall we are completely satisfied! We will DEFINITELY be returning...and we might even get around to finally trying La Bottega next time. I would recommend this hotel to any of my friends and family looking for a fun getaway in the heart of the city.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Caitlin M- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. I'm sure your 13month year old keeps you both busy but glad to hear you were able to enjoy some time away together here at The Maritime. Your feedback is much appreciated and entire staff gets a chance to read your kind words. We do hope that you will visit us again and please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I loved the mid-century modern vibe about the place. The rooms were wonderful--on the small side but I did not mind this at all considering how unique the overall design/aesthetic is in this hotel. The room was spotless and the bath products were all C.O. Bigelow--plus they included Marvis toothpaste! 24 hour room service: amazing (and perfect for when you get back to the hotel quite late after a night out). My sense is that this is a great hotel if you want something a little off the beaten path (i.e.-non chain hotel), enjoy a mid-century aesthetic. Also for those who enjoy having fun but also are at a stage in their life where they have some disposable income to do it up the right way and don't want to necessarily party till the sun comes up every night of the NYC stay. In my early 30's, I enjoyed the proximity to fun spots in Chelsea. The bar at the hotel turns into quite a hot spot, itself, at night. Plus, the front desk staff were really helpful when I was inquiring about the best trains to take to get to the Brooklyn Flea Market. Overall, this is certainly the neatest hotel I have ever had the pleasure of staying in and I will definitely be coming back in the future!

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper or don't use ear plugs when you travel, ask for rooms that don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
turnthepage_10- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in NYC. Thank you for pointing out a lot of the amenities we have to offer. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston, ma
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I booked this last minute on Memorial Day weekend. It seemed even the budget hotels in NYC were $300+ that Saturday night! We booked this on Hotels Tonight, and got a rate $225 about $40 less than online. We had one other hotel option, but this place seemed kind of cool and we were interested in trying the meatpacking district.
We also had small dogs and this place takes pets with no fee.
We were happy with the area - easy to street park on the weekends, and close to Hudson St and the West Village, as well as Chelsea.
The hotel is pretty much what it states on its website. Clean basic nautical themed place with small rooms, cool large round ship-style windows that actually open, flat screen tv, comfortable bedding and very nice bathroom. Great restaurant - indoor and outdoor, as well as pool tables in the bar and small fitness center downstairs. They also have free single gear bikes available (though they charge $6 for the bellhops to deliver and retrieve).
The service was really great - they were most accommodating with all our requests. They even give free coffee after 6am in the lobby.
The lobby and halls were slightly dark, but that seems to be the trend with most hotels.
I wished we could have spent more time there and eaten at the restaurant - it smelled delicious and the prices did not look too bad.
Starbucks was around the corner on 15th and 9th, and you are walking distance to Chelsea and some lovely West Village restaurants, bakeries and stores.
Not sure what else to say - oh great toiletries for the shower!
They did put a $100 hold on my credit card which should hopefully be coming off soon - if not I will make another post:)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
betti14-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments and we do appreciate your kind words you had to share. Regards to the $100 hold that is just a authorization hold that all hotels take when guests check in. It should be released within 24 to 48 hours unless you used anything form the mini-bar or other service facilities upon checkout. We hope to get a chance to welcome you back to The Maritime Hotel. If there is ever anything we can do to assist you during another visit please don't hesitate to ask.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Business Hotel in New York City
#67 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#86 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#151 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maritime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.