We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, Great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Maritime Hotel to your Saves list
The Maritime Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #99 of 458 Hotels in New York City
Westport, Connecticut
1 review
“Great Hotel, Great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

This hotel is in a great neighborhood...right next to the chelsea market, and many great bars and restaurants. My wife and I stayed in one of the penthouse suites. Well worth the money. Very clean, spacious, great terrace for a romantic dinner or drinks. Hotel staff was friendly and prompt..unlike many NYC hotels. They keep the place in great shape. Definitely recommend.

Room Tip: The penthouse suite is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
CEOTravelerNYC- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate your feedback and taking the time to share your kind words. Glad to hear you enjoyed the neighborhood and the hotel. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance in the future. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    145
    33
    15
    2
See reviews for
49
124
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Forest Hills NY
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

When my daughter came in from California I took the E train from Queens to meet her at the Maritime. The rooms are small and charming, porthole windows are special. It feels like bring being on a ship, very appropriate near the Hudson River. Beds are comfy & shower great, bathroom has lots of counter space & high end products. Restaurant was reasonable for NYC for two good breakfasts. Lobby area dim and charming nautical midcentury modern decor. Hotel down the block from the awesome High Line &the way too crowded Chelsea Market and walkable to great Chelsea art galleries. A nice staff, too, and fairly priced for Manhattan.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for a high floor room & an in-house coffee maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Redheadedlibrarian- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us at The Maritime. It's a great source of inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We are glad to here you enjoyed many things from the beds, common spaces, restaurants, and the service! We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I love staying in hotels, but rarely have had as nice a stay as at the Maritime this March. The staff was just lovely, always helpful, and friendly. We ate dinner and breakfast at La Bottega, the restaurant. Everything was impressively prepared and fresh, especially the salad, and the service, here as well, was excellent. Room service 24 hours a day! Our rooms were small, but very comfortable, clean, efficient, with an equally nice bathroom. The bed was wonderful. My only complaint with the room was that the comforter was too warm. I loved the lobby - a relief from the impersonal, and a very nice gathering place for family and friends. The neighborhood is fun, many things to do, as others have noted. This was my first return to NYC after a long time away, and I was delighted to have such a comfortable and friendly place to stay. I would heartily recommed The Maritime to all my friends.

Room Tip: Open the window if the comforter is too much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
3lovelynights-Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you had a lovely stay with us. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. glad to hear you enjoy our ambiance of the lobby. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Pros: 5-star beds and bedding that will make you regret you placed a wake up call; clever placement of the bed in a mid-room nook which keeps out hall or neighbor noise; deluxe -- though compact -- sparkling clean bathroom with high end tile, nickel fixtures and an amazing shower; an always cheerful and welcoming housekeeping and maintenance crew doing their jobs well in the halls in and outside of guest rooms; a remarkable renovation of a delightfully odd-ball 1960s club building; sensible and fair room rates (I got via booking.com); a lively bar to meet friends or have a nightcap which is so creatively decorated it will keep conversation going for a long time. The hotel is also steps from the subway and tons of taxis.

Cons: Too dark in the lobby. The dim lighting does not create 'an aesthetic', it makes the place dreary and and an impossible spot to read. Also, there's a reason for the earplugs provided: rooms facing 9th Avenue may be too noisy for some. I found out too late that large sound barrier window pads are available to stuff in the round portholes: they're either stored behind the curtains or can be delivered to your room.

Without a doubt, the pros outweigh the cons at the Maritime and we'll be repeat customers (who request a room facing the building next door or behind).

Room Tip: Request a room that does not face the Avenue
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Impicky-Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor, and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time. We are glad that your pros outweigh the cons and to hear you will be coming back. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime Hotel.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

We were very lucky to have chosen this hotel for our stay.

Rooms are obviously small for ny but clever closets and drawers make up for the lack in space. bathroom is very nice, we really liked the products. The minibar has so many different and cool products, hard not to choose something.
We had a room on the 8th floor, so very high up which we loved. Great views over meatpacking. Bed is very comfy. I had a quick meal at the beautifully designed restaurant and was happy with it too.Staff was ok, could have been more friendly and attentive.
We will definately recommend this hotel to our friends and family!

Room Tip: Room on the 8th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
PatrickK-Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Thanks for pointing out some of the great things we have to offer here at The Maritime. Glad to hear you enjoyed the minibar and the different products we do offer. We have focused on implementting NYC based products as much as possible. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

This is a great location -- Chelsea market, Chelsea pier, Highline walk, restaurants and galleries. Rooms are small (one queen size bed), but well-designed space, well-appointed and very clean. Cozy, comfortable lobby (with fireplace) for informal meeting or solitary reading. The cruiseship theme is interesting, complete with porthole window, which actually opens. However the navy blue galley-like corridors are very dark. The food and service at the restaurant -- La Bottega -- were excellent. We also attended a wedding rehearsal dinner at the Cabanas, which was wonderful. I have stayed at other 3 and 4 star venues in NYC, and consider this to be a top value. I would definitely return and recommend to others.

Room Tip: Higher floor, away from the elevators should be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
PaulaP- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor, and thank you for choosing to stay at The Maritime. New York City has a lot of to offer and we are glad to hear you were able to enjoy our location and what the surrounding area has to offer. Thanks for the positive feedback on La Bottega and the Cabanas. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance with anything. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

As others say, the Maritime is in a terrific location in Chelsea across the street from the Chelsea Market and a block from the High Line. The rooms are small (more like a European room) but the bathroom was large and comfortable (shower, no tub). The lobby is very comfortable as a place to sit and the bars are also pleasant. The motif is maritime - model boats in the lobby, windows round like portholes. This is nicer than an anonymous business hotel. The best part was the staff. They are unfailingly polite, helpful, and cheerful. This extended both to the hotel and to the restaurant. There is not a touch of attitude or snootiness. All in all a very pleasant place to stay in New York.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor with no view. A higher room would have a view towards the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
ceshorey-Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words and the positive feedback about the staff. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the amenities and the convenience of the neighborhood. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#69 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#76 Business Hotel in New York City
#98 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maritime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.