We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Save Saved
You added The Maritime Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Maritime Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #85 of 449 hotels in New York City
Minneapolis
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Maritime Hotel is centrally located for visiting galleries in Chelsea. They have wonderful restaurant and coffee shop on site.
The hotel is very clean and comfortable. Staff is helpful and knowledgeable. Have returned there time and time again. My go to place in NY.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
LMFMinneapolis-Thank you so much for passing on your comments and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We do hope to welcome you back to The Maritime again in the near future. If we can be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    204
    127
    30
    14
    2
See reviews for
42
114
39
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pasadena, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I had a great stay here in February.

First, you can't beat the location. Anything you'd want is a short walk, and it's diagonally opposite the Chelsea Market where great food options abound. Plus the High Line is a block away.

The rooms are small but beautifully designed to look like a stateroom on a Deco cruise ship. The bathroom is likewise small but also with great design and excellent toiletries.

Overall I like how when they converted this building into a hotel they riffed on the porthole windows and carried out the theme to the max. I found the lobby charming and the attached bar/restaurant equally so.

The best thing, though, was the staff. Always pleasant and attentive, no attitude ever. They were just great.

As a solo traveler I was very happy. I might find it claustrophobic if I shared the room with someone else though.

Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
CACatgrrrl-Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor and staying at The Maritime Hotel. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your kind words. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the convenience of the neighborhood and what we have to offer here. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Stayed one night February 23rd. Stayed in room 506. Plusses: location is excellent right near Google headquarters, meat packing district, room is well appointed, nice modern furniture and wood wall panels and sconces, bathroom small but well designed, tiled floors, shower is glass semi-enclosed no door, good water pressure and hot water abundant. CLEAN. Minuses: carpet wall to wall, near elevator (though the night we were staying there no traffic and was quiet, full size bed is too small for 2, lobby seems in need of redesign: 1950's look, entrance from West 14th is ugly, next to garage or what could be peep show entrance.

Room Tip: Try not to get rooms near elevator 501 to 506 are too close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and took the opprotunity to see the sites in this great location. Sorry you felt the beds were small but they are actually a standard queen size bed and not full. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We hope to welcome you back to The Maritime Hotel in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Had a wonderful stay! Had business first part of the week and then my husband joined me for the weekend. This is a cute cozy hotel in the heart of the Meatpacking district. The area is wonderful as was the stay itself. Amenities were great, clean room and bathroom, comfy bed!! We have a comfy bed at home but this bed was so great. Staff was very helpful getting us theatre tickets, and a nice romantic dinner at Del Posto the weekend of Valentines. We enjoyed sitting by the fireplace and having cocktails. Highly recommend this hotel. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Dear Amber A- Thank you for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us during your time in NYC. Glad to hear you and your husband enjoyed your time. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Please let us know if we can every be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

Loved it! Rooms are small yet so cleverly laid out and artfully appointed that my first impression was "cool!" instead of "ooh, small". Ultra soft sheets, comfy mattress & pillows, clever lighting over the bed, clean and new furniture/carpet. Bathroom had plenty of shelf room for two people's things - even into the shower. The bar and restaurant on the premises were both really fun to spend time in, and the staff (Amanda & Alex bartenders) took excellent care of us. Location can't be beat; directly across from Chelsea Market (breakfast!) and 1-2 blocks from ACE & L subway lines. Can't wait to stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
TartinThenKitchen- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime in the near future.
All the best- Matt Moore General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel for the value, friendly staff. Amazing location, just steps from the meat packing district. Clean rooms, nicely stocked minibar and other items! cozy lounge area, great restaurant for brunch! Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Stay at the Maritime Hotel in Chelsea. Excellent location, decor, restaurant and staff. The rooms are small but each has a giant round window (porthole). Near the Chelsea Market and great restaurants.

Room Tip: I hear that it can be loud in the summer. Get a room on the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
K_SamNewEngland- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests. If we can ever be of assistance with anything please don't hesitate to ask. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#63 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#83 Business Hotel in New York City
#90 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Maritime Hotel 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splendia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, EasyToBook, Jetsetter and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maritime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.