We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful shipboard stateroom in the heart of Manhattan” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Maritime Hotel to your Saves list
The Maritime Hotel
363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #87 of 455 Hotels in New York City
Towson, Maryland
1 review
“A beautiful shipboard stateroom in the heart of Manhattan”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The room was beautifully appointed; the wood was fabulous. The room has lots of built-in accommodations so it makes excellent use of space, Including a small table and 2 upholstered chairs. The bed and pillows are excellent.

There are a number of entertainment options including access to fast internet access that works, a large, flat screen TV, CDs, DVD player with access to a free DVD library.

The in-room amenities were amazing. I have never experienced a hotel that offered so many and varied amenities as I did at the Maritime.

The location was very convient to the New City subway system, great restaurants, the newly opened High Line walkway along the Hudson River and many more New York City attractions.

If you are wanting to stay at a hotel with a definite identity (the large 'porthole' windows in the rooms are great), then I strongly recommend the Maritime.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
JosephB- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We love your review and thanks for pointing out in detail some of the great things we have to offer here at The Maritime. It's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime.
All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    141
    31
    15
    2
See reviews for
48
122
43
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013 via mobile

+
Great bed and shower
Very clean
Top location, just across the street from Chelsea market. Subway (a, c, l) meatpacking distr, high line park, all less than a five minute walk away

-
Can't think of any

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

I've stayed at possibly 25-30 different hotels in NY over the past 5 years or so (not an exaggeration). Maybe more. This has to be one of my favorites of them all. It is very nice, but not over the top. Is is casual, yet keeps its class. And it is "boutique-ish" but yet avoids the snobbishness of it's next door neighbor, Dream. Not trying to bash Dream, as I've stayed in both of it's Manhattan locations more than once, but Maritime....it's for me.

I've stayed at the hotel 4 times, and each time I always leave satisfied. Each time I booked the regular queen room; it is very spacious for a NY hotel room; the shower/bathroom is nice and there is a lot of space for storage and to move around. The rooms come with cable and a DVD player; the front desk has a listing of old to new classics to borrow free of charge. There is an Italian restaurant downstairs called "La Bottega" which is very good and offers 24/7 room service. The hotel also offers free WIFI service.

Most of all, I just like the coziness of the place. The lobby is nice and stylish, but nothing too extravagant. There is also other bar/food options in the place. The location is great, right in the meatpacking district with lots to do. It is one of my favorite areas of New York City.

If you need a big fitness center, this won't be a good fit. It's small with only a couple treadmills, but that works for me. Sometimes it gets a little noisy, but nothing bad, especially compared to other hotels in the area I've stayed at. When booking, request a hotel room away from the elevators and you'll be fine.

Maritime. Very recommend for a stay in New York that will offer a great location and a great room at good prices for NY standards.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Richiana- Thank you so much for passing on your comments and, indeed, thank you for staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. Your review was such a pleasure to read. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We do hope to welcome you back to The Maritime again in the near future. If we can be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The Maritime has become my go-to hotel when I'm in NY, even though most of my meetings are in Mid-town. From the moment you step into the hotel, there's a quiet-cool vibe that comes from the staff, lighting and decor that helps me unwind after braving the stress of NY. The rooms are beautifully decorated, the snacks nicely curated, and the rooms quieter than you'd think they'd be given they face 9th Avenue. The restaurant has a nice, unfussy breakfast and good Italian food. Great location. Great place.

Room Tip: lower level floors facing 9th avenue might be noisier in the summer when there's outdoor dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
DavidG- Thank you so much for your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Maritime Hotel. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. It's a great source of inspiration and assistance to receive feedback. We are happy to here you enjoy our hotel and we hope to welcome you back in the near future. If we can ever be of assistance please don't hesitate to ask. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed one evening, after a long trip . It is nice hotel, the room was small but pretty, the bed comfartable but the bathroom without tub. It was my first evening in N.Y. and one friend of mine choose this hotel. At the evening we had dinner and a nice wine at the very nice restaurant , with nice music too. It was 14 th of Febraury, Saterday nigth. There were many happy people and the atmosfire was very nice. Next morning , at the breakfast i asked bacon and they brought me a black thing, totaly bernud! i told to the lady that it was burned and she brought a new one. I drunk my coffee and i asked the bill and she wanted to pay for 2 bacons plates! Of course i told her that this was crazy and i paid for the one i have eat. the first plate it was their mistake and she didnt even apologized! Anyway, the hotel is good and if they take care, it would be better!

Room Tip: ask for a room with tub and at the hight floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Avgerinig-Thank you so much for passing on your comments and staying with us at The Maritime Hotel. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your short stay and this great location. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. We do offer rooms with bathtubs and try to fulfill all guests requests for tubs. We hope to welcome you back to The Maritime Hotel in the near future. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance. All the best, Matt Moore - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I needed to be in the neighborhood so I chose this hotel based on the (very cool) location. The staff was super-nice, helpful and friendly, and the free wifi was really fast and worked like a charm. Overall the room was very clean and the bathroom was small but very nice and new. They provide high-end hair products as well -- a nice touch. However, I am not fan of the room's dark paneling, but that's part of the "maritime" theme. You really feel like you are on a cruise ship when you are in your room, so I guess it depends if you like that feeling or not!
Cons:
- Entrance stairs. Don't stay here if you have any problems walking up stairs. I saw a few older people having trouble and I felt sorry for them. In fact, no one wants to carry their bags up & down stairs when entering the hotel. Not fun!
- I learned that most rooms in this hotel are very small and cozy, but the huge round window makes up for it...slightly. Most rooms are identical. They have a very limited number of suites or larger rooms, so don't expect an upgrade even if you beg. (And most rooms only have one bed, which is surprising). The front desk people don't have much to work with in terms of rooms. Take it or leave it.
- I was not impressed with the VERY dark royal blue, dim hallways. Seriously? I found it depressing. You are out of luck if you need to search for your room key in your handbag if you are standing outside your room's front door. You will need a flashlight for sure.
- Noise. It's a party neighborhood and the hotel has a huge outdoor bar, too. Even in January, there is a club right next door and it can get loud. -- and I was on a high floor. Earplugs are in the rooms, so they are prepared for noise complaints. Your best bet is to join the crowd and party!
Don't say you weren't warned!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alexandria, virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Just stayed 2 nights at Maritime and thought it was a great hotel overall. A few minor issues (maintenance staff barged into my room while I was sleeping, took forever to get hot water), but positives outweighed them. I had no issues with noise, and loved the Bigelow toiletries. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#74 Business Hotel in New York City
#82 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#123 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tablet Hotels, Priceline, Booking.com, Splendia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maritime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.