We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Maritime Hotel is the PERFECT place to stay in New York City!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maritime Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Maritime Hotel to your Saves list
The Maritime Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #93 of 459 Hotels in New York City
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Maritime Hotel is the PERFECT place to stay in New York City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile

Our family of 7 came to the Maritime for a weekend in the city and they were able to more than accommodate us! The staff was amazing! They greeted us right away and were friendly and attended to any need very quickly! The rooms were gorgeous and absolutely clean. The girls and I loved the Bigelow toiletries! We will stay here again and again! Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thekerr3-Thank you so much for passing on your comments and, indeed, thank you so much for staying with us. We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. The Bigelow products are a big hit and we are glad to hear you and your girls loved them! We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime in the near future. All the best, Matt Moore-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    145
    33
    15
    2
See reviews for
49
125
43
129
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I found this hotel on Booking.com at a great price. The hotel is in a perfect location. It's next to Meatpacking, next to Chelsea Piers, near Union Square, near Soho. You can walk to all these places. It's also next to the Westside highway, which is great if you like running (which I do :)). The hotel has a lovely friendly feel when you walk in. The room itself was small but amazing view of the Hudson through the lovely porthole style window. Also the room had everything you could need. And best for me was the fact they provided toothpaste. Why can't all hotels do this?! The shower gels and shampoos were also lovely and replaced frequently so you never ran out. Also, and this was the nicest touch of all, my husband and I have been trying to have a honeymoon since January but due to sad family circumstances, this has not been possible. I mentioned that this was our attempt at a honeymoon and asked if they could do something a little special. When we were given the room on the 11th floor with the amazing view, I thought this was the 'special' thing. But after we had been in the room a couple of hours, a bottle of champagne arrived. This was such a fabulous touch and why I am going to give this hotel 5 stars. Also the room service food is great. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it without hesitation.

Room Tip: 11th floor with view of the Hudson.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Brigittelisa- Thank you so much for passing on your comments and, indeed, thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our location and took advantage of the amazing opportunities around us. We agree our location is a great spot to get a taste of the many different things New York City has to offer. We are very glad to hear you liked and enjoyed the bottle of champagne. Congratulations to you both! We appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance in the future. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime and hope that you will consider it your home here in the city. All the best, Matt Moore-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Thank you for a wonderful weekend in New York City. The rooms were a perfect place to rest and recover from a busy weekend in the city. The staff was courteous and prompt to all of our needs and the rooms were terrific. Your streetside patio is a great place to enjoy a beverage while taking in the local foot traffic. Well done Maritme Hotel, well done!!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
TheK7- Thank you so much for passing on your comments and, indeed, thank you so much for staying at The Maritime. We are so glad to hear you had a wonderful weekend in New York City and thrilled to know The Maritime Hotel was part of the reason. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime in the near future.
All the Best, Matt Moore-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

I just spent 2 nights and felt I was the most important guest in the place! Room service, a complimentary bottle of wine, all answered questions with a smile and an excellent price for the location and amenities. Every email was promptly answered too. The Maritime is now my NYC hotel of choice and I will highly recommend it to all my friends and family.
To all Trip Advisor readers.... You won't be disappointed. Oh.... The pillows...DIVINE!!!!

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Porchview- Thank you so much for your feedback on TripAdvisor and indeed thank you for staying with us. We do appreciate you taking the time to share your kind words. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance on your next visit to NYC.
All the best, Matt Moore- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

I just stayed in the penthouse roof terrace at the Maritime and had the most wonderful time. I was able to invite friends over and have room service deliver dinner so we could eat privately on the terrace (and the room service menu does not have different prices from their excellent restaurant). It never took more than 30 minutes for the food to arrive (usually around 15 -20min). The service was impeccable, from Callan (who handled the reservation) to all the staff. Also, I don't know who does their dry-cleaning and laundry - but it is both better and less expensive than the one I use at home in S.F. - next time I'll travel with dirty clothes!

With it's central location and hip but homey feel, I will surely be back (and back again)!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2012
Triphopper88- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and thank you so much for staying with us at The Maritime. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beautiful Roof Top Penthouse. It's great to hear you got to share and enjoy the terrace and it's spectacular views of the city with your friends. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments and we appreciate the positive feedback about the service from Room Service, our laundry service, and Callan our Director of Sales. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. If we can ever be of assistance on your next visit please let us know.
All the Best, Matt Moore-General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont USA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The Maritime Hotel is without hesitation, a WONDERFUL hotel. In fact, it's a destination in itself. Everything anyone could ever want in a NYC hotel, is on site!
The location can't be beat~ just across the street from Chelsea Market, The Highline, and so much more.
When we arrived (somewhat harried) Steph at Reception, in her laid-back and professional way, took exceptional care of us. In addition, every staff person we encountered, enhanced our stay.
One evening, after a hectic day, we opted to settle in. We selected a few films from The Maritime's finely curated DVD library, and ordered room service from La Bottega, which offers an extensive and delicious menu. Gazing out of our window/porthole, we witnessed the pulse of NYC and the wondrous illumination of a summer evening. The Maritime Hotel then became our "home away from home".

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Bldd21- Thank you so much for passing on your comments on TripAdvisor and, indeed, thank you so much for staying with us. It's such a pleasure to hear your positive feedback about the property and the areas surrounding the Maritime. We are in the heart of many great things that NYC has to offer. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments so thank you for the shout out to Steffi. She is a great contributor to the success of the service we strive to offer here at The Maritime. We love that you were able to relax and experience a summers night gazing out the original 1968 Porthole windows! Again, it's a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime and hope that you will consider it your home here in the city. All the best, Matt Moore- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

This is a great place to stay- very convenient location an incredibly friendly staff. The rooms are very nice- comfy bed, nice linens, good toiletries. The only suggestion I would have is that the lobby is too dark and gloomy. Could be much more welcoming and charming. Also the hallways are too dark- can't read the room numbers. I would definitely stay here again and highly recommend. Great location near great restaurants and shopping also.
Sally and Joe

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matt M, General Manager at The Maritime Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2012
Sally and Joe- Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location as well as the amenities we have to offer. It is a great source of both inspiration and assistance to receive feedback from our guests and we do appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts. Every member of our staff has the opportunity to read your comments and they are all dealt within on an individual basis. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Maritime. Please let us know if we can ever be of assistance to you on your next visit to New York City. All the best, Matt Moore- General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Maritime Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Maritime Hotel

Address: 363 West 16th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea , Manhattan , Midtown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Luxury Hotel in New York City
#77 Business Hotel in New York City
#93 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#143 Family Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Maritime Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel resembles white cruise ship with portholes overlooking Ninth Avenue - West Chelsea neighborhood - 4 blocks to Chelsea Piers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tablet Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Maritime Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maritime Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maritime Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.