We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good coffee” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Colombe Torrefaction

La Colombe Torrefaction
319 Church Street, New York City, NY
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #304 of 11,751 Restaurants in New York City
Cuisines: Coffee Shop
Restaurant details
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Good coffee”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Well had a dry machiatto and it was as good as you get in Melbourne. .. second La Colombe I've been in and not disappointed either time so if you looking for good coffe visit them. ..

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    8
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Kopavogur, Iceland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lafayette street very repellent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Went there on my 6 day trip exploring the best coffeehouses there. I tried Cafe Grumpy,9th street espresso and Blue Bottle in Chelsea,Toby's Estate in Williamsburg Brooklyn,Culture espresso bar on 38th street and Stumptown on 8th street and this coffeehouse was by far our least favorite.

This coffeehouse is very raw looking and cold and unappealing. We then ordered drip coffee and could choose from Ethiopian or a dark roasted blend and we don't like dark roasted coffee so we went for the Ethiopian coffee. First we got our coffee in jagged cups and then this Ethiopian coffee was too much roasted so all the floral and citrusy notes that Ethiopian coffees are known for did not shine through. The only time I really thought the coffee could have been roasted soooo much better. Then I looked at the coffee they offered in bags and as people know coffee is a fresh product and after 12-14 days it goes stale. This was the only coffeehouse that did not have the roast date on their backs. Big minus.

For the best coffee in New York please check out Syphon at Blue Bottle,espresso at Café Grumpy and Hario V60 pour over at Tobby's Estate.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Best coffee ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Bit of a queue every time but totally worth it.

A welcome break from endless stream of Starbucks.

Friendly staff and the coffee is so awesome

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Ristretto heaven”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Coffee lovers can rest assured that La Colombe will satisfy even the most demanding of customers. Great blends, knowledgeable and friendly staff (not your typical hipster baristas) and the focus on what really matters: the coffee. Cappucino is great but the ristretto is simply amazing.
When we arrived at this very popular place in Tribeca, the queue full of locals was a good sign.

Tip: if you can, buy a bottle of their "Pure Black Cold Pressed Coffee". Sadly, I forgot while I was in NY, but they say it's amazing.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“One Of The Best - Hands Down”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Coffee is a lot like wine. Everybody has their preference. Our preference is La Colombe.

We love Joe, Blue Bottle and Everyman, but La Colombe really excels. Based upon the espresso their using that day, you may feel differently. But, you need to check it out.

We visited the Church St and Lafayette locations, plus another shop that served their coffee. All three times, the coffee was excellent.

This is our new favorite coffee spot in NYC.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Colombe Torrefaction also viewed

 

Been to La Colombe Torrefaction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Colombe Torrefaction, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.