We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good, not perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Vitae Restaurant

Vitae Restaurant
4 East 46th St, New York City, NY
212-682-3562
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Vitae Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #256 of 11,771 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th
Transit: 47-50th Rockefeller Center B,D,F,M. 42nd Grand Central Station 4,5,6,6X.
Description: New restaurant off 5th Avenue
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Quite good, not perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Went here for a romantic dinner with my wife. While my wife's Pulled Pork Tacos were excellent, I was not particularly happy with my Tuna and Hamachi Crudo. The scallops I had for main course were much better. We found the place a bit too noisy for our taste maybe caused by the hard floors. We would also have liked a bit more space between the tables.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    38
    7
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Palt
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Steak Salad= Best Ive Ever Had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The atmosphere is really fun but also can be a nice work setting business lunch. Steak salad was the best I have ever had. Will 100% be going back here with clients.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lucky selection of place that exceeded expectations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Wasn't expecting anything great, but was pleasantly surprised by how good the food was here. Definitely some different dishes, all perfectly cooked and well presented. Large tables, but sufficient space between them and good service

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Close to Times Square, Vitae provides a great atmosphere and excellent food. We had Papardelel with Lobster, Gnocci with Mushrooms and a Whole Trout. All were delicious. The restaurant wasn't too noisy, even though the seating was moderately close. The decor was upscale and pleasant.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Mad Men Would Feel At Home Here”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Vitae was a very nice restaurant near Madison Avenue and not far from the Theater District. It has a 1960's vibe that is echoed in a cool graphic design throughout the restaurant. The menu is American, traditional with a twist. The bar is beautiful though the seats are challenging for a lady in a dress to gracefully hop up on. They were very accommodating and though the dining room wasn't yet open allowed us to sit more comfortably at a table. They have wonderful cocktails, served 1960's style but done with their own house signature. You're served rolls that a brushed with duck fat and sea salt. We were hungry so we gobbled them up but truth be told, they were greasy and just okay. The main courses were delicious. I had a perfectly cooked beef tenderloin. The portions are not large, but they're adequate. Service was impeccable and everyone was friendly. When you leave they hand you a package of 2 chocolate chip cookies that weren't that great. Overall, I would say it's better than average, more like 3 1/2 stars. I liked it, if anything I would recommend it for cocktails. I wouldn't refuse to go there, but there are just many other restaurants in NYC that I'd rather try next time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vitae Restaurant also viewed

 
New York City, NY
 

Been to Vitae Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vitae Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.