We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food for a sports bar” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Smithfield - CLOSED

Smithfield
215 West 28th Street, New York City, NY 10001
(212) 564-2172
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American, French, Irish, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Description: New Irish pub / soccer pub in midtown New York City
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food for a sports bar”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Burgers are great, plenty of TV's to be able to watch whatever games are on. There is also a second level for when it gets packed (it does on a Friday night, for example).

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    10
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food served by friendly and efficient staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A group of 12 of us arrived into an already busy place but were warmly welcomed and seated soon afterwards. Between the lot of us I think we had most things on the menu from the delicious Jameson Wings to the tasty burgers all of which were promptly served by very helpful staff. They seem to cover just about every sport on the many tv screens. Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“a bit of a food hidden gem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Not to judge a book by it's cover but the food was unsuspectingly good here and good value for money too. This was the only bar in New York we could find showing the Wales v South Africa match which made a Welsh man in New York very happy (not that the ensuing result did), the only snag was we had to pay $20 EACH for the pay per view. I had no objection to contributing but thought that $20 per person was a bit steep. The bar is well equipped for numerous sports games being simultaneously played so it seemed to attract lots of people which made for a great atmopshere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Top Contributor
316 reviews 316 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
334 helpful votes 334 helpful votes
“Go Notre Dame!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

I was the only patron watching the Notre Dame game vs Air Force on Saturday.......but the manager gave me a TV for the entire game! I learned this is a UCLA team bar....but of course they all left unhappy. The penn state fans too. Not fancy but alot of TV's and good burgers with beer.

Go Irish!!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Food was very good; atmosphere was average”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I was fooled by the pictures into thinking this was a new, sleek sports bar. It is not.

But, the food was really excellent. The menu was interesting, providing a number of interesting variations on bar food and my entire group enjoyed our dinner.

Try to spinach artichoke dip - really excellent take on it. All the burgers were fantastic as well.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Smithfield also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Smithfield, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.