We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, pore winelist” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hakkasan New York

Hakkasan New York
311 West 43 Street, New York City, NY 10036
212-776-1818
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Hakkasan New York is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #919 of 11,750 Restaurants in New York City
Price range: $50 - $50
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: 8th and 9th Ave
Description: Animated by a luxurious array of ambient sounds, scents and lighting, Hakkasan New York is a stunning evolution of the London original, both acclaimed for their Michelin-starred modern Chinese cuisine. The 11,000 square foot restaurant features a signature "cage" carved out of dark English oak and Carrera marble and an elegant 50-foot bar that features an innovative selection of skillfully crafted cocktails made with fresh pressed juices, purees, foams and other fresh ingredients. At the heart of the restaurant is the kitchen with highly skilled wok chefs at center stage. Choreographed by Master Chef Ho Chee Boon, the menu includes Hakkasan classics such as Roasted Silver Cod with Champagne and Chinese Honey, Stir Fry Black Pepper Ribeye Beef with Merlot and an assortment of refined Dim Sum offerings.
Gjerdrum, Akershus, Norway
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food, pore winelist”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Unforgettable foods in the world class :) we ate the large menu, with Peking duck and caviar, Fantrastisk - big minus because of a very over priced wine list and fulstendig incompetent somelier: (She recommended us a Sin kva Non to 450 U.S. Dollars!, And It did not mach the Food at all! suche Place should offer a more optimal wines in the wine list, read Riesling, and a much more updated Somelier. I understand it now why Hakasan in NY is about emptied of people, we visited Hakasan in London the month before and there was an incredible amount of people, great atmosphere and a very rich wine list. overall we're not going back here. Even for the great food

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    92
    30
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A bargain at lunch time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This restaurant has a Michelin star, even though they have been opened only a year (transfer from Hakkasan London??). All NY restaurants are expensive, and Michelin-starred ones especially so. But they have a prix fixe lunch for about $27 was superb! With the 4 of us, we were able to sample all but one dish on the prix fixe menu. Each appetizer and main dish was more subtle, more appetizing than the last. The combination of flavors is wonderful. Just be careful: tea is $8 per pot, and when we asked for a refill, we were given a second pot at $8!. The macarons (French, not American) for dessert are yummy. Decor is elegant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freehold, NJ
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Deceived”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My husband and I made dinner reservations for 5:30 on a Sunday night when the restaurant opens because we had tickets to a 7:00 show. We checked out the menu online and saw they offered a pre-theater menu for $38 offered from 5:30-6:30. Sounded great and couldn't wait to order it. We were the first to enter the restaurant and were seated at a table for 2. Within 5 minutes, the hostess seats 3(loud) ladies right next to us. Mind you, we are the only ones in the restaurant at this time. We order drinks at $17 each-they were good but way overpriced. When the waiter comes back, we order the pre-theater menu. He walks away and then comes back and tells us it isn't offered on a Sunday night. We believe him and make different choices. By now, I am all thrown off. I double checked their website when I got home and nowhere on there does it say which nights the pre-theater dinner is offered. It simply states 5:30-6:30. With all the city has to offer, I would skip this one.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

A recommendation of the concierge at our hotel and it was very good. Good was excellent but it was the most expensive meal during our entire stay. We were a little disappointed at the delay in our meal arriving but overall it was good if expensive

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

We went to Hakkasan before going to see a musical on Broadway, and we had high expectations given its Michelin-starred rating, and we were not disappointing. The food is expensive, but it is delightful, and the decor is sophisticated and hip - the bar gets very crowded with a youngish crowd, but the restaurant itself remains quiet and serene. Highly recommend if you visit New York

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hakkasan New York also viewed

 
New York City, NY
New York City, NY
 

Been to Hakkasan New York? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakkasan New York, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.