We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% with AAA
Ranked #123 of 454 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Super hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

My wife and I just dropped our daughter off at NYU and we couldn't ask for a nicer greeting as we stepped into the hotel. My daughter was asked what she is studying at NYU and the personnel showed so much interest in her passion and wished her the best of luck.
We requested a high floor that was relatively quiet and were placed on the 19th floor away from the street. Even through a thunderstorm we slept great as the beds were very comfortable too.
We were given restaurant recommendations as well.
Our safe didn't work and it was replaced within an hour.
We will be back in August and look forward to the great hospitality.
The breakfast was fine too.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alyson W, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
We are so glad you felt so comfortable at our hotel during your recent stay. Thanks for the great review, and we look forward to seeing you again in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    539
    449
    100
    18
    16
See reviews for
322
313
89
167
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (160)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

The hotel is a bit small (rooms, too), but this is typical for NYC hotels. But the rooms are modern, clean, have nice bath products. Wifi was fine. There are free hot drinks and cookies in the afternoon, and the free breakfast in the morning was the best! A make-your-own waffle bar, tons of fresh fruit, yogurt, delicious baked goods, eggs, good coffee. We were sad we only stayed here one night.

It's close to several subway stations and Barcade is on the same street (bar full of old video games from the 80s, very cool).

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Thank you so much for the great review! We are so happy we made such an impression during your vacation here on the East Coast. Thank you for the great comments about breakfast as well. We hope to see you again during your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Clean; great bed, super desk, excellent positioning of electric outlets. Check-in was swift. The front desk was helpful about an article I had forgotten to pack. The elevator never kept me waiting long. My room had a relatively big window (sealed shut, unfortunately) with a dynamite view over rooftops and down onto 23rd Street. A housekeeper helped me out when I had a question on the operation of the bathtub. The free wifi functioned adequately.

The bed and workspace made me happy to be staying -- but the toilet and sink made me happy to leave. The toilet leaked onto the floor (clean water, I guess); the sink was hard to operate because a glass shelf extended too low over the handle. I had not operated a sink handle from below for 40 years! It's hard work!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for your comments about your stay. I am glad that overall you had a great experience, but do apologize for any inconvenience the bathroom caused you. Please let us know when you are coming back so we can make sure everything in your room is in perfect, working condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania, USA
Top Contributor
320 reviews 320 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 89 cities Reviews in 89 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Great location, friendly staff and nice rooms make this a very good choice. The breakfast is a little weak, but you can fix this by walking less than a block in any direction. It was very strange that my shower curtain disappeared on the 2nd day of my stay, but I suppose worse things could happen!

TIP: Turn right and walk 50 feet to the corner deli if you need to grab a yogurt or a drink.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
I am so sorry that you were without a shower curtain during your stay, but happy to know that the majority of your stay was an enjoyable one. Please feel free to contact us the next time you are in town so we can make sure everything is perfect with your room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We stayed here because it was close to our son's apartment in Gramercy Park. The rates were reasonable for NYC and the room was lovely and clean. We actually stayed at another Hampton Inn in Northern MI and only paid $50 less per night.The waffles at breakfast are yummy( make your own), and the rest of the food was plentiful and good, but it was very crowded. Of course, it is a chain, but you know what you are getting.
I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
We are so happy that you were so happy! Thank you for being a loyal Hampton guest, and we hope you see you again soon when you come next to visit your son.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We always enjoy our stay at the Hampton in Chelsea. It is always clean and quiet. Staff is very nice and professional. It is within walking distance of many places in New York City. There is close access to the subway and path train.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thank you for continually staying with us and for the excellent review. Please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Have stayed at the Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea many times. Friendly staff from check in to check out. Good size room with a comfortable bed. 24hr coffee/tea available in the lobby. Good location within walking distance to subway station.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, Front Office Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Thank you for continuing to stay with us here at the Hampton Inn Chelsea. I am so pleased that we are able to make your stay pleasant and comfortable. Please come back to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea

Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Green Hotel in New York City
#61 Family Hotel in New York City
#119 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#123 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at world famous restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries.After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs while you send photos to your family using our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.