We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing Stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011 (Chelsea)   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Valet Parking
Ranked #139 of 464 Hotels in New York City
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersSilver level
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointing Stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

My friend and I stayed at this hotel over the weekend. We had a very uncomfortable stay. First of all, we booked a room with two queen beds. But we were given a room with a single queen bed and a pull out bed. The pull out bed was extremely uncomfortable. We were told they were sold out. We spent two nights, and they could not even accomodate us on the 2nd night. Then on both days, the housekeeping started knocking on doors at 9 am. They knocked on our door twice at different times. Isn't it a liitle to early? After all, it is the weekend. The hotel has free breakfast. But the breakfast ends at 10 am over the weekend. Overall, it was a very disappointing.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
I'm upset to hear of your disappointing stay. We strive very hard to accomodate all our guests. I hope you can give us another chance and have a different view of our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    585
    490
    113
    21
    18
See reviews for
350
338
100
188
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (177)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts, Usa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

stayed here for the weekend to drop my son off at college. It was a great location to the school. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Shout out to Will the bell hop! I plan to stay there again to visit my son this winter.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Glad to hear you would stay again. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MABLETON
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We often stay at Hampton Inn for family trips, but I usually stay at something more upscale for business. But with a last-minute biz trip to NYC, choices were limited. This hotel was more than expected! Very clean and up to date, very comfortable and the location was superb. Chelsea is a great part of town, and it's also just a block away from the subway and the PATH train. It wasn't cheap (not that anything in NYC is, especially last minute!) but was a very good choice nonetheless.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Thank you very much for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Had three nights here as part of Cosmos tour. Average room but clean. Breakfast was a bonus and found most of the staff very friendly and helpful (one grumpy porter let the team down). Not allowed to provide glasses in room so if you don't like drinking out of cardboard cups this may be a problem. Minor issue and you get what you pay for. Good location for Chelsea Markets and High Line , Empire State Building etc.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and I stayed here recently on a tour of the East Coast and found it to be a really good, comfortable hotel. The rooms are on the smaller side, but the beds are great (the pillows are fantastic) and there is free internet in the foyer, and free WiFi is available. The hotel is close to Times Square and Macy's and is only a short walk to the Empire State Building. I would have no hesitation in staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. Please come again and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Overall, my stay at the Hampton Inn - Chelsea went smoothly. Each room offers a personal coffee machine - which was great for a late arrival (and early morning!). Rooms are decently sized with modern decor (bathrooms are especially nice). What was really great, is that each stay comes with a free breakfast. And if you don't have time to sit and eat, there are brown bagged "breakfast to go" for all guests to take - which included a drink, muffin, breakfast bar and fresh whole fruit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

My wife and I were just going to New York for a weekend getaway, and we had never stayed anywhere in Chelsea before. We decided on the Hampton Inn Manhattan-Chelsea based on the price and location. We loved the location in Chelsea (a lot less crowded than Times Square or any other touristy area), the fact that there were a lot of good restaurants around the area, and that there were multiple subway stop options. The staff were more than happy to accomodate all of our requests (they even kept our bags most of Sunday until we left later that evening). The breakfast was a typical Hampton Inn breakfast, which are acceptable but not great. We stayed on the 16th floor with a city-view and had a great view of the World Trade Center instead of the typical Manhattan building next-door view. Overall, we loved this hotel, and we will definitely stay here again when we return to New York City.

Room Tip: City-view rooms are worth it (views of the World Trade Center and quieter)!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, September 28, 2012
Thank you for the kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea

Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Chelsea
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in New York City
#84 Family Hotel in New York City
#128 Romantic Hotel in New York City
#134 Business Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at world famous restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries.After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs while you send photos to your family using our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Hilton Hotels so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.