We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea to your Saves list
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% with AAA
Ranked #130 of 458 Hotels in New York City
GreenLeadersSilver level
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Quaint little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Very nice little hotel, very clean. Rooms a little small but a great hotel overall. love the way you can help yourself to tea and coffee at anytime in the lobby. Very close to "Eaterly" if your hungry at anytime just a 5 min walk down the road and you can enjoy all the fantastic food Italy has to offer. Staff are friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    548
    459
    103
    18
    17
See reviews for
326
322
89
170
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
221 helpful votes 221 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

What a great little place in Chlesea. Absolutely no complaints about anything- room was fine, staff great and even a complimentary breakfast. Since I was by myself, the rather smallish room did not bother me although if there were two people-it could be cramped. But on the whole, it is a great little property. The location was outstanding in that I could return from my conference and after changing, set off exploring. There is nothing *fancy* about the hotel, but it is clean and the staff exceptionally nice. Go to Hilton website for best rates.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We have just staye for three nights and found the hotel to be everything it said it would be.
Kind courteous staff, clean and quiet rooms,and very handy for the 'subway' - just 5 minutes walk.

Breakfast is good - offering a choice of cereal, fruit, yoghurt, waffles, pastries and one hotplate of eggs / meat which changes every day.

Having researched many hotels, I think this hotel offers excellent value for money and is in a great location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, August 13, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Please return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 5 nights at the end of July, it was perfect. My husband and I stayed here with our 18 and 16 year old kids. The area was central to all that we wanted to do. We visited all the main tourist areas and twice hired bikes to ride around central park and then up the east coast of Manhattan(bike hire on same street) The breakfast at the hotel was a lovely start to the day, the kids and ourselves used the internet in reception to find our way round town and kids to update facebook!!! Lovely staff, nothing too much trouble. Would recommend anyone to stay here. We would have prefered a higher floor having read the other reviews but we were on 2nd floor and it was really quiet and very convenient

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you. Glad to hear you were comfortable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
433 reviews 433 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

This is the second time I stayed in this hotel, I love the location of this place, plus by New York standard, $200 a night is not too bad. In addition, dogs can stay. The first time I stayed that this year in February, I did not take my dog with me. The hotel room is small, breakfast with plastic cup and plate, none of this bother me. Everything was fine until on my last day's stay, after I collected my dog from the doggie daycare across the road just before 4 pm on August 6, I went to the lobby's toilet, my other half was outside the hotel's entrance with my dog. My poor baby started whimpering because he cannot bear to be seperated from his pack member. When I come out again, one of the female receptionist was out and not so politely to tell us to take the dog away because he is whimpering! Well, I am speechless! If a baby cries inside the lobby, will you tell the baby to go away! Plus once it is outside the hotel, it is public space! What on earth is that receptionist doing? I have a booking for September also, now I have to reconsider.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I'm very sorry and disappointed to hear that one of the receptionist mad this comment about the dog whimmpering. As you know we are a pet friendly hotel so this come as a surprise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We stayed at this property for 3 nights during our first family trip to New York. This turned out to be the perfect place for us. Just a block away from a couple of subway lines, plus the bus lines on 23rd Street, we found the location to be nearly ideal, since we were trying to avoid the crush of Times Square. The room (2 queens) seemed very generous by NYC hotel standards, and both the room and bathroom appeared to have been renovated within the last year or so. Breakfast was standard Hampton Inn fare- we usually avoid the egg choice from the chafing dish, but oatmeal, make-your-own waffles, mini-muffins, danishes and yogurt will fill you just fine for your morning out (if your staying multiple days, though, you should walk over to Murray's Bagels on Eight Ave once). Staff was attentive and professional. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you. Glad to hear your family enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

This Hampton is newly renovation and well designed. Has complementary baked cookies and tea that came in handy in the winter rate. The winter rate is also a huge draw. Just above a hundred dollars is hard to beat for New York for a non hostel. Great location right by trader Joes, whole foods, shopping, and subway up or downtown. Has everything typical of a 3.5 star chain with well train corporate staff. Complementary Breakfast was above average as well for this level of hotel. Patrons seemed were mix of professionals and middle ages travelers. Very quiet. I will considerate again for next winter.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rsolis, General Manager at Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you. Please come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea

Address: 108 West 24th Street, New York City, NY 10011
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > New York City
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Green Hotel in New York City
#52 Family Hotel in New York City
#121 Business Hotel in New York City
#124 Romantic Hotel in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea 3*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 20-story hotel located in the trendy Chelsea neighborhood between Sixth and Seventh Avenues provides the perfect location for travelers looking to stay in the city. Start your day early with our complimentary breakfast then head out to famous attractions like Madison Square Garden, Times Square and Central Park. Enjoy world class shopping with a visit to Macy’s or family fun at the Chelsea Piers Sports and Entertainment Complex. Dine at world famous restaurants, catch a Broadway show or browse the neighborhoods numerous art galleries.After a day of taking in the sights and sounds of New York City, relax in a comfortable Hampton bed® and watch your favorite shows on our 32 inch LCD HD TVs while you send photos to your family using our free high-speed internet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hilton Hotels, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea Hotel New York City
Manhattan Chelsea Hampton Inn
Hampton Inn New York City
Hampton Inn Chelsea
New York City Hampton Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn Manhattan Chelsea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.