We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel in Chinatown” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Save Saved
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Forsyth Street, New York City, NY 10002 (East Village)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #377 of 452 hotels in New York City
Write a Review

137 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    42
    40
    21
    26
See reviews for
31
37
13
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

I stayed here on two separate occasions, in two different rooms, in February. The first time I stayed on the 6th floor, I found a bed bug that had already sucked my blood and killed it. The second time I stayed on the 2nd floor, I got lucky and found it before it got me. The room itself seemed very dirty. The corners of the walls had white powder all over it. The powder was probably pesticide. The mattress itself had crusty brown spots from previous bed bug infestations. The carpet does not seemed to be vacuumed or steam cleaned in a long while. If you decide to stay here, remember to keep your luggage and clothes off the floor and chair as bed bugs can get into your luggage. Not the souvenir you want to take home with you as they can then infect your house/apt. The location of the hotel is excellent. It is near the BD train stop and is also near many restaurants. However, there are other hotels that are close and offer better peace of mind.

Room Tip: Get the penthouse. Its cold, the heater doesn't work well, you will have to wait about an hour f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Paul, Alberta
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

Due to flight availability our family had to spend the night of Feb. 1 in New York as we were boarding the Norwegian Breakaway on Feb. 2. This was Super Bowl weekend in New York and we felt fortunate that we were able to get rooms. The Hotel is in the "Heart of China Town" and we were thrilled to take advantage of this fact.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

A very good price for NY, nice staff and a great location.
Also, powerful internet service on every floor.
Rooms are shabby, kind of dirty and pillows smell bad. We use our own bed sheets and were never bare foot.
Not for the weak of stomach.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights, giving me 2 whole days to explore New York. Location wise it's great! You take the J train from JFK and you are a 5 minute walk from the hotel. You then only have a 5-10 minute walk to the trains to upper and lower New York. I walked from this hotel all the way to Central Park up 5th Ave. and then all the way down to Battery Park the next day! I couldn't have asked for more!

The room was good, with a nice comfy bed, and a good heater (needed due to snow and -3C weather!) you are provided with a toothbrush, paste and soap if you forget yours too! The shower was good, although it did take a few minutes to get really nice and warm, and the towels were starting to show their age a bit, but for what I paid for the hotel, I knew I wasn't getting the Ritz treatment!

All the staff were really friendly, and always had a smile on their face, offering advice on where to go and directions! They were very apologetic when the door lock in my room broke and they found me another room quickly and helped me move my stuff.

I would really recommend this hotel and would come back again! Maybe see you next year!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Not a great experience. We had the choice to spend more, but chose not to based on the reasonable reviews out here. Wish we would have spent more. Don't do it, people. Don't stay here just to save a buck.

Pros:
1. Location- In Chinatown, on the edge of Little Italy. Diverse, fairly quiet neighborhood with a park across the street.
2. Transportation: subway to Uptown 1 block away; other lines about 4-5 blocks away
3. Friendly front desk staff (but a bit disinterested or maybe resigned to their situation)
4. Carpet in room looks like it was replaced within the last 15 years, unlike anything else in the room.

Cons:
1. Dirty, dirty, dirty: Although a cleaning person comes daily, the only thing they do is make the beds and arrange your personal items on the sink. (Wasn't a big fan of having my toothbrush touched.) The carpet never gets vacuumed or the floors swept or toilets cleaned.
2. Stains everywhere: the sheets are stained with blood and god-knows-what; the blankets are stained and in some spots crusty (EEEEK!); the walls near the windows had water spots.
3. Old broken down furniture and drapes that were torn and cigarette burned.
4. A/C did NOT work at all and made loud whining sounds when it tried ALL NIGHT LONG. We reported this to the front desk and they didn't seem to think it would work better if we got another room.
5. Elevator out. Hauling bags up and down the stairs was zero fun.
6. Guys, you will have to pee sitting down. The counter top behind the toilet is configured so the seat won't stay up. Pee like a lady, my friends.

You've been warned.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Calgary, Alberta, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We ended up getting this hotel as part of a Hotwire Hot Rate, and after reading several reviews were very worried but unfortunately couldn't cancel the reservation. The hotel was more spacious than other NY hotels and had great subway access and was surprisingly quiet, but those were the only pros. Upon arrival, there were left over beard shavings in the sink, some brown drip stains on the shower curtain and walls, tons of stains on the bed sheets, other people's hair everywhere, furniture that was shredded, gross carpet, key cards that never worked and had to be constantly reset....and the list goes on. After the second night I received 6 bites and we decided we should just take a loss and stay elsewhere. When we talked to the front desk they didn't seem surprised when I said I was bit, and offered to refund the nights we didn't stay, and Hot Wire also claimed that we will be getting a refund for the remaining nights. So I guess if you are unfortunate enough to get this place on your "Hot Rate" non-refundable booking, they will refund you once you actually get bit but not any time before. Would definitely AVOID this place as saving a few bucks was not worth it and we ended up getting a much nicer place for less by booking a hotel the day-of when we left.

Room Tip: I suspect none of the rooms are good. We initially inspected the mattress for bed bugs and didn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 108 Forsyth Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > East Village , Manhattan
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #377 of 452 hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.