We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, Area OK.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Windsor Hotel to your Saves list
Windsor Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 Forsyth Street, New York City, NY 10002 (Manhattan)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #395 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Good value, Area OK.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Good value this close to downtown. Room was adequate. Travelled uptown by metro every night no problem. No facilities so eat out and bring your drinks in. Some good places to eat close by in China town or Little Italy.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    53
    57
    27
    35
See reviews for
46
47
18
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Great location for great eats, close to everything and clean, basic, room.. John helped with parking and provided a tip sheet of his favorite food places. Stayed in NYC 25 times, loved being in Chinatown and not having to ever take a cab or subway for what i wanted to do. Would return for more.....

Room Tip: High floor with view of park
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This is a nice little hotel, decently priced, clean with friendly staff. It only loses a single point because the location feels a little unsafe. We never had a problem to be fair but it does feel -like I say- a little unsafe at night.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

My mom, stepfather and I stayed here June 7th-June 13th. Rooms are small, but appeared clean. Our room had a double bed and an extra-long twin. The mattresses were very firm. The wi-fi worked very well throughout our stay. The hotel is located very close to the subway, and within Chinatown. We did have a couple of issues with the cleaning of the room (for about half of our stay, the staff neglected to give us clean washcloths, so we had to ask for them each day). The safe was a nice feature. Our room keys would randomly stop working after a day or two, I don't know how many times we each had to go to the front desk to get them to fix it. The desk staff seemed nice enough, however.

I checked my mattress the night we checked in for bed bugs (I do this everywhere). I did not see any, but I only checked the twin bed and not the double. After a few nights, my stepfather woke up to a spot of blood on his pillow. One evening, my mother found a bug, which after we got home, she Googled and now is quite certain it was a bed bug. I did not see any bugs, but the day after we returned, I broke out in a very bad rash. My mother and stepfather now have rashes as well, they all look characteristic of bed bug bites. We're only hoping that we didn't bring any home with us.

I could have dealt with a small room, no washcloths, hard beds and non-working keys (a cheap room requires compromise, I suppose)...but bed bugs are a completely different story. I would definitely not stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these New York City hotels

Pasadena, California
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

It;s in the midst of chinatown. Not my favorite place to be, but it is safe. The rooms are pretty basic, not sure it should qualify as a two star, but you get a prety small room, hard beds, dusty tabletops, bathroom countertops and desk. At least bathroom and sheets were clean. Towels looked a little brown, I brought my own. You do get soap, shampoo, toothbrush and toothpaste in case you forgot your own. The WiFi worked fine for me and we had a medium sized flat screen t.v. in our room that made it look a little nicer, but rarely ever used. There was a safe in the room, but I didn't need it. It's perfect walking distance to financial district, little italy and the subway station is just 1 block away and it takes you anywhere you need to go. So in that sense it was great. I feel it compares to a bad motel 6 (even those were cleaner). Not worth more than $80 a night at THE MOST. It does you a place to sleep if you are in a rut though.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

after reading the reveiws on here i was wary of what i might find ect. but i was pleasently surprised.
the hotel was clean, loved the location as it was near little italy and the famous "katz deli" (where harry met sally" the most fantastic food i have ever eaten and the subway was pretty much opposite. the staff were lovely. bit of 70's decor but was absolutly fine. people are far to picky for a budget hotel, will be coming back xx

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Avoid this, if you don't want to sleep with bed bugs.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these New York City hotels
Flatiron District
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
Chelsea Inn - 17th Street
#374 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 358 reviews
Upper West Side
Days Inn Hotel New York City - Broadway
Days Inn Hotel New York City - B...
#376 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 1,384 reviews
Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
Comfort Inn Lower East Side
#305 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper West Side
Royal Park Hotel
Royal Park Hotel
#380 of 468 in New York City
3.0 of 5 stars 411 reviews
Chinatown
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
Comfort Inn Manhattan Bridge
#282 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 389 reviews
Comfort Inn Sunset Park / Park S...
#365 of 468 in New York City
4.0 of 5 stars 12 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Hotel

Address: 108 Forsyth Street, New York City, NY 10002
Location: United States > New York > New York City > Manhattan
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #395 of 468 Hotels in New York City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Windsor Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Hotel New York City

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windsor Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.