We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must do” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Skyline

Manhattan Skyline
New York City, NY (Midtown)
Improve this listing
Visit Manhattan Skyline like an insider
Skip the Line
$32*
and up
Empire State Building Tickets - Observatory and...
Ranked #5 of 1,633 things to do in New York City
Activities: Helicopter rides
Attraction details
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Must do”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

This is one of the thing one should see in his/her life. if you are not already familiar with all the buildings and the history around the Manhattan skyline, make sure to get an Audio guide (e.g. if you are on the Empire state) or listen to the guide on the Circle Line boat.
New york skyline can 'tell' so much about the modern history.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7,133
    1,212
    195
    37
    21
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tacoma, Washington
Top Contributor
241 reviews 241 reviews
70 attraction reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

The skyline of Manhattan is an amazing sight. We saw it during the day from a harbor cruise and at sunset from a bus tour. Seeing it in the daytime is amazing, but seeing it from the bus at sunset was the best. We were in NYC for only a couple of days and did not get to see it after dark. I look forward to seeing it next time I visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Nothing else like it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

A must-do for anyone visiting NYC. We saw it from the Staten Island Ferry - free and a spectacular view of both the skyline and the Statue of Liberty.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“View that can't be beat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

There are thousands of vantage points to gaze at the New York City skyline. There are two places which caught my eye.
The first being the view from Hoboken. You can easily take the ferry from Battery park. It'll drop you right across the river. This place wasn't too crowded and isn't regularly frequented by tourists. Also, it's a great place to skip rocks! Walk along the shoreline and take the Path train back into the city.

Another fairly obvious place to gaze at the skyline is Rockefeller Center. For about $20 you can take an express elevator all the way to the Top of Rockefeller Center. This is a must see and in my opinion, way better than the Empire State Building. It is recommended to either go during sunset or at night.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halsey, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Seen from both sides”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Because we stayed at the excellent La Quinta Inn & Suites Secaucus, in Secaucus, New Jersey, we saw the skyline from the Jersey side across the Hudson River on our bus ride into the City. We also walked across the Brooklyn Bridge beginning on the Brooklyn side so we saw Manhattan from the East River Side. There is such a variety of building sizes and styles that it is a treat for the eyes. The views from the bus were short in duration, but my pictures let me revisit the skyline whenever I wish. Views from the Brooklyn Bridge were somewhat interrupted by the bridge support structures, but they were still impressive. Well worth the walk.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan Skyline also viewed

 

Been to Manhattan Skyline? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Skyline, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.